Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chamberlain Street School

Public | K-5 | 359 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 30, 2012

My child went to this school. I took her out mostly because of their failing report card and the many bullies there. They had told me that my daughter was doing just great but she was very behind in reading in all actuality. Fortunately they worked very hard with her at her new school Nancy Loud and she is improving. I'll never forget how great they all said she was doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

i was a student in chamberlin the stunk they have poor leadership and education if i were you i will go to tcca at somersworth and be more happy there F.Y.I the failed the state test many many times


Posted October 20, 2011

This school was absoulutley horrible. My son started Kindergarten this year. We attempted to address issues with the teacher and were brushed off. So we decided to move up to the principal who told us well I picked that teacher so keep giving them chances. To make the matter worse my son threw up and they did not call or send him home I found out when I picked him up...even though her through up at aroung 9am. they said "he was no sick enough" after all ogf this we transfered our son the East Rochester where two days into the new class he can now read. something he could not do will in the classroom at chmberlain. I am so glad I got my child out of this disorganmized train wreck. I also happen to know many parent who are unhappy with this school. My neighbors daughter who has a learning disability was suppoesed to be receiving one on one help and that didn't happen untill she went in and threatened a lwasuit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

I am very satisfied with the enviornment at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2005

Chamberlain Street School is amazing. I transfered two of my children from a private Catholic School to Chamberlain. All of the teachers are great and make you feel comfortable. The principal is so down to earth and when the children arrive to school he is out there opening the car doors for parents. How can you complain about that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2004

WE have had children attend Chamberlain from K-4. We had to remove our children and send them to private schools. Majority of the teachers are great. **Proceed with caution**
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

51 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
59%

2009

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
68%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

84 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

84 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2009

 
 
52%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female50%
Male67%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Title I program (current)57%
With educational disability39%
Without educational disability67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English59%
Non-migrant59%

Reading

All Students64%
Female70%
Male59%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Title I program (current)59%
With educational disability28%
Without educational disability77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%
Non-migrant64%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female66%
Male47%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Title I program (current)60%
With educational disability27%
Without educational disability67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English55%
Non-migrant55%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female81%
Male55%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Title I program (current)67%
With educational disability36%
Without educational disability78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Non-migrant66%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female55%
Male73%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Title I program (current)66%
With educational disability27%
Without educational disability69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Non-migrant63%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female85%
Male60%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Title I program (current)76%
With educational disability54%
Without educational disability76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Non-migrant74%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students49%
Female60%
Male37%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)48%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Title I program (current)50%
With educational disability40%
Without educational disability51%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English49%
Non-migrant49%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 90%
Asian 3% 3%
Black 3% 2%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

65 Chamberlain St
Rochester, NH 03867
Phone: (603) 332-5258

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

School Street School
Rochester, NH




William Allen School
Rochester, NH



Maple Street School
Rochester, NH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT