Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5 & Ungraded
Public
Basking Ridge, NJ
Students enrolled: 689

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mount Prospect Elementary School 5

Posted July 26, 2014
- a parent
Couldn't have asked for a better school that Mt Prospect for my son. The teachers, principal, administration, every thing about the school beats my expectations.

Mount Prospect Elementary School 2

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
If your child is White and you are moving from a different school district, this is not the place for you. Your child will immediately be deemed inferior .


Mount Prospect Elementary School 1

Posted January 11, 2013
- a community member
This is the type of school that thrives on putting down their students. The teachers dedicate no time to aiding your child and teaching them the proper material, but excel in chastising those who might need a bit more help. For a school in an area that has a large fluctuation of foreigners, the teachers and administration are very ignorant to the challenges that kids have when English is their second or third language. The school is unforgiving of any misstep and once your child does what the school considers to be a poor job, he or she gets marked with a scarlet letter. The teachers freely discuss their subjective opinions of your children so that when your child goes from, for example, 3rd to 4th grade, he or she has already been marked as either a genius or a poor fool. They provide no room for your child to improve because the teachers in themselves do not care about the mental and educational progress of your child - they simply want to fulfill their curve, having some on top and some on the bottom. Finally, their tutoring program is a joke as the tutor just plays on their cellphone instead of helping Some teachers are worthwhile, but in general this school is a disgrace!
2 people found this helpful

Mount Prospect Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2012
- a parent
We moved to Basking Ridge few months ago and Mount Prospect is everything we expected and a bit more! Mount Prospect has all the ingredients for a successful school -- Involved and dedicated Principal/Staff, Great teachers, State of the art facility, Excellent learning environment and a very competitive batch of students. We are very happy with the school.

Mount Prospect Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2010
- a parent
The school is great. It has many intelligent teachers AND students. There are many interactive activites like bake sales, holiday boutiques, and raffles. There are also a lot of friendly students willing to become friends with new students. The students are very well taught by the fantastic teachers always working hard. The staff and prinicpal work EXTREMELY hard to improve the school, with the help of student council. The school includes many academics, like many speeches starting from 1st grade, a colonial fair, projects and much more.


Mount Prospect Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
The teachers and staff are excellent. The students are wonderful. I am so happy that my children attend this school

Mount Prospect Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2010
- a parent
Fantastic, Dedicated teachers. Staff can be difficult to get a hold of, but the experience for our children has been phenomenal - this school has stronger academics than the private schools I have visited.

Mount Prospect Elementary School 5

Posted July 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Mount Prospect Elementary School 5

Posted June 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mount Prospect Elementary School 4

Posted January 30, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mount Prospect Elementary School
111 Hansom Rd, Basking Ridge, NJ  07920
(908) 470-1600
Last modified Mount Prospect Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mount Prospect Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top