Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cooperative Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1347 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 22, 2012

Well, we tried to enroll our second child in this school. We were told, "new principal", and that there was much improvement. It turned out to be the same fetid cesspool of no learning that it was 6 years ago. This time we will pull him out sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2012

We are beyond disappointed with CMS. We moved to this town for the "great school system." I'm not sure when that was but it's not great anymore. The elementary school is actually pretty good but the middle school is horrible. The school is like a cattle call, get them in, get them out. Many teacher's could care less about the students and do the bare minimum - they are strongly protected by the teacher's union. There are teachers who consistently finish their last class 15 minutes early so they can pack up and leave for the day with the students. Forget about getting extra help for your child after school, I've been told by one of the school administrators that the teachers don't need to stay after school because "it's not part of their contract." The school is regularly rated as "needs improvement" based on standardized tests. Having children in this school has been an incredibly painful experience for both my children an ourselves. Be prepared to step in and be your child's advocate it you want them to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2012

How this school rates a 9 is beyond me. It either reflects on the inaccuracy of the data, or the insipid condition of most of our schools. Our son transitioned from the Lincoln St. school, which was wonderful, collaborative, and demanding. The middle school is abysmal. The principal tried to be a comedian, the class sizes huge, teachers overwhelmed. Our son, the happiest child around, became sullen, depressed and withdrawn. He was bullied, not challenged, and told us "I think I am falling behind". Despite the financial hardship, we switched him to a wonderful private middle school, where he has florished. This school is an abomination to the Seacoast. Better to start over. I would strongly advise all parents to discuss with the family whether to pull their kids out of this place. It is that bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

I'm a student at CMS, and I agree with some things; yeah, kids can be judgmental here. But honestly, we're judged everywhere. It was the same in Manchester. It was the same in elementary school. It's the same if we walk into stores. We're teenagers; of course we're judged. But CMS is a great school, and I've met so many inspirational teachers here. There are lots of kids here. We have five towns that go to this school. It's a given that it will be crowded. But the teachers here are great. There are some teachers whose sole jobs are to help out struggling kids. And it does challenge students. I get A's, but I work for them. Parents are saying that it's a bad school. But are they themselves in the school, meeting friends, creating the basis of their lives, and learning new things every day? No. Take it from a student; CMS is a great school.


Posted November 6, 2007

This is an excellent school! It has so many great opportunities for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

I think that CMS is a decent school. We moved from Saugus, MA the summer before my son started middle school. I was worried about how he would handle the transition because he was very close to his friends - friends he had had since he was in kindergarten - but he did do well. Initially, I was surprised at the way the school 'enforced' organization and it was a struggle for my son the first year, but he is getting it now. I wish I had been better shown how to organize myself when I was younger. As far as turning in work on time - the bottom line is, in the long run, similar penalties can and do exist in the business world - an incomplete projects can mean the loss of accounts or at worst, loss of your job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2007

We were told that CMS ranks 9 out of 10.The best middle school in the Seacoast area. Maybe in test scores, as far as socially and emotionally CMS is a detriment to most children.Just ask the child who does not do well academically and is punished for it or the child who dresses differently and is automatically judged by how they look, not by the person they are.What about the child who is new and came from a different academic level background? They are not allowed the opportunity to catch up to where CMS is at, instead they are targeted as a trouble maker and ensured that they get into trouble.Where is the positive reinforcement or kind words?They do not exist at CMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2007

Our family's experience with the CMS school system has been frustrating, at best. Communication to parents is generally non-existent. The child who is organizationally challenged is not assisted, but penalized through the punitive policy of docking grades for all late homework. Teachers use the Progress Reports as the first means to get parents involved. The school administration appears to be more interested in the business of the school. Clearly a policy that refuses lunch to a child the first day their funds have run out, or refuses a book replacement until it is paid, and discusses these with the child, not the parent, isn't working with the child's interest in mind. The leveled curriculum does not challenge the advanced children. The student-teacher ratio posted on this site, 1-13, is misleading. Most academic groupings have 5 teachers for ~120 children. The student homework website is weak. The administration champions mediocrity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

I think this school lost a lot of its already limited prestige by switching to heterogeneous classes. The school has a wonderful program for Special Ed. and other substandard students, but do nothing for those above grade levels. They have only just begun to consider implementing an elective honors program- but knowing this school, it will probably never happen. The teachers are very good, but they have very limited power. The administrators need to be more involved in the actual learning environment. Its also distressing to see the recent NWEA results that show about 1/3 of the students have made 0 growth. The after school activities and athletic programs are exceptional. Overall, for a public middle school, it is an 'ok' school... but I am happy that my children will be attending private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

This is a very good school. The only critisisms I would have, would be not having enough for the 'gifted' students. There is a great Special Ed. program and the aides are always wonderful; yet the classes are leveled and some of the higher level students have to condescend in order to be in class with other levels. The music program is wonderful; the chorus and band teachers are always willing to help. I must say though, there is not enough influence on visual arts, considering students are only given one quarter to learn such crafts. Luckily the teachers are very skillful. There needs to be less emphasis on reading and more on arts and writing. It depends on your team for how much parent involvement there is; that can be lots of oppurtunities for parents..or very little. As a school though; it is a good level.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2006

Excellent energetic teachers work at CMS and demand good work from their students. The curriculum is the only problem as it needs to be tougher (especially in math). There is no leveling so all abilities from low to high are in every class. We see this as a disadvantage as the lower level do not get the help they need and the higher level is not challenged. There is still good teaching, respect and safety for the students. The music, theater, and Latin programs are awesome. Our older child completed all three years at CMS and the younger one is almost finished with all three years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2006

The school offers a great special education program, but does nothing for the 'gifted' students. Changing leveled classes to mixed level was a terrible mistake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2006

This school is horrible in recognizing and assisting children with add, adhd.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2006

The school itself and the teachers are great, but for the Principal staff they leave ALOT to be desired. They are not there to help the kids at all, ONLY there for discipline and DO NOT listen to kids point of view, have their minds made up beforehand! In order to get respect you have to give it and listening is a good way to show respect, I am glad this is my child's last year in this school system!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

462 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

462 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2012.

460 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

460 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2012.

422 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2012.

422 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 67% in 2012.

422 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female89%
Male88%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian85%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Non-migrant88%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female94%
Male86%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian93%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Title I program (current)77%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Non-migrant90%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female86%
Male77%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian91%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Title I program (current)44%
With educational disability32%
Without educational disability90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Non-migrant81%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female96%
Male87%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian100%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability60%
Without educational disability98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Non-migrant92%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female83%
Male83%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian81%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Title I program (current)56%
With educational disability42%
Without educational disability89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant83%

Reading

All Students95%
Female97%
Male92%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian100%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability67%
Without educational disability98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Non-migrant95%

Writing

All Students90%
Female96%
Male84%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian82%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability64%
Without educational disability93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Non-migrant90%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 90%
Asian 3% 3%
Black 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Academic Way
Stratham, NH 03885
Phone: (603) 775-8700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Seacoast Episcopal Academy
Hampton Falls, NH







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT