Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
6-8
Public
Somersworth, NH
Students enrolled: 410

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Somersworth Middle School 4

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
What a great school this is. I am very impressed with the way they run this school and participate in PBIS. They also have a zero tolerance for bullying. My son loves school again (finally) and the environment, teachers, and administrators are to be thanked for it. This school works together with parents to make sure that the children are excelling and that there is open communication between parent and school. I can't say enough great things about this school. My son, and I, are looking forward to 2 more yrs at SMS. Nice job SMS and thank you for all you do for my son as well as all the children who attend SMS...

Somersworth Middle School 5

Posted June 25, 2014
- a teacher
SMS has undergone many changes in the past few years. It is a very nurturing, caring environment for students and staff. The teachers are exceptional. It was chosen by the New England League of Middle Schools as a "Spotlight" school - using best practices to create a culture and climate supporting learning.


Somersworth Middle School 4

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
My two children had positive experiences at this school. They had caring teachers who challenged them . They enjoyed their years there.

Somersworth Middle School 4

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attended Somersworth Middle School. She had many great teachers and one not so great, but overall I was very happy with her experience. The new principle seems to really care about the school and the city.

Somersworth Middle School 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
I feel that this school is a great school. It is really too bad that most parents feel the need to post their negative experiences with this school. SMS was recently awarded The New England League of Middle Schools Spotlight Award for its record of powerful learning for young adolescents and its consistent observance of middle school best practices. I believe that most of the issues people have come down to is parenting. Most parents,it seems, want the schools to raise their children instead of taking responsibility for themselves. Somersworth is not a rich city and with that you will have differences amongst people. Parents need to take some responsibility in their child's' growth. Talk to your children and help them learn when at home too! Review their homework with them when they are done and do some parenting. Somersworth is a great school with a positive direction for students.


Somersworth Middle School 5

Posted June 16, 2013
- a parent
My children have both had a wonderful experience at Somersworth Middle School. The staff is very caring, and they have been challenged academically. SMS is a great school and community.

Somersworth Middle School 1

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
The staff at this school has No ability to teach children. If you plan on moving to this area I'd seek a different school system.Compare this school ( Middle School ) to any other NH school and see the very low rating . 2 .

Somersworth Middle School 1

Posted February 01, 2011
- a community member
The Somersworth School Board needs to do a complete and in-depth review of the Middle Schools Special Education Department. Some Para-professionals are doing most of the work without guidance from some Special Education teachers. The children are suffering and will be losing a year of education if this persists.


Somersworth Middle School 1

Posted January 27, 2009
- a parent
Dangerous, completely out of control, and no one is taking responsibility. Shameful!

Somersworth Middle School 1

Posted January 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Somersworth Middle School
7 Memorial Dr, Somersworth, NH  03878
(603) 692-2126
Last modified Somersworth Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Somersworth Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top