Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Portsmouth, NH
Students enrolled: 180
 

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

12 reviews of this school


St Patrick School 1

Posted May 18, 2015
- a parent
I think the wonderful reviews are from when Sister was there. Lately the school has litttle to no comunication with parents regarding anything. Students are blamed for gossip regarding things that will be happening in the school, and people who don't even attend the school are called out in the school newsletter. There is absolutely no consistancy, and when a matter arrises it is quick to be put on the parents. Personal info is given out to parents regarding about other parents. Most of the staff are very judgmental towards families. There is little to no proffesionalism in the school at all. I don't know what has happened to this school once sister left, but I truly am glad my child graduates this year.

St Patrick School 5

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
All I can say is my kid can read, add, spell, and do science projects at a very advanced level, especially compared to her friends that attend the local public school. It's true, we don't have the bells and whistles of the public schools. But at St. Pats, this absence fosters such an incredible creativity and analysis amongst the students that the intellectual outcome is impressive. I can't think of better tools for success. Critical modern advancements in such technology as computers are at the same time provided for. You do not have to schedule meetings with the teacher here. You just come in and talk to them. You can also email them and call them on their cellphones for an equally quick response - even on the weekends! And what conflicts do arise are handled quickly and effectively. We don't really need anti-bullying rallies at St. Pats because a moral code is as much apart of the education here as reading and math!


St Patrick School 5

Posted March 05, 2013
- a parent
Excellent & challenging academics, superb teaching staff, wonderful community for students/parents. Many opportunities abound within the school from sports, clubs, enrichment programs and more. Monthly school masses, morning prayer with pledge of allegiance and many more forgone education rituals that are so important in American education. Each student is worked to their fullest potential and the very best is demanded from each and every student. There are 3 pillars of core values which are Faith, Wisdom and Knowledge- which is steeped in each clover of the shamrock. Saint Patrick's is a seacoast gem!!

St Patrick School 3

Posted November 04, 2011
- a parent
Fourth grade is understaffed, probably underpaid, and frazzled with too many students. The teacher sent out an email to all parents telling them to teach their students to behave in class. Clearly the teacher is overwhelmed. Parents are discouraged from helping, and there are no classroom aides.

St Patrick School 5

Posted August 21, 2011
- a community member
This is the best school in the seacoast area! The teachers are the very best & very caring! The principal is the best the school has had since Sr. Carol in the 1990s. If you are looking for quality education and a place for your child to grow, this is the place to be!!


St Patrick School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
The teachers, staff and families truly care about one another and how to educate and prepare our kids for a future of faith, love and kindness. Go St. Pats!

St Patrick School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
The love that you feel the moment you enter the school !. Children are not only taught a great education, but respect for one another, and their teachers !!

St Patrick School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a teacher
It is the best school around!! The parents are wonderful and the children are polite and caring. I love coming to work everyday!


St Patrick School 5

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
St. Pat's is a great school. Solid academic program, positive social environment and a wonderful community of parents, teachers, staff and students. If you are looking for a school with challenging academics and high expectations for behavior -- you'll be very happy here. We are!

St Patrick School 5

Posted September 06, 2008
- a parent
Words cannot express how wonderful we believe St. Pat's School to be. Both the Teachers and the Principal first concern is the students. They are all very supportive, caring and willing to expand their scope of thinking to support a child's learning and well-being. We have a child with a chronic illness and we have found everyone at St. Pat's willing to bend over backwards to learn, communicate and embrace our daughter's medical condition. She loves it at school and is happier than ever. We are truly grateful to have found St. Pat's School, the Principal's leadership and their wonderful teaching staff. All the parents are very welcoming of newcomers and create a warm-welcoming environment. Many thanks to all the great staff members and families who make St. Pat's the great school it is today.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Patrick School
125 Austin Street, Portsmouth, NH  03801
(603) 436-0739
Last modified St Patrick School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Patrick School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top