Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Matawan Reg High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 04, 2016
- a community member
School has a great buddy program for children with special needs and it helps develop compassion.

Matawan Reg High School 5

Posted January 04, 2016
- a community member
Great School! Students are nice kids. Staff seems caring and friendly. Wish the school started a little later in the morning as 7:15 is too early to get teenagers to school, but I guess you can't have everything.


Matawan Reg High School 5

Posted April 19, 2015
- a student
Very satisfied with the education at MRHS. Excellent, caring staff members, nice school community - numerous activities & sports teams. I'd recommend this school to anyone.

Matawan Reg High School 5

Posted January 16, 2015
- a teacher
This is a great school. The teachers and staff are caring. The students are just regular middle class kids and I say that in a good way. The students all seem to get along. That is not always the case in other schools and then kids can develop self esteem issues. It is just a great atmosphere to learn in! The sports programs are very good although currently no Golf team. I have children in the district and they are doing well and very happy.

Matawan Reg High School
no rating

Posted October 01, 2009
- a parent
This school runs smoothly on the the dedication of the teachers - some of whom are beloved by their students, both past and present. The spirit of the school has been evident within the the last few years, and the student body is embracing it. There are numerous sports and extracurricular activities for even the most discerning student. The marching band, while relatively young, is led by Mr. Jones, who gives tirelessly of his time, effort and enthusiasm. Our school is fortunate to have talented students and dedicated teachers working closely together to make the most of a student's high school career. If you haven't yet come out to support any of the school's events/games/competitions, you should try your best to experience the Matawan Huskies in action!


Matawan Reg High School
no rating

Posted September 29, 2008
- a student
I love this school; they gave me the sprit to go on to follow what I loved. This learning environment was nothing but encouraging. I loved all the teachers and without their guidance, I would have never gone to college.

Matawan Reg High School 2

Posted August 26, 2008
- a parent
First off, this school has horrible administration. There are a few teachers who are passionate to their jobs. However, the atmosphere the teachers who are not passionate in conjunction with the administration create a very inhospitable learning place for students. My son and friends wanted to transfer out every year.

Matawan Reg High School 5

Posted January 10, 2008
- a parent
This is a really good school. Its help with everything almost all the stundent in there are great stundents. Its really peace full and we care for everyone of them. We try our best to make this school better


Matawan Reg High School 5

Posted April 09, 2005
- a parent
The high school has special education programs, Vo-Tech, honors programs, and A.P. programs. It actively supports music and the arts. There are dance classes. Boys sports is exemplary -- the Head Football coach is also a Vice Principal. Girls sports is about average. Bands - Jazz, Concert, Marching, and Ensembles. Choirs - Concert, Show, Select. The school awards a number of scholarships, and the district maintains an Education Foundation for support of special program funding. PTSO is fledgling, but there are a number of athletic and music parent groups who are highly involved with program support and fund raising. There have been some minor incidents of fighting, but no serious crimes have marred the academic landscape. The county has a collaboration with county honors high schools, such as Allied Health, High Tech, Communications High, and a Marine Science Academy which accepts a limited number of incoming freshmen.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Matawan Reg High School
450 Atlantic Ave, Aberdeen, NJ  07747
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (732) 705-5200
Last modified Matawan Reg High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top