Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Maple Wood Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2014

There are two exceptional teachers and beyond that, marginal at best. The biggest issue is the schools inability or unwillingness to deal with behavior, specifically BULLYING. They try to pass it off as a mutual conflict instead of dealing with the offenders. Shame on you Maple Wood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2012

Our son attends Maplewood, and it's a fantastic school. The teachers and staff are great, and the cirriculum is challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

2 of my 3 children had the pleasure of attending this elementary school. With the exception of one teacher (out of 6) our experience has been wonderful.!! I credit Mrs. Scanlan , Mrs. Hubbard and Mr.Mommsen for their leadership and kindness. Their professionalism and true caring for the students has resulted in my children being avid readers and conscientious students. I believe with any school, you need great teachers, involved parents, and available administration. We kept up our end of the deal, and Maplewood has gone above and beyond to inspire and support my children. No school is perfect. But I am confident that Maplewood and it's staff have laid a great foundation for my kids to be able to face any educational challenge with confidence and curiosity. Kudos to them for being "The Little School That Could". P.S. Parents....It's not a daycare or a kennel. So get involved and hold yourselves accountable too. ;)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

The teachers are awesome My son took the Title one program with Mrs.Day and had HUUUUGE progress in ONE year and now does not need it I am so thankfull for that.Also the school is not the only ones being the parents you NEED to help to so your child stays on track.The teachers can not be there for help 24/7 Very important for parents to help as well. Two things I am not happy with 1 is in the lunch room the teachers make my kids eat stuff on the lunch tray or they cannot go outside for recess.This drives me nuts if my kid does not like the food DONT make them eat it. I pay for it!!and 2. I beleive there is a lot of homework for these young children when my son was in the title one class he had homework there,a packet due every week,math,and 20
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

I haven't much experience with schools, but I hope that they are better than this one. The gym teacher is rude and yells at the kids, even the kindergarteners. The lunch room suprevision is poor. Recess supervision is worse than the lunch room. The principal avoids contact with parents and lets the staff handle most issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2007

My son's go to Maplewood...it's a pretty good school....the teacher's they have this year are exceptional and very caring. I credit my son's successes to these teachers. Most of the teachers are great....the admin staff is exceptional....a couple things I would like to see change is PE classes more often than once a week and after-school sports programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

I think Maplewood School is great!! My two daughters attend the school and they absolutely love it. They love the teachers that they have had and the teachers they have now. Mrs. Butler and Mr. Eastman have done a wonderful job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

I think that Maplewood is the best school in Somersworth way better than the Somersworth Middle school. My daughter is 8 and is in the special ed program and she has had tremendous progress through the past 3 years there at maplewood. I have found all the staff to be very helpful and involved. This school may not be on the top of NH's list but I can say that the staff does great work and my daughter loves it there, she has learned so much because of the caring people that take thier time one on one with the students. I would reccomend this school to be the best in Somersworth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

I dont like this school my daughter is 9 yrs ols in 3rd grade and cant read we have tried our hardest helping her but we are not teachers. The school refuses to help because they say her test scores are average. The problem is she will never pass into 4th because of this problem and if she does it is because she is being ignored not her grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2004

The school is okay. My daughter went there for 5 years. Special ed program is not the best. They take the kids out of the class way to much. Classroom teacher are really nice. There are a few there that really need to retire. They are just not able to deal with the kids. Other then that it is a nice quite school very safe and they have a new playground after 15 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2004

Nice small school. Teachers are good to work with and care about the students. Can't vouch for the sepcial ed program. Safe-feeling, clean. Good playground.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

Just a small school. They don't have much to offer a student with learning disabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2012.

46 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
37%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female53%
Male63%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Title I program (current)59%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability65%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English59%
Not migrant59%

Reading

All Students66%
Female68%
Male63%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Title I program (current)66%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Not migrant66%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female71%
Male44%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Title I program (current)65%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability58%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English60%
Not migrant60%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female91%
Male44%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Title I program (current)71%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%
Not migrant70%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female50%
Male79%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Title I program (current)63%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Not migrant63%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female71%
Male68%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Title I program (current)70%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%
Not migrant70%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students60%
Female63%
Male58%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Title I program (current)60%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English60%
Not migrant60%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 89%
Black 3% 2%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

184 Maple St
Somersworth, NH 03878
Phone: (603) 692-3331

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hilltop School
Somersworth, NH





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT