Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pelham High School

Public | 9-12 | 619 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 29, 2014

I think a lot of schools are what you make of them. Pelham High School s infrastructure has not been good over the years because it was built as an open concept school in the 70 s. The Town has improved some of the inefficiencies over the last couple of years and the voters approved a 22 million dollar addition/refurb, which has already broken ground. With that said, in such an awful building the Valedictorian in 2013 got a full scholarship to Dartmouth an Ivy League School. Pelham High offers AP, Honors, and Running Start Classes, (college classes at a fraction of the cost). In addition they partner with Pinkerton, Alverine and Salem High for programs that are not offered at Pelham High. With the new addition there will be more offerings. Many teachers go out of their way to help the students. Are there teachers that shouldn t be there, absolutely, but I m sure every school has the same issues. This is a D3 school so even though there are lots of sports offered the coaching needs improvement. The high school is retaining more students/athletes because of the new addition.The graduates of Pelham High continue to be accepted at some of the best colleges out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

This school is very average. The student body is very strong and show a lot of school spirit even though the building is in less than desirable condition. Some teachers are great others simply teach the materials and that's it. We could use a new principal, but I don't see that happening. There's a lot of new technology being integrated into class and new classes are being added. As of right now this school is headed in a great direction.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2014

this school is underfunded as of now but is ongoing renovations that will hopefully improve the quality of the learning environment
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2012

I am a parent of a child in the School. I must say I have many concerns, the structure of the building and the poor class selection being the least. My BIGGEST concern is the Staff. My experience with the VP and Principal have been NEGATIVE. They change their stories, argue with you in order to make the child look like the wrong party. Offering nothing more than a false hope when they say "we work in the best interest of your child". What's most concerning to me as a parent is that the school took it upon themselves to report me to the local authorities making me look like the "disorderly parent" of which could not be farther than the truth. I was a parent concerned my my child's well being. In the end, I am the parent and I know what is in the best interest for my child. I will post here for I do have a right to state my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

The teachers and staff were wonderful. But the class selection was miserable. I had to transfer to a private school, because I wanted to go to a decent college. The mean SAT scores are on the level of most urban schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 6, 2009

I am currently a sophomore at this school. I agree with everyone on the building's condition. Most of us are getting by with what little we have in the building. The teachers here are great and its other faculty members are welcoming. You can always find someone to help you around (if you get lost in a square you need some help).
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2007

The physical building deplorable. Nonetheless, what I find wonderful about Pelham High is the dedication and caring of its administrative staff: My teenager transferred there this year from a private school, and the transition has been such a positive experience. PHS's Dean of Guidance has hundreds of kids to keep track of, but she has worked so hard to assist my teenager in adjusting to public school. The individualized attention and support goes far beyond what we experienced in the small, private academy we came from. PHS's Guidance Office is to be commended for an exemplary level of service to our kids! Thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2007

As a parent of a sophomore at PHS, I must say that the building is definitely a problem! The teachers whom I have met are very nice, and are doing the best they can in the facility that we have. I am very happy about the modular classrooms going in as I type! My child is in more than one of the rooms that are entered and exited through only one way. I encourage anyone who doubts the current condition of the school to go when there are students in attendance to get the true feel of what the kids deal with every day. And, one more thing is there any way to get bigger lockers? You can't even put a real coat in them! Thanks for 'listening'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2006

I am currently attending Pelham High as a senior! I would have to say that they could definitely use an upgrade. It is true that the school can be what you make of it! The friends can be very welcoming! Some of the teachers I would have to say though can be a little old-fashioned! There are enough classes to last the four years but I wouldn't say there are a broad amount of things to choose from! I would have loved to take a second language but all they had was Spanish and French! I would have loved to get into some Japanese, Chinese, German, or Italian, but sadly none were available!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2006

I attended Pelham High School, and was a great athlete. Because the school is so small, and has horrible sport programs, I had no chance of getting much of a sport scholarship. The text and information is also very outdated, making the education esentially useless. I would not recommend this school to anyone who would like to have a future.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 28, 2005

Going from Pelham Memorial School to Pelham High School wasn't a huge change. This school can be great if you make it that way. The sports programs are great because of the oppurtunity of meeting great friends. A variety of classes can be taken, you just have to have the motivation to take the more challenging classes. The more effort you put into Pelham High School the more memories you will take from this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 13, 2005

I am currently a student at Pelham High School and i must say that PHS is what you make of it, they may not offer all the top classes but they do offer a good amount and educate thier students very well. They have many after school programs aviable and do thier best to make everyone feel welcomed. I enjoy being a student at Pelham High School. The people i have met are amazing! (that goes for students and staff.)
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 6, 2004

As a graduate of Pelham High I suggest you do not send your children there. The building and texts are outdated and the material is hardly preparing them for college. I did not even have a biology class when I graduated (in 2000) and then had to take it in college. I was very ill prepared. They need to restructure or at least add more courses to the curriculum to be an acceptable school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 33% in 2012.

142 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 54% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students34%
Female27%
Male40%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)34%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability3%
Without educational disability41%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English35%
Not migrant34%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female86%
Male72%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability22%
Without educational disability91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant79%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students45%
Female50%
Male39%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability10%
Without educational disability53%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English45%
Not migrant45%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 89%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

85 Marsh Rd
Pelham, NH 03076
Phone: (603) 635-2115

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT