Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rochester Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 3, 2014

Rochester Middle school is the worst school ever. My daughter has been bullied all year. This is been made known to principle and guidance. This situation still goes on the group of girls get to punishment for there actions. It is about 20 girls who are bullies and this is well known to principle in school and she admits they a daily problem. My question is where is the line? why do these girls still get to go to school and bullied and get away with it? They wonder why fights happen the kids get sick of being picked on and don't know how to deal with. I love how they turn it around on the one is being picked on saying the are not confident and need a better self esteem to a 13 and 14 years old. Instead of taking reasonability When called on the carpet they say they have never heard from you which is an outright lie. I would not recommended the school to any one who has a caring child, loving child. Because one they leave the middle school they will not be. This school is the worst school and my feeling is they need to get a principle who is willing to take care of the students and who will recognize when there's a problem in there school and address it. Instead of defending it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

Our school is amazing with very talented teachers and staff.The schools grades go through 6-8.Everyone there has a place as a Tutor,Assistant,or even someone to help others.Many have been successful in the process of going to the school.Our school has 967 students and counting.The lunches are homemade and "delish" also very healthy.The school has always been welcoming and wonderful.Winning would be highly appreciated.For supplying such as new text books,binders,pens,pencils,scissors,ect. Thank You for listening!


Posted February 11, 2013

I was a student who left last year. Honestly, there is no administration and punishment does not exist. I only really liked it there because I could do whatever I want without repercussions. A slap on the wrist here and there doesn't stop the truants, fights, and delinquents. Not to mention that there was an armed bank robbery next door, this school is not in the best location nor has the best standards around. If you want to succeed, you can, but if you aren't 100 percent committed to getting a good education, you'll get caught up in the "just pass the kids through" mindset. The school has some great perks...a devoted student council, NJHS, and a breathtaking Veteran's Assembly. Good luck.


Posted December 7, 2011

This is a great school with wonderful teachers. The students put on a great Veterans Day program last month.


Posted February 15, 2010

This school has made great strides during the last few years under the leadership of Principal Valerie McKenney. I can't think of another middle school I would rather have my kids attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

This school lacks communication. I have tried all year to stay in contact with staff to stay undated on my daughter who has a IEP. We have had meetings with empty promises from the staff to communicate better, which they fail every time. The teachers have themselves up on pedestals for some reason. Several teachers have been rude. My 2 children that attend the school have said that the teachers are 'bullys'.There has also been several safety issues. Think before putting your children in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2008

i think the school is doing a great job and im in 7th grade
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2005

We have put 3 children through RMS. This is the worst year yet. The children are out of control and running the school. Bullying is over the top, fighting is an everyday occurance. Children cannot learn in an environment where they don't feel safe. The teachers do what they can but withouth the support of administration there is liitle they can do. Administration needs to toughen up and do what is necessary to get the children back under control and create an environment where learning is the focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

Very poor communication within the school. Teachers do not communicate well with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2003

My son attends and loves this school, and the teachers are great. I've had another child that also attended RMS and she is doing outstanding. So I think RMS is doing great with our kids. The parents need to stay involved all through their kids lives not just when they are babies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2003

The administation has no idea how to handle a child with a mental health issue.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2014.

309 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

309 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

330 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

330 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

296 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

296 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 32% in 2012.

319 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
18%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2014.

294 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female61%
Male62%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Title I program (current)57%
With educational disability21%
Without educational disability71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%
Non-migrant62%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female73%
Male62%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Title I program (current)68%
With educational disability28%
Without educational disability77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Non-migrant67%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female64%
Male54%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability13%
Without educational disability71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English59%
Non-migrant59%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students69%
Female74%
Male64%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability21%
Without educational disability82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant69%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female49%
Male54%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability11%
Without educational disability63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English52%
Non-migrant52%

Reading

All Students61%
Female69%
Male55%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability18%
Without educational disability73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English61%
Non-migrant61%

Writing

All Students40%
Female56%
Male27%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)38%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged46%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability5%
Without educational disability50%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English40%
Non-migrant40%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 89%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Black 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

47 Brock St
Rochester, NH 03867
Phone: (603) 332-4090

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT