Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Timberlane Regional High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2014

Some of the teachers are fantastic, though many of them have a problem with losing papers. I've found that taking a picture of the paper on an IPhone helps, since the IOS 7 update allows the user to display the date that the picture was taken. I've used pictures of completed assignments as proof that they were done on time without any issue and, although it may seem annoying, it's not a bad idea. Teachers will always lose papers. It's just a fact of life. The teachers which I have had have also been easy to talk to, though they do get frustrated when people are disrespectful. I have never had an issue with a teacher being unwilling to meet with me after school. My French teacher even let me take a speaking test after school because I didn't want to speak in front of the entire class! The students who do not try in a class and are rude, however, almost never get additional help. Although well-meaning, the Superintendent and the school board are definitely questionable. The superintendent is more intimidating than he is motivating and the school board is very conservative. I plan on keeping a close eye on them, especially after the Sweeney Todd controversy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2014

This school need a lot of work on there education. The teachers do not help on anything. The teacher can not keep track there papers. They keep losing there paper. They do not stay after with you. I do not learn anything from that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2014

My child is a motivated student who love English until she had Mr. Woodworth. He has no passion for his subject. The only reason he is employed is because his father is the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2013

This school district is under new leadership that is now stressing teacher accountability, course rigor and citizenship. Midterm and final tests have been reintroduced. Guidance and Academic Deans now have responsibility for all levels from grades 6 through 12 to better coordinate transition between middle and high schools and ensure the academic path through both schools. The Guidance Dept has increased the amount of college application preparation, including their 1st ever college fairs this year. Project Running Start has been introduced which allows dual HS/College courses and credit for a number of classes. TRHS has become certified in Project Lead The Way pre engineering curriculum which also allows college credits to be earned. More work needs to be done, but the school has turned around academically. On its present path it will become a powerhouse. My two kids have done well in this school with one now attending a very selective college and doing very well and the other a HS senior pretty well prepared for a 4 year college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

Terrible. I had two kids go through this school. There are and No mid-terms, no-finals and no-college prep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2010

I graduated from TRHS, and I agree with a comment that said guidance counselors aren't helpful. I felt very lost trying to apply to colleges. The quality of the building itself wasn't very good either as I remember, students joked that the school was 'made of asbestos' because of rain damage stains on the ceiling. I had a lot of really amazing teachers who still care about me today though.


Posted September 22, 2010

After graduating with honors from a local, private, independent elementary/middle school with very high standards, my child has attended Timberlane for 3 years. She is in the accelerated classes, is an almost straight A student, and has excellent behavior both in and out of school. I have been her "guidance counsellor" during these high school years, since there has been virtually no interest in her or her future from that dept. Very, very disappointed since I had hoped that they might want to take an interest in their better, more promising students. The teachers, for the most part, seem to do only the bare minimum, and are not worthy of our tax dollars which pay them! I have no idea what the administrators, guidance and so-called teachers DO all day long! If it were not for the wonderful Music/ Drama dept. and my own teaching @ home, we'd run from TRHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2010

The leadership in this school is very disappointing. They do not enforce safety and discipline in the school. They also do not take a personal interest in the students well being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

I am a student at Timberlane Regional High School and have been with this district for many years. The staff is great and are here for you 100%! People say its bad, but if you asked us kids...we would say that Timberlane is great! They have ACC and CCP classes that are made for your level. I am a honor student, and I have no reason to say one thing bad about this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2007

This school is a big dissapointment to me for several reasons. The school board needs to shut it down and start over...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

I'm very happy with the high school, its programs, and the staff. I have one child who has already graduated, and another who soon will. My children were in both the standard curriculum and the accelerated curriculum programs, both were challenged, and both were given a lot of individual support and encouragement. My oldest was well prepared for college, where is he doing much better that I ever expected, and that's because he was well prepared by Timberlane!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

Timberlane Regional High School was the most dissapointing year of my high school career. Mid-way through the year, I left for a private institution. I found the classes to be too large and unruly at times, and the overall experience was not enjoyable. I was not challenged at all, even though I was taking honor courses for the grade ahead of me. It is true, anyone can find a friend at this school, and there are some great teachers. On a whole, I do not look back at that one year fondly. In order to get an education I had to spend more time learning and teaching myself than actually being in classes.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 6, 2005

As a student currently enrolled in accelerated classes at TRHS, I have found the school challenging and brimming with oppurtunities not typically found at smaller schools. The music, drama, and art programs are superb (some of the best in the state) and the sports program is extensive. While I have had teachers who aren't particularly wonderful, this number has been few and I feel that I am overall recieving a good education. Socially, the school contains all kinds of students who seem to get along well. There is a group of students for everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2004

My brother and I both graduated from timberlane and I have one graduated child and two within the district. It has always and will always be the best school around.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2014.

342 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

342 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 33% in 2012.

359 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
21%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 54% in 2014.

343 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students33%
Female30%
Male36%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)33%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged36%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability4%
Without educational disability41%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English33%
Not migrant33%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female80%
Male71%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability28%
Without educational disability88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant75%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students59%
Female64%
Male54%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability11%
Without educational disability72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English59%
Not migrant59%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 89%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 2%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Lacrosse
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Field hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

36 Greenough Rd
Plaistow, NH 03865
Phone: (603) 382-6541

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT