Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Merrimack Valley High School 3

Posted April 07, 2011
- a student
I went to the school last year and I feel as though I was not prepared for college. They are constantly pushing the MLA format when in college all you use is APA. The senior project is also a huge waste of time, all it does is stresses the students out and the teachers do not care if you pass or fail. I also do not think that some of the staff is there to help the students, they could care less if you pass their class or not, some of them are not helpful at all. The teachers do not make any effort at all, and you have to threaten them that you will go above them and get them fired before they work with you. I also do not like the way that they push things onto the students. They pretty much told us that we had to go to college or we would not go anywhere in life. I personally do not think that they have a right to say that to anyone. But there are a few good teachers at the school that do help the students with the future and help you prepare for college the best that they can. There is also a lot of bullying that goes on at the school, and the staff lets it happen, and I have even witnessed to teachers bullying students as well.

Merrimack Valley High School 0
no rating

Posted August 24, 2009
- a student
I go there now. It's a pretty nice school and they are always looking on ways to improve. The staff could use some help. Mostly in the main office. Over all it's a very nice school. They have alot of after school activitys for students as well.


Merrimack Valley High School 2

Posted August 04, 2009
- a student
I attended this school and say that it wasnt that good in terms of the staff but you get that small town fell where it seems like everybody knows everyone not sure if thats how it is in all high schools but it was here that was good but i remember lots and lots of bad but there was some good memorable teachers like brandt and delphonse and keaton how bout coach hebert or obrien then theres jette who somehow took over the place in terms of counselors and upper level staff this school blows a few memorable teachers and a downhill philosiphy looking to cut costs rather then encourage students

Merrimack Valley High School 1

Posted April 16, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Merrimack Valley High School 1

Posted April 07, 2009
- a parent
This school doesn't give a hoot about the kids. The bullying is rampant. The counselors who do care are overworked and not listened to by the Principal or the Vice-principals. They don't take the time to find out why a kid may be on their radar... They should refresh themselves on the consequences of ignoring teens.


Merrimack Valley High School 2

Posted February 18, 2009
- a student
The classes offered here do not help me learn anything useful for jobs for my future. I am forced to learn materials that are useful only on state tests, and I am forced to do everything on a computer. While that is not a problem for me personally, I know quite a few kids that are forced to be home in time to see their younger siblings off the school bus, and then have to take care of them until parents get home from work late at night. Those families cannot afford to have a computer, much less viable internet access, which is necessary today to complete school work. If state testing was eliminated, and computers were not a requirement for submitting work, then maybe this school could be better.

Merrimack Valley High School 0
no rating

Posted February 12, 2009
- a parent
My daughter went to this school, the teachers dont want to help, they dont let them go outside during the day, which i think makes them feel like prisoners.

Merrimack Valley High School 2

Posted November 23, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Merrimack Valley High School 0
no rating

Posted September 21, 2007
- a parent
The teachers at MVHS care about each and every child, and go way above and beyond for any child.

Merrimack Valley High School 5

Posted June 07, 2006
- a parent
The teacher's work hard at preparing the kids for the real world, whether they are going on for further education or choosing to work a particular job after high school. There are numerous sports activties throughout the year and sports camps during the summer. This school also offers numerous trips on school vacations, such as Ireland, England, Italy, etc. This school has been wonderful for my children and they have blossomed there reaching their fullest potential.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Merrimack Valley High School
106 Village St, Penacook, NH  03303
(603) 753-4311
Last modified Merrimack Valley High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Merrimack Valley High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top