Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Birches Academy of Academics and Art
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
We are grateful for the communication, encouragement and positive feedback we have received from all the teachers we have had so far at the Birches. The teachers were receptive to our concerns and were able to develop a great relationship with our son.

Birches Academy of Academics and Art 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
My son is in 4th grade. We are grateful for the learning environment at Birches Academy. The multi age classrooms, the arts education, and music. He doesn't seem to care that their isn't a "traditional" school playground or a lunch room. He is glad that he gets to have art and music twice a week, that the Head of School knows his name and that he belongs to a "community". We are thankful for the level of communication and open door policy he has had so far with all his teachers. We struggled as a family on deciding if a charter school would be a good fit for our family, and so far its one of the best choices we made for our child.


Birches Academy of Academics and Art 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
My child started at The Birches three years ago in 3rd grade. She was a shy girl, struggling in math and she did not like to read. I tried everything to help her. After one year at The Birches she was up to grade level in math and started reading books without being told to. Now she is a happy, outgoing, confident child who is excelling in math and LOVES to read. She even had her poem published in The American Library of Poetry book of school poetry. Thanks to the teachers at The Birches and the way they integrate art and creativity into their teaching, my child loves school. Something exciting is always happening. Just the other day, the 3rd grade was doing a unit on immigration and the teacher set up a mini "Ellis Island" with the stations that immigrants would have to have gone through. The kids all dressed up and went through the stations as "immigrants". It was an incredible learning experience for them. IPADs are an every day learning experience for many grades and so is public speaking and foreign language. I know that there is positive and negative things about all schools. The Birches Academy's positive attributes outnumber any negative by far. I think that coming to The Birches Academy was the best decision I have ever made.

Birches Academy of Academics and Art
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
I would like to thank the teachers. Because of their passion, my child is excelling in school. She is confident and creative and has no problem thinking outside the box.

Birches Academy of Academics and Art
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
After one year at The Birches, my child went from hating math and reading to loving it. Now that is effective!


Birches Academy of Academics and Art
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
I think The Birches gives more then some schools and less then others.....just right in my mind.

Birches Academy of Academics and Art
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
One of the things I think really helps in that regard is the Buddy system. The 7th/8th graders share time with the 1st/2nd graders and the 6th graders spend time with the Kindergarteners. Both the younger kids and the older kids love this time.

Birches Academy of Academics and Art
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
The school is like a small community. Everyone looks out for everyone else. The head of school is always there to help and it seems to me she is very fair and promotes the attitude of accountability in all students.


Birches Academy of Academics and Art 1

Posted May 01, 2016
- a parent
Children cannot reach their maximum potential at this school. Their is a high teacher turnover rate and the academics are not up to par. Grades are mixed, but the same lesson is being taught to both grades. There is no keyboarding or computer learning at all. The outdoor play area is a tiny chain link square with no playground equipment. The hot lunch situation is an absolute disaster as well. It's the same choices each week for a ridiculously expensive price. Oh and that's IF you remember to order on the 2 days a week that you have to order on. There is no school nurse or guidance counselor either. My child will not be returning next year.

Birches Academy of Academics and Art
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 29, 2015
- a parent
Thank you to all the teachers at the school! They go above and beyond everyday!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Birches Academy of Academics and Art
419 South Broadway, Salem, NH  03079
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (603) 458-6399
Last modified Birches Academy of Academics and Art is a Public school that serves grades 2-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top