Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family Academy

Private | 9-12 | 30 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bayonne

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $253,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2011

I attended an open house at HFA on 4/10/11 and was very impressed with the programs offered. The school is progressive, forward thinking and is currently thinking outside the box to solve problems that arise. They currently have their Latin class skyped in from a teacher in Wisconsin and have reported excellent results with this class. Seniors have opportunity for AP classes through nearby colleges. Of major interest is the fact that this year the senior class, made up of 49 young women, earned 17 million in college scholarships. Obviously, this school is an excellent investment in your daughter's education. In my opinion, HFA's logo should be HFA: Women of Worth. Finally, the school is conveniently located near the 8th Station N.J. Lightrail stop making it convenient for girls from Hudson, Bergen and Essex counties to commute to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

The teachers and staff are kind and caring. Students are challenged but are nurtured.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I attended and graduated from Holy Family Academy.It provided me with a sound education and a spring board to the future.


Posted May 24, 2009

Holy Family Academy of Bayonne offers a very broad curriculum for such a small school. I beleive the money you invest in a high school education at HFA pays for itself immediately as the scholarship offers start coming in with the college acceptance letters. Each and every student at HFA gets accepted into college and most years 100% attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

HFA is the best option for girls in Bayonne and the surrounding area. It is a Catholic school but does not push the faith on anyone. The school shapes young women with morals, values, and self-respect. HFA has academic options for girls at any level: Honors, AP, and regular College Prep. HFA girls not only get accepted and go to college but also graduate. Most schools brag of college acceptance but HFA can boost of college attendance and graduation. The young alumni who frequently come back to visit there alma mater tell stories of college success. Extra-circulars are numerous. Sports frequently win championships. Dance Troupe and art students are being constantly awarded. Clubs are numerous and students are always welcome to start there own.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2009

HFA Rocks, its my home from home. Block scheduling makes for giving me great choices. I can take AP course without having to carry 6+ subjects at the same time. Small classes, great teachers, county champions. Great goods in small packages.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2005

Excellent school! Small class size and does not shy away from teaching Math and Science
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

My child has new interest in learning and I believe it is because of Holy Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

I currently attend Holy Family Academy. I love the school in every way! This year (2003-2004) we are following block or intensive scheduling. I am very excited about this, it will greatly relieve my stress.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 51%
Hispanic 13% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 9%
Black 5% 16%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Newark
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

239 Avenue A
Bayonne, NJ 07002
Phone: (201) 339-7341

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT