Advertisement
Advertisement

Marist High School

Private | 9-12 | 400 students

Our school is best known for its Library Media Center, Medquest & Focus Programs

 
 

Living in Bayonne

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $253,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2013

i am enrolled in Medquest, honors 2 classes, i am also on the tennis, and swimming team. Marist is a great school if you are either in honors 1 or 2. Med quest is also an excellent program were you learn drug interjections and how to measure the amount of dosage to give to someone, anatomy, endocrine system, physiology, health care, and medical terminology, and symptoms of diseases and illnesses. you also get cps certified, first aid, and AED, about half of the graduates of Medquest go on to collage for per-med. we also have guest speakers and watch different types of live surgeries at medical center. you also need to do service at a hospital freshman and sophmore year, and junior and senior year you can volunteer at doctor offices. You also have to have at least a 88 average in all subjects to participate in Medquest or get accepted. No other high school has a virtual hospital in the building, and gives you the type of experiences that Medquest does. This program is competitive to get into and there is only two classes of 13 kids. Most of the kids get rejected. If you get into Medquest and are interested in the medical field this program offers an array of opportunities for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2013

Marist has brought me to go to an ivy league collage i am currently at brown university my brother went to saint peters prep and i will assure you that we have the same curriculum the only difference is that prep has a better name and is better funded, not only was i accepted into brown but i got into Cornell, George town, Notre dame, tufts, and duke. the Medquest at Marist looked great for my acceptance for pre-med and i know most of the stuff that we are learning now because of Med-quest also most of the people from my honors class are in Medquest and about 40% of the kids who went to medquest got into pre-med collages my mother also loves the school very much and she is also a teacher we both think that marist brought me into this array of oppruntunities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2013

this is an excellent school if you are in the honors program either 1 or 2 and you are in medquest this school is also excellent if you are on the debate team
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 6, 2011

This school is fine if you are in the Honors program. Even then, for the most part it is not challenging when compared to other schools who boast that they focus on "college prep". This is a school that exists on two tiers. First, there is the honors tier. The students here are given many many more opportunities and the better, more established teachers. There could be more AP classes, but with so little students, I guess it is not possible. You pretty much have class with the same kids all 4 years. The other tier, is for every other student. Here, the academics are a complete joke. I am terrible at math, in college I had to take remedial algebra, yet at Marist I received a 98 average in more advanced algebra because the class goes sooo slowly and is dumbed down. The majority of teachers are brand new, young, and inexperienced who leave for the suburbs after their obligatory 2 years. The classes here are insanely easy yet many students are still not doing well. Overall, this school is definitely one of the better private schools in Hudson County. However, for a school that boasts about its 'college prep atmosphere' they really need to step up the academics. Far Too Easy
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2011

The school has a big problem in terms of helping struggling students. The students who are failing 2 or more subjects is quite high. Instead of receiving tutoring, they are forced to spend every day afterschool in a detention-like setting, instead of getting the help they deserve and need; they fill up 2 classrooms! The school is also very harsh in terms of discipline, thanks to their draconian Dean of Discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2009

I love Marist High School. As an alumnus of Marist (c/o 2007) I can honsetly say that Marist lives up to its creed. They offer top notch academics as well as great extra carricular activities and a real supportive, family atmosphere. Marist will successfully prepare your child for the next phase in not only their education, but their lives.


Posted June 21, 2009

It's an excellent school community. We are all a family with The Marist Schools. They teach you leadership, and determination. They offer so much more than what other private schools & public schools offer and that's-acceptance by everyone. Marist will always be my school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2008

This is a great school! challenges the students to their fullest potential!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

I like this school because they have good teachers. Also because they follow Saint Marcellin Champagnat and the five Marist values. I love this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2007

This school is absolutely wonderful. They keep parents well informed. They focus on values as well as top academics which is necessary in today's society. There extracurricular programs are amazing with ample choices for the kids to choose from. My son's reaction for choosing Marist HS to send him to was , 'Mom, thanks for loving me so much'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2007

Excellent! they really care about the students both academic and their students as a whole. They have great guidancecoucilor. they are there when needed even on weekends
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

Excellent education and college prep.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

Marist continues to meet the needs of its students. It reaches out to all its students and encourages them to reach their highest potential. The Principal, faculty, and staff are especially supportive and foster Christian values among all the students. I strongly recommend this high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Marist has a family atmosphere and offers support for students in and out of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

Marist High School develop each students knowledge and abilities to foster excellent leadership skills,to improve their personal growth and development, and gain the respect of the staffs and their peers. They offer a tremendous array of extracurricular activities that the students enjoy and excel from.Their challenging academic curriculum definitely prepares them well for college. The staffs are definitely an asset and a key factor to the success of each student. Tuition still is one of the most reasonable in the county and yet, the school remains quite competitive proven by the tremendous rise in admissions and the highest for the year 2003 in the county. It is well diversed, the students are well recognized and awarded for any achievements they have earned.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 41% 19%
Asian 25% 8%
Hispanic 19% 20%
White 11% 52%
Two or more races 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Medical
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical
Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:35 pm
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Independent Study
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Medical
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1241 Kennedy Blvd
Bayonne, NJ 07002
Phone: (201) 437-4544

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Infinity Institute
Jersey City, NJ





Henry Snyder High School
Jersey City, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT