Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rochester Middle School 1

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
Rochester Middle school is the worst school ever. My daughter has been bullied all year. This is been made known to principle and guidance. This situation still goes on the group of girls get to punishment for there actions. It is about 20 girls who are bullies and this is well known to principle in school and she admits they a daily problem. My question is where is the line? why do these girls still get to go to school and bullied and get away with it? They wonder why fights happen the kids get sick of being picked on and don't know how to deal with. I love how they turn it around on the one is being picked on saying the are not confident and need a better self esteem to a 13 and 14 years old. Instead of taking reasonability When called on the carpet they say they have never heard from you which is an outright lie. I would not recommended the school to any one who has a caring child, loving child. Because one they leave the middle school they will not be. This school is the worst school and my feeling is they need to get a principle who is willing to take care of the students and who will recognize when there's a problem in there school and address it. Instead of defending it

Rochester Middle School 5

Posted August 16, 2013
- a community member
Our school is amazing with very talented teachers and staff.The schools grades go through 6-8.Everyone there has a place as a Tutor,Assistant,or even someone to help others.Many have been successful in the process of going to the school.Our school has 967 students and counting.The lunches are homemade and "delish" also very healthy.The school has always been welcoming and wonderful.Winning would be highly appreciated.For supplying such as new text books,binders,pens,pencils,scissors,ect. Thank You for listening!


Rochester Middle School 3

Posted February 11, 2013
- a community member
I was a student who left last year. Honestly, there is no administration and punishment does not exist. I only really liked it there because I could do whatever I want without repercussions. A slap on the wrist here and there doesn't stop the truants, fights, and delinquents. Not to mention that there was an armed bank robbery next door, this school is not in the best location nor has the best standards around. If you want to succeed, you can, but if you aren't 100 percent committed to getting a good education, you'll get caught up in the "just pass the kids through" mindset. The school has some great perks...a devoted student council, NJHS, and a breathtaking Veteran's Assembly. Good luck.

Rochester Middle School 5

Posted December 07, 2011
- a community member
This is a great school with wonderful teachers. The students put on a great Veterans Day program last month.

Rochester Middle School 5

Posted February 15, 2010
- a parent
This school has made great strides during the last few years under the leadership of Principal Valerie McKenney. I can't think of another middle school I would rather have my kids attend.


Rochester Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 13, 2009
- a parent
This school lacks communication. I have tried all year to stay in contact with staff to stay undated on my daughter who has a IEP. We have had meetings with empty promises from the staff to communicate better, which they fail every time. The teachers have themselves up on pedestals for some reason. Several teachers have been rude. My 2 children that attend the school have said that the teachers are 'bullys'.There has also been several safety issues. Think before putting your children in this school.

Rochester Middle School 5

Posted November 24, 2008
- a student
i think the school is doing a great job and im in 7th grade

Rochester Middle School 1

Posted April 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Rochester Middle School 2

Posted October 07, 2005
- a parent
We have put 3 children through RMS. This is the worst year yet. The children are out of control and running the school. Bullying is over the top, fighting is an everyday occurance. Children cannot learn in an environment where they don't feel safe. The teachers do what they can but withouth the support of administration there is liitle they can do. Administration needs to toughen up and do what is necessary to get the children back under control and create an environment where learning is the focus.

Rochester Middle School 4

Posted March 31, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rochester Middle School
47 Brock St, Rochester, NH  03867
(603) 332-4090
Last modified Rochester Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rochester Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top