Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Bayonne, NJ
Students enrolled: 400
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Marist High School 1

Posted December 09, 2014
- a student
This school seems to be more of a workers boot camp than anything else. They have a large focus on detentions, rather than creating an actually good learning environment with student/teacher interaction. They focus more on creating good workers than smart students. I've noticed many students in the honors program who complain about lack of sleep because of homework, which most of the time is not benefiting learning. In about half my classes there is complete silence from the students and lack of participation because of the boring and non-organic environment that is created. Also they say they are a family but it seems more like a boot camp, like I've said before, where you aren't allowed to talk unless spoken to and you are to obey all commands, although plenty of teachers try to avoid this, some take it very seriously. Worst of all in terms of discipline is the use of intimidation to instill fear on students so that they don't break the rules. They have bad sports programs and waste money on other things like automatic curtains in the auditorium. The tuition also seems to be overpriced. Overall this school is for students who are endanger of being involved in the wrong crowd.

Marist High School 1

Posted October 04, 2014
- a student
You can't be serious about this school. It really is a joke. I spent 2 years here and could not wait to transfer out and I was in the Honors program. The person in charge of discipline favors the jocks. He does not have a handle on things. Fights - a constant - students out of dress code - the rule not the exception. I never felt safe. It was a "do as you please type of place". The sports' program is probably the worst in the county. The teachers - all the good ones are gone. Save your money - go somewhere else.


Marist High School 4

Posted September 28, 2014
- a student
If it weren't for Marist, I wouldn't be the person I am today. They have driven me into the right path, academically and spiritually. I am truly grateful for everything that Marist has done for me.

Marist High School 1

Posted August 29, 2014
- a community member
This school was by far a extremely dark place for me.They say they're all family yet some of the teachers can careless about teaching the struggling students.As a parent said I used to be in the after school program to study when all it was is another form of detention.I also was one of the pull out students they did very well in this area.Because of that though I couldn't take any electives cause my extra help were it.Your tuition goes up as does your grade does making the price outrageously high.Some of the honor students also had a magnet program(classes for the morning then a job or another school for the afternoon)where as the normal students got their talents pushed aside.In the school there is fighting, adult conduct between the students,and once or twice a teacher has left her adult items in an opened unlocked desk.The dress code is unfair also Jr & Sr students can slack off on their uniforms(not shoe dress code,forgetting a tie,a polo shirt with the school logo)but a freshmen or sophomore did that,they'd serve detention.The discipline in this school is horrible they'd suspend both students for fighting when one clearly walked away.Parents please be careful of this school.

Marist High School 5

Posted February 21, 2013
- a student
i am enrolled in Medquest, honors 2 classes, i am also on the tennis, and swimming team. Marist is a great school if you are either in honors 1 or 2. Med quest is also an excellent program were you learn drug interjections and how to measure the amount of dosage to give to someone, anatomy, endocrine system, physiology, health care, and medical terminology, and symptoms of diseases and illnesses. you also get cps certified, first aid, and AED, about half of the graduates of Medquest go on to collage for per-med. we also have guest speakers and watch different types of live surgeries at medical center. you also need to do service at a hospital freshman and sophmore year, and junior and senior year you can volunteer at doctor offices. You also have to have at least a 88 average in all subjects to participate in Medquest or get accepted. No other high school has a virtual hospital in the building, and gives you the type of experiences that Medquest does. This program is competitive to get into and there is only two classes of 13 kids. Most of the kids get rejected. If you get into Medquest and are interested in the medical field this program offers an array of opportunities for you.


Marist High School 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a student
Marist has brought me to go to an ivy league collage i am currently at brown university my brother went to saint peters prep and i will assure you that we have the same curriculum the only difference is that prep has a better name and is better funded, not only was i accepted into brown but i got into Cornell, George town, Notre dame, tufts, and duke. the Medquest at Marist looked great for my acceptance for pre-med and i know most of the stuff that we are learning now because of Med-quest also most of the people from my honors class are in Medquest and about 40% of the kids who went to medquest got into pre-med collages my mother also loves the school very much and she is also a teacher we both think that marist brought me into this array of oppruntunities.

Marist High School 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a student
this is an excellent school if you are in the honors program either 1 or 2 and you are in medquest this school is also excellent if you are on the debate team

Marist High School 3

Posted April 06, 2011
- a student
This school is fine if you are in the Honors program. Even then, for the most part it is not challenging when compared to other schools who boast that they focus on "college prep". This is a school that exists on two tiers. First, there is the honors tier. The students here are given many many more opportunities and the better, more established teachers. There could be more AP classes, but with so little students, I guess it is not possible. You pretty much have class with the same kids all 4 years. The other tier, is for every other student. Here, the academics are a complete joke. I am terrible at math, in college I had to take remedial algebra, yet at Marist I received a 98 average in more advanced algebra because the class goes sooo slowly and is dumbed down. The majority of teachers are brand new, young, and inexperienced who leave for the suburbs after their obligatory 2 years. The classes here are insanely easy yet many students are still not doing well. Overall, this school is definitely one of the better private schools in Hudson County. However, for a school that boasts about its 'college prep atmosphere' they really need to step up the academics. Far Too Easy


Marist High School 1

Posted January 05, 2011
- a parent
The school has a big problem in terms of helping struggling students. The students who are failing 2 or more subjects is quite high. Instead of receiving tutoring, they are forced to spend every day afterschool in a detention-like setting, instead of getting the help they deserve and need; they fill up 2 classrooms! The school is also very harsh in terms of discipline, thanks to their draconian Dean of Discipline.

Marist High School 0
no rating

Posted December 11, 2009
- a community member
I love Marist High School. As an alumnus of Marist (c/o 2007) I can honsetly say that Marist lives up to its creed. They offer top notch academics as well as great extra carricular activities and a real supportive, family atmosphere. Marist will successfully prepare your child for the next phase in not only their education, but their lives.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marist High School
1241 John F Kennedy Boulevard West, Bayonne, NJ  07002
(201) 437-4545
Last modified Marist High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Marist High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top