Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sunapee Middle High School 5

Posted May 06, 2013
- a community member
Mr. Baker really ties the school together. Not only does he teach his students very well, but he teaches them in a way that is fun and gets the students involved. His various drawings and jokes make his class the highlight of the day. As the song goes, Mr, Baker; he is awesome awesome awesome!

Sunapee Middle High School 1

Posted December 04, 2012
- a parent
As a former student of this school and a parent that has 2 children that have or are attending this school I would not recommend this school. My oldest child had learning problems and behavioral problems and they treated him like the plague. My other child is the total opposite. Very bright, quick to learn and no behavior problems. Even this has been a problem. She tested 1 point away from distinct in Math, then entered Sunapee Middle School and the math program was a joke. She started testing lower and lower. If I didn't enter her in Algerbra in 8th grade I am sure it would have gotten worse. As for the Culture in this school, If you aren't in the right click your child will be overlooked in all aspects including sports. Unless you can smooze the right people, SEND your child elsewhere. Has been like this since I have gone there, but now it seems to have gotten worse. I was going to give the Parent involvement a higher rating until I read where it said, treats like a partner not outsiders, that would depend on what that parents status is with their click and how much money you have.


Sunapee Middle High School 1

Posted October 31, 2012
- a community member
sunapee middle high school has been responsible for many students adding to the statistic of high school drop outs. for example a student i once new who was very bright and musically gifted was put through a great deal of stress from the administration. for example, the student used to spend many of his lunch periods in the music room (while there weren't any music classes taking place). After the second time the principal "caught" him playing guitar during lunch; he required the student to be followed everywhere he went from 7:00am to 3:45 pm. this included trips to the bathroom, the nurses office, the lunch room, the library, to and from ALL classes. the student was no longer allowed to bring his guitar to school either. even worse this pitiful excuse for a school denied special education services on return for his second try at senior year. this student struggled very hard with emotional and learning disorders and without the help of special ed he would never be able to succeed in graduating. this is only a small portion of what the administration has done to just ONE student! the principal of this school is only concerned with a good rating, not equal education for all kids.

Sunapee Middle High School 5

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
This school is great, its even better than a lot of private schools. Its a small school so the kids don't get bullied or anything too. There are many excellent teachers that all are nice and funny but still teach you very well.

Sunapee Middle High School 4

Posted November 08, 2009
- a student
i go there now, its good, i guess. i only have my perspective (honors everything) and for my classes the teachers are very helpful, give plenty of time for assignments, and dont grade harshly. There are things i majorly dislike about the school, most of which havent effected me much, I.E. late slips: When a person is late (usually becasue they couldnt get to class in three minutes) the teacher tells them to walk back to where they came from, interupt the teacher of the other class to get a little note that says that they were late, and walk back. by this the student both misses almost ten minutes of class, and interupts someone else's, when they could have only missed a couple minutes if they didnt have to do all that. small stupid stuff aside tho, good school (xc team stinks)


Sunapee Middle High School 1

Posted May 29, 2009
- a parent
Absolute joke!! Do not even think about sending your kids to this dump. Pathetic teachers completely intimidated by anybody outside of this tiny community. If you have bright kids they will be totally compromised by these idiots. My kid is highly gifted - they did not even notice (because he is not from the town) , huge mistake thinking your smart kid will do well here. Avoid like the plague

Sunapee Middle High School 1

Posted December 09, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sunapee Middle High School 5

Posted November 12, 2008
- a student
I am a student here at sunapee schools and i am more than pleased with the education and activities.Sunapee has better sports activities than normal schools they work hard to keep the students in shape and getting them to try new activities.The classes are really good the teachers will go out of their way to help the students learn and understand what they are teaching.Here the students dont have to fight for attention becuase there are not many students so the teacheres can get to everybody. The teachers form an after school club to help the students if they are having trouble i myself was struggling but the teachers tried time after time not giving up on me now i am getting a's and b's i am more than satisfide with the schools.


Sunapee Middle High School 2

Posted November 12, 2008
- a parent
I am currently going to school here at SMHS and it's been fun but the teachers are not that great over all. I have been going here for about 2 years and my brother, 3. So far I don't think that this school has a feature in being a good school. Teachers are too up tight and do this stupid thing called a blue slip which just shows you that your stupid, but it's supposed to let your parents know that you didn't do your homework. Overall i would not like to go to this school, beside's to see my friends.

Sunapee Middle High School 3

Posted May 22, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunapee Middle High School
10 North Rd, Sunapee, NH  03782
(603) 763-5615
Last modified Sunapee Middle High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sunapee Middle High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top