Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pembroke Academy 5

Posted December 21, 2015
- a parent
Pembroke Academy is a wonderful school with a strong academic tradition & history (the academy is celebrating its 200th year in 2018). We moved to Pembroke five years ago in part because of the quality of the town's schools, and we are very happy with the education that our children have received. I have one child who is a Sophomore at P.A. this year, and another child who is excited to attend next year. There is a great sense of community in this school, but as with the case in any school, the student must make the effort to find his or her crowd/niche. There is an optional orientation program for Freshmen the summer before they attend P.A, and it really does help with the transition and expectations. The headmaster is new to the position (but not the school), and seems to be a dynamic leader. The teachers and staff are, by and large, very responsive to the students' needs - although there are always exceptions. Pembroke Academy may not have as many academic electives as large urban schools, but it also doesn't have the other issues that those larger schools have. P.A. typically sends many students to the Saint Paul's Summer Program, which I think is an indication of the academic strength of the school (again, it often reflects the effort that the student puts in). Students can also take electives through VLACS, which definitely expands those academic options.

Pembroke Academy 5

Posted December 17, 2014
- a parent
My son is in his first year at school here. I am impressed it is CLEAN everywhere and all the time! The teachers are very supportive and make themselves available before and after school for help. The music/band program has grown. There are literally hundreds of clubs and activities available. Additional learning and community service is encouraged. Community service is required to graduate. The school is constantly trying to improve upon itself and make itself a community that is a direct reflection of what the students are willing to put into it. Plenty of information is available on line to keep up with assignments and grades. Every student is treated with respect for the variety of people and passions they have now and for their future. It is a place where students will flourish if they put forth their own effort.


Pembroke Academy 2

Posted May 20, 2013
- a student
As a student who currently attends Pembroke Academy, I have found many of the teachers to be, for lack of a better term, two faced. Many of them are quite kind and very agreeable and willing to work with the parents, yet when I put in a request for something to be done, whether I need a class changed or I have a problem in one of my classes, the teachers appear to always be busy or have a problem helping me with whatever it is I am doing. I have seen many people drop classes or just get relative help but when asked for it appears to be unavailable. Also, many of the students are often under the influence of drugs or alcohol. There are many bad influences in the school and many of the students drop out or go to the PACE academy due to drug problems, pregnancy, etc. The staff know about the drug problems and have actually witnessed kids smoking, drinking, etc. and have done nothing about it. It is a disturbing problem and I believe that if the teachers took their job seriously and actually tried to help the children and the overall environment of the school, Pembroke Academy would be a better place

Pembroke Academy
no rating

Posted October 20, 2009
- a community member
The school offers an opportunity for each student to develope and grow in the area they are most suited. Not a scientist - that's ok if you would rather work on a motor or be business person. We need all different kinds of expertise for future jobs - Pembroke helps each one attain their own goals - not necessarily the goals of the masses. And hopefully provides the morals to lead good, productive, honest lives.

Pembroke Academy 5

Posted March 30, 2008
- a parent
This school has made great strides! School of excellence, improved test scores and great parent communication. Well done, keep up the great work


Pembroke Academy 4

Posted November 30, 2006
- a parent
PA may not have all the bells and whistles of, say, Bow, but it has rigorous academics for those who want such, and a solid commitment to inclusion for kids who need special education. My kids have had very good teachers for the most part, better than their salaries would suggest. The teachers are available after school for extra help. There are lots of opportunities to get involved. The lack of bus service for Pembroke students can be a hardship for some families, and the layout of the entrance and parking is a mess. I have been very happy with the education my kids have received.

Pembroke Academy 5

Posted December 21, 2005
- a student
This school has always had and will always have quality academic programs. Parent, Students and Teachers must work together to keep the high standards of this school Extracurricular activities are numerous. Parents can not expect The Academy to raise their children but be proactive. All my children and grandchildren have and do attend this school and received an excellent education.

Pembroke Academy 3

Posted August 27, 2003
- a student
I believe that this school has a lot of potential if parents and teachers joined to teach the kids together. I feel that the parents are putting to much pressure on the teachers to raise their kids. It should be a combination of both people, teachers and parents. The school has been through a lot in recent years. I believe the staff has a number of excellent and caring teachers and they should be noted. As long as your child works to their potential, they can be very successful! Michael Zachodny

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pembroke Academy
209 Academy Rd, Pembroke, NH  03275
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (603) 485-7881
Last modified Pembroke Academy is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top