Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
78 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
3 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Waterville Valley Academy 5

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
The Pinnacle program offers a series of Honors courses that are challenging to students and respected by college admissions. These courses are often taught by the department head such as Gary Benedix for Honors math and the kids are pushed beyond most of their public school and private school alternatives. The Physics professor is known for developing real life experiments such as designing and building snow guns, conducting real life gravity experiments such as lifting a 10lb weight from the bottom of the pool with balloons and other fun yet complex experiments. Our son was enrolled at a top Massachusetts public high school and Waterville Valley Academy brings academics to a much higher level in most disciplines. The school is not large enough to have robust Arts. They use the Science labs at the local college for certain projects.

Waterville Valley Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
Gary Benedix- Dean of Math and Keenan Leip-Honors Physics. Gary challenges/overloads our son with math problems and reviews each one with him the next day. No hiding. High volume of tough concepts. Keenan is legendary at the school. He has the ability to take what is perceived as a dull subject and makes it so exciting for the kids. Imagine kids requesting Honors Physics because it is fun. Keenan brings kids out into the world and has numerous projects such as raising weights from the bottom of the pool with balloons, designing, building and operating a snow gun, and numerous other project where the kids spend countless hours in the class room designing the project and then proving it in the real world. The original design and the final solution go through numerous modifications and changes.


Waterville Valley Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
This is the big surprise. We come from one of the top rated public school in Mass and find that the quality of teachers here are consistent. However, our son averages approximately 5 kids per class. Each child receives focus and there is no hiding. They have to be on each and everyday or they are exposed. Kids come to class prepared and the learning occurs more quickly than we have seen in a 25 student public classroom.

Waterville Valley Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
Kids have a study session for 1 hour during each day an just under 2 hours homework each night. Our son picks things up readily so I suspect some kids may be 1.5 hours and others 2.5 hours. Homework is consistent and you tend not to see no homework one night and 4 hours the next night. It seems to be assigned with consistency.

Waterville Valley Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
Kids in this program by definition push themselves hard given they are training to compete at Division 1 ski racing. The surprise is how they have created an environment where the kids can push equally hard academically. Our son has always been a good student but only pushed himself 70%.....he is now pushing 95%+ and is learning to challenge himself even more. His Honors Math and Honors Physics results are amazing.


Waterville Valley Academy
Develops respect: Agree

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
We are completing our first year in the program and cannot fully answer. At first look it seems that they are doing a solid job.

Waterville Valley Academy
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
Son has met a great group of kids. They each compete for their own goals but very supportive of others. Having bad runs and crashes is part of skiing yet even when they have been disappointed with their own results, they are immediately supporting their teammates. I have never seen this level of mutual support. You can see this in a majority of the kids....yet there are still some that are too self absorbed. But the overall balance of support exceeds what I have seen elsewhere. We recently attended the award ceremony for academics and the kids were genuinely supportive of the others success. The kids do not build themselves at the expense of others,

Waterville Valley Academy
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
Each student is held accountable for actions. The integration of ski families with the academy can lead some parents to get too involved.....need a little more separation.


Waterville Valley Academy 5

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
Three of our sons attended WVA during their high school careers (2008-2013). Each of our boys had varying degrees of high school cirriculum: Honors Literature, AP Calc, AP Biology, foreign languages, etc. Each of our boys received an excellent education during their winter training, in fact, our youngest son was not only offered incredible college scholarships (as were his brothers) but he was also offered an engineering internship (paid) with a Philadelphia military defense contractor for the summer of 2014. This contractor was so impressed by our son's grades, ability to transition in/out of WVA with no issues, and his 4.0 GPA that they also offered him a private college scholarship. As for the snowboarding coaches, they are fantastic and their attention to detail is astonishing! They have an incredible ability to assess each athlete, and know WHEN to push them to the next level. I cannot say enough positive things about Waterville Valley Academy! If your child is serious about snowboarding and skiing competition during their high school careers, you have found the right academy!

Waterville Valley Academy 5

Posted April 22, 2012
- a parent
Excellent snowsports winter-term academy. Our son had every one of his academic courses taught in a 1:1 or 1:2 student:teacher ratio by experienced, intelligent, caring teachers. He learned more in the 5 months at WVA than most kids learn in an entire school year at a traditional school. And his coaches for on mountain training are wonderful. I wouldn't trust anyone else to work with him on the high-risk tricks, etc. he is trying. Five star snowsports academy all the way around!

Nearby schools

Waterville Valley Academy
Po Box 270, Waterville Valley, NH  03215
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (603) 236-4246
Last modified Waterville Valley Academy is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top