Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Portsmouth, NH
Students enrolled: 180
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Patrick School 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
Our child transferred from the over-crowded, chaotic Little Harbour School to the warm, structured environment of St. Pat's. Our child is not only very happy at St. Pat's, but is getting an excellent education. Principal Graham is a brilliant woman who has lofty goals for the school and is already well on her way to implementing them. Her vision includes plans to achieve top-tier academic excellence, develop individualized learning plans, one-to-one technology, and an after-school enrichment program. Just this week St. Pat's received a major financial pledge from an anonymous benefactor to support these efforts. At St. Pat's you will find a high quality education in a safe and nurturing environment.

St Patrick School 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
If you are looking for a safe environment for your children that instills the same values that you teach at home, look no further. We have two children that have been going to St. Pats's for several years and they have grown into bright, respectful and independent people. A lot of that is attributable to the consistency of what we expect at home and reinforced at school. Above and beyond that, the kids are receiving a terrific education with wonderful teachers with the sound leadership of Principal Susan Graham behind them. With very manageable classroom sizes the "one to one" learning of teacher to student is without a doubt a distinct advantage at St. Pat's.


St Patrick School 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
We are so pleased to have our child at St. Pat's! It is a wonderful, supportive, caring community of teachers and parents, led by our new principal, Susan Graham. The school is small enough to allow each student to get the individual attention. Every child is tested and has his or her own individual curriculum with th extra support or challenges that he or she needs. I have several children and they have gone to different school throughout the years. I can truly say that St. Pats is a special place!
1 person found this helpful

St Patrick School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
We love St. Pats! New Principal Graham is amazing. She is the most knowledgeable school administrator we have ever met. She has the vision, knowledge and passion to make St. Pats one of the finest K-8 Catholic schools in the country! I love that when I drop my kids off in the morning the values that we're trying to instill at home are being reinforced rather than torn down at school. St. Pats is a small, kind, compassionate community with strong academics. As stated by the outside director in the playbill for our recent Godspell Jr. performance, "St. Patrick School is one of the warmest, kindest, most giving, honest and welcoming places I have had the privilege to work at, and I would love to come back to direct another show."

St Patrick School 1

Posted May 18, 2015
- a parent
I think the wonderful reviews are from when Sister was there. Lately the school has litttle to no comunication with parents regarding anything. Students are blamed for gossip regarding things that will be happening in the school, and people who don't even attend the school are called out in the school newsletter. There is absolutely no consistancy, and when a matter arrises it is quick to be put on the parents. Personal info is given out to parents regarding about other parents. Most of the staff are very judgmental towards families. There is little to no proffesionalism in the school at all. I don't know what has happened to this school once sister left, but I truly am glad my child graduates this year.


St Patrick School 5

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
All I can say is my kid can read, add, spell, and do science projects at a very advanced level, especially compared to her friends that attend the local public school. It's true, we don't have the bells and whistles of the public schools. But at St. Pats, this absence fosters such an incredible creativity and analysis amongst the students that the intellectual outcome is impressive. I can't think of better tools for success. Critical modern advancements in such technology as computers are at the same time provided for. You do not have to schedule meetings with the teacher here. You just come in and talk to them. You can also email them and call them on their cellphones for an equally quick response - even on the weekends! And what conflicts do arise are handled quickly and effectively. We don't really need anti-bullying rallies at St. Pats because a moral code is as much apart of the education here as reading and math!

St Patrick School 5

Posted March 05, 2013
- a parent
Excellent & challenging academics, superb teaching staff, wonderful community for students/parents. Many opportunities abound within the school from sports, clubs, enrichment programs and more. Monthly school masses, morning prayer with pledge of allegiance and many more forgone education rituals that are so important in American education. Each student is worked to their fullest potential and the very best is demanded from each and every student. There are 3 pillars of core values which are Faith, Wisdom and Knowledge- which is steeped in each clover of the shamrock. Saint Patrick's is a seacoast gem!!

St Patrick School 3

Posted November 04, 2011
- a parent
Fourth grade is understaffed, probably underpaid, and frazzled with too many students. The teacher sent out an email to all parents telling them to teach their students to behave in class. Clearly the teacher is overwhelmed. Parents are discouraged from helping, and there are no classroom aides.
1 person found this helpful


St Patrick School 5

Posted August 21, 2011
- a community member
This is the best school in the seacoast area! The teachers are the very best & very caring! The principal is the best the school has had since Sr. Carol in the 1990s. If you are looking for quality education and a place for your child to grow, this is the place to be!!

St Patrick School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
The teachers, staff and families truly care about one another and how to educate and prepare our kids for a future of faith, love and kindness. Go St. Pats!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Patrick School
125 Austin Street, Portsmouth, NH  03801
(603) 436-0739
Last modified St Patrick School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Patrick School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top