Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
180 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Patrick School 5

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
Our family had left the public school district as there was a lot of bullying and many other poor behaviors that we could no longer tolerate for our children (despite our many efforts to work with the school's staff and principal). My children needed to feel safe at school and wanted to feel supported. Unfortunately, the public school did not provide that and since it wasn't the best fit for our family, we knew we needed to search for an alternative. After looking at various different school options, we came across Saint Pat's and are so thankful we found a school that provided our children with the safety and support they needed. Saint Pat's is an amazing school! The classes are small, the teachers are dedicated, and the parents are involved. The school's principal works closely with the teachers to ensure that the curriculum is strong and academically challenging for the students; and also places emphasis and focus on character building and modeling exemplary behavior. It is quite evident from watching and listening to the children interact with their peers, teachers, ancillary staff, and parents that they are getting a well balanced education not just in academics but also in life. These children are polite, they have manners, they are are kind and respectful, and know to take ownership and do the right thing when they have done something wrong. Saint Pat's is really invested in these children and is doing all the right things to ensure that they are successful in life. My two children currently go to Saint Pat's and absolutely love the school. They are being challenged daily and have learned so much since starting at the school. They don't particularly care for the uniforms, but love the school so much that they can look past that and would consider the uniforms a minor inconvenience. They are happy at Saint Pat's which really is the most important thing for our family. They love going to school, seeing their friends, learning, and growing as individuals. Saint Pat's is a place where my children feel safe, have friends, and call a home away from home. We are truly blessed to be part of a school that is like a family that supports our children to be the best they can be! Saint Pat's is a wonderful school and we are incredibly grateful for all it has done for our children!

St Patrick School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Personal opinion is the students can do more, which will give them the opportunity to focus more on studies. But the amount given as homework currently is good, but I feel the students can do more.


St Patrick School 5

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Good Teacher Student Ratio, practical education and best of elementary to middle school education. Best school to give a good background to the children, both in education, behavior. School has many plans to enhance the education system focusing more in Science and Technology. Children in the school are mentored well. I wish all public schools are brought up in this manner

St Patrick School 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
Our child transferred from the over-crowded, chaotic Little Harbour School to the warm, structured environment of St. Pat's. Our child is not only very happy at St. Pat's, but is getting an excellent education. Principal Graham is a brilliant woman who has lofty goals for the school and is already well on her way to implementing them. Her vision includes plans to achieve top-tier academic excellence, develop individualized learning plans, one-to-one technology, and an after-school enrichment program. Just this week St. Pat's received a major financial pledge from an anonymous benefactor to support these efforts. At St. Pat's you will find a high quality education in a safe and nurturing environment.

St Patrick School 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
If you are looking for a safe environment for your children that instills the same values that you teach at home, look no further. We have two children that have been going to St. Pats's for several years and they have grown into bright, respectful and independent people. A lot of that is attributable to the consistency of what we expect at home and reinforced at school. Above and beyond that, the kids are receiving a terrific education with wonderful teachers with the sound leadership of Principal Susan Graham behind them. With very manageable classroom sizes the "one to one" learning of teacher to student is without a doubt a distinct advantage at St. Pat's.


St Patrick School 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
We are so pleased to have our child at St. Pat's! It is a wonderful, supportive, caring community of teachers and parents, led by our new principal, Susan Graham. The school is small enough to allow each student to get the individual attention. Every child is tested and has his or her own individual curriculum with th extra support or challenges that he or she needs. I have several children and they have gone to different school throughout the years. I can truly say that St. Pats is a special place!

St Patrick School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
We love St. Pats! New Principal Graham is amazing. She is the most knowledgeable school administrator we have ever met. She has the vision, knowledge and passion to make St. Pats one of the finest K-8 Catholic schools in the country! I love that when I drop my kids off in the morning the values that we're trying to instill at home are being reinforced rather than torn down at school. St. Pats is a small, kind, compassionate community with strong academics. As stated by the outside director in the playbill for our recent Godspell Jr. performance, "St. Patrick School is one of the warmest, kindest, most giving, honest and welcoming places I have had the privilege to work at, and I would love to come back to direct another show."

St Patrick School 1

Posted May 18, 2015
- a parent
I think the wonderful reviews are from when Sister was there. Lately the school has litttle to no comunication with parents regarding anything. Students are blamed for gossip regarding things that will be happening in the school, and people who don't even attend the school are called out in the school newsletter. There is absolutely no consistancy, and when a matter arrises it is quick to be put on the parents. Personal info is given out to parents regarding about other parents. Most of the staff are very judgmental towards families. There is little to no proffesionalism in the school at all. I don't know what has happened to this school once sister left, but I truly am glad my child graduates this year.


St Patrick School 5

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
All I can say is my kid can read, add, spell, and do science projects at a very advanced level, especially compared to her friends that attend the local public school. It's true, we don't have the bells and whistles of the public schools. But at St. Pats, this absence fosters such an incredible creativity and analysis amongst the students that the intellectual outcome is impressive. I can't think of better tools for success. Critical modern advancements in such technology as computers are at the same time provided for. You do not have to schedule meetings with the teacher here. You just come in and talk to them. You can also email them and call them on their cellphones for an equally quick response - even on the weekends! And what conflicts do arise are handled quickly and effectively. We don't really need anti-bullying rallies at St. Pats because a moral code is as much apart of the education here as reading and math!

St Patrick School 5

Posted March 05, 2013
- a parent
Excellent & challenging academics, superb teaching staff, wonderful community for students/parents. Many opportunities abound within the school from sports, clubs, enrichment programs and more. Monthly school masses, morning prayer with pledge of allegiance and many more forgone education rituals that are so important in American education. Each student is worked to their fullest potential and the very best is demanded from each and every student. There are 3 pillars of core values which are Faith, Wisdom and Knowledge- which is steeped in each clover of the shamrock. Saint Patrick's is a seacoast gem!!

Nearby schools

St Patrick School
125 Austin Street, Portsmouth, NH  03801
(603) 436-0739
Last modified St Patrick School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top