Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
197 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

As a teacher and administrator I must say I’m truly sorry for the experience expressed in the recent reviews. In my experience, the teachers and administration puts sincere and determined effort into carrying out the mission of the school on a daily basis. Educating the whole person, one student at a time is not just a motto. Pursuing academic excellence in all disciplines while fostering an environment that values the true, the good and the beautiful is a task that requires total commitment. It has not been abandoned at this school. Regarding sports, we field teams in soccer, basketball, baseball, track, fishing and swimming. Despite having a smaller pool of athletes, our teams compete with other private and public schools in NHIAA Division IV. Our Fine Arts program features sculpture, advanced drawing and photography in addition to the core courses. Our Music program includes sacred choir, violin orchestra and formal instruction in music. While our school may not have the full complement of accoutrements available to larger public institutions, this fact is considered, not a privation, but an asset in that it demands more of both the teacher and the student. Technology is not spurned but rather contained within and academic framework designed to minimize distraction. A mobile computer lab was recently acquired enabling students to conduct research and complete assignments. Digital projectors are available to students and faculty for multimedia presentations and supplemental instruction. Finally, bullying is taken seriously and addressed immediately if discovered. We have an internal virtue formation program designed to affirm positive character development. Various virtues are highlighted throughout the year and students are encouraged to model the virtue.
April 08, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mount Royal Academy 5

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
I am so glad there is a school in my area that doesn't teach Common Core !!! They learned what I learned in school: reading writing and arithmetic. No baloney!! And uniforms are e best equalizer in the world ... Grateful!

Mount Royal Academy
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted April 08, 2016
- a school leader
Bullying is taken seriously and addressed immediately if discovered. We have an internal virtue formation program designed to affirm positive character development. Various virtues are highlighted throughout the year and students are encouraged to model the virtue. We have also partnered with outside sources to provide respectful behavior education.


Mount Royal Academy
no rating

Posted April 08, 2016
- a school leader
As a teacher and administrator I must say I’m truly sorry for the experience expressed in the recent reviews. In my experience, the teachers and administration puts sincere and determined effort into carrying out the mission of the school on a daily basis. Educating the whole person, one student at a time is not just a motto. Pursuing academic excellence in all disciplines while fostering an environment that values the true, the good and the beautiful is a task that requires total commitment. It has not been abandoned at this school. Regarding sports, we field teams in soccer, basketball, baseball, track, fishing and swimming. Despite having a smaller pool of athletes, our teams compete with other private and public schools in NHIAA Division IV. Our Fine Arts program features sculpture, advanced drawing and photography in addition to the core courses. Our Music program includes sacred choir, violin orchestra and formal instruction in music. While our school may not have the full complement of accoutrements available to larger public institutions, this fact is considered, not a privation, but an asset in that it demands more of both the teacher and the student. Technology is not spurned but rather contained within and academic framework designed to minimize distraction. A mobile computer lab was recently acquired enabling students to conduct research and complete assignments. Digital projectors are available to students and faculty for multimedia presentations and supplemental instruction. Finally, bullying is taken seriously and addressed immediately if discovered. We have an internal virtue formation program designed to affirm positive character development. Various virtues are highlighted throughout the year and students are encouraged to model the virtue.

Mount Royal Academy 5

Posted April 08, 2016
- a community member
Mount Royal Academy has been a very warm and caring environment for my children. My children are getting a great education while being held to a high standard of personal accountability. It is refreshing for me to see my son offering his chair to an elder without being prompted or holding the door open to let someone pass through. I feel like this aspect of "education" is lost in school these days and I'm glad it's " offered " at Mount Royal. The faculty is comprised of a group of knowledgeable adults who are invested in each of their students as well as the school itself. It takes a lot to run a school and I feel that the families, staff and students at MRA are very dedicated and I'm pleased to be a part of the MRA family!!!!

Mount Royal Academy 2

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
The new administration has strayed from the original vision of the school. Not very Christian. The academics are advertised as being above public school but at a closer look they are far behind the area public schools. After my children left Mount Royal and went to public school they needed to catch up quite significantly. There is nothing to offer in art music sports or other electives that are numerous in area public schools. Very Big bullying problem at this school also. The headmaster is only 28 years old and extremely judgmental and inexperienced. Not the school it used to be such a shame.


Mount Royal Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
there are excellent teachers as well as really bad teachers. The school hires teachers who will work for nothing and has a high turnover of teachers.

Mount Royal Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
Depends on the teacher. Some of the elementary teachers are way over the top with homework. I found in my case one in particular would have the children figure everything out in homework that she should be teaching in the classroom. When the child would ask for help she would tell them it was in their book.

Mount Royal Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
the school focuses on obedience. They do not develop the student "educating the whole student" the children are expected to conform.


Mount Royal Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
there is an "in" group in every grade and the disrespect of other students is mostly ignored by the staff.

Mount Royal Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a student
these people are judgmental bully's at this school if you have a son that is a (gamer) or uses computers fairly often don't send them here, the ppl are so disconnected from the 21 century its hard to believe

Nearby schools

Mount Royal Academy
26 Seven Hearths Ln, Sunapee, NH  03782
(603) 763-9010
Last modified Mount Royal Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top