Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bayonne High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 165 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 25, 2013

i like it. it is really great! i learn a lot in this school. this school help me a lot!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2012

Your child CANNOT go to school in Bayonne if you live in Jersey City. Since it's a public school and free, I also can't imagine what scholarship the prior poster is talking about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2012

If me and my son lives in Jersey City, New Jersey how does my son apply?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

Yes you can apply even if you live in Jersey City. I live in Jersey City and my daughter was accepted there w/ a scholarship!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

This school offers many opportunities for motivated students. Your child will be challenged academically if they so choose to be.


Posted April 16, 2011

the so called "adult night high school" offers handouts to 17-19 year students as a way to pass time rather than actually give them a lesson! The night program also turns away many students upon arriving and sometimes does not mark them IN. Allowing absences to build until the motivated young adult goes away., nice program...guess it was a way for them to get $$. They once told a teen who was trying to enter the program that he was trespassing...yes TRESPASSING. Extremely disappointed parent...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2010

Bayonne High School (BHS) is very large multi cultural school who's goal is to encourage students to strive in life and meet their goals. BHS has the tools and resources to be able to guide each and everyone of their students in the right direction due to their dedicated staff of teachers and multiple vice principals and especially their dedicated principal Richard Baccarella. Not only does BHS strive in academics but the school has an excellent athletic department. Their men and women's basketball teams are always ranked in the top 3 in Hudson County and even makes it all the way to the state playoffs, not to mention their competitive cheerleading team who won the National Championship. BHS also offers a variety of clubs which keep the students engaged in academics and forces them to work closely with their peers. Overall Bayonne High School is a successful school.


Posted September 16, 2009

Great spirit, lovely teachers and the best counselors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Bayonne High School has given a great education to my three children, I love the teachers and thier commitment to excellence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2009

I am presently a teacher at BHS as well as an alumni. The teaching staff is undoubtedly superior if the children in the class are willing to learn. Unfortunately, many of the children in front of us today are unwilling. Granted there are stil lthe special few, who yes do happen to be mostly honors students who do care. I read many comments about homework not being assigned. HW is indeed assigned, unfortunately only about 20% of the students complete it. If parents will look at the Bayonne Board of Ed website and look up the teacher calendars, you will see a day by day listing of homework, readings, papers, and tests assigned. If parents truly believe their children when they say no HW is assigned, I challenge you to check into it yourself.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 8, 2009

This school has gone through many changes, as all schools have, but sadly the changes here are for the worst. The teachers, not all, are political appointments, so their jobs are safe no matter how badly they teach and believe me there are a lot of bad ones. Safety is a big issue and this school has poor safeguards. Fights are the rule and not the exception. Rarely does a day go by when the police are not called. My child will not be returning to Bayonne HIgh School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

This is a great high school, they should have a dress code or possibly uniforms, other than that, a caring high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

This is a nice school...thye have a wonderful school system but need get more srtict on the clothing policy.....
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2007

I am a parent of a special needs child in this school, and as far as i am concerned, the program is worthless. They, the school system is more concerned about the other children. And you never hear anything about the programs for the special needs children. My daughter is 16 and she can't read yet.And the school will not help me get her to a better program,which costs 30,000.Dollars.The money isn't being used for the special needs children.But the other students always get the best. Sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2004

I am a graduate of BHS, and after spending 4 years in the College Prep program, I still did not feel ready for college. A lot of the teachers did not teach, or give homework. There are some teachers who would rather talk to the students about their family than about history. I failed US 1 because of a teacher like this. I had 85-100 in every other class my entire life, which says a lot about this teacher's way of teaching. There is no way that this could be a reflection of me. 90% of my summer school class took that teacher. I had a 50 in his class and a 96 in summer school. I am on the Dean's List in college, and its sad to say that BHS did not help me acheive that...I did it all on my own.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 28, 2003

I'm not exactly a parent, but a current student. Honestly they put more work into the honors batch than any other. Level a is a kick over for many persons. Honors people from time to time act superior and snobbish. There's not enough challenge or any kind stim for those us who are stuck for the want of people forgetting stuff. Having new teachers just brings down things too with inexperience and students who were promoted when barely passed by. There are those of us who suffered the grievous mistakes of the school board's plan of changing grammar school every 2 years that included myself as a child and now i'm in the edifice of it all. For once could the people running this system get it right and separate those of us who want to learn from those who could care less. I'm tired of either being bored for the lack of passion in the studies or annoyed for being pushed to hard... learning is to be what helps you succeed the best not some darn quotas set to be filled... education is more than this.


Posted September 9, 2003

I feel that not enough effort to teach the avarage student is given. The children in the honors courses are definitly given more importance, while the ones that are not, are lost in the abiss. I'm very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

The opportunities in this school for our communities children are endless. Awesome sports program (Football team is number 1 in the state and classes ahve recieved best practices awards in the state), wonderful art and music program (Art students are always involved with national and state competitions and often win, as do the musically inclined students which also travel all over the country bringing home 1st place awards for their bands and chorus'), fabulous opportunities for children interested in the sciences (they are involved with NASA, have met the men who discovered DNA, go all over the country on various Physics programs in amusement parks and have traveled to see endangered species) among other programs in all other subject areas that make this an highly above average school. There are plenty of opportunities for all students to succeed. From children that are special education to the honors students, all are treated fairly and honestly. The teachers here are not lax at all in my opinion. My child receives regular homework as does his friends. If the children do not do well on a subject, there has always been extra tutoring available for the children to take advantage of. The teachers care about the fate of our children. They are endlessly working to provide them with all of the resources that will allow them to succeed not only in their class, but in life itself. Educational opportunities here are wonderful and I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I am a teacher at Bayonne High as well as an alumni. I do not have children yet, however, they will attend Bayonne High when the time comes. It is a wonderful school. The honors classes are exceptional. The teachers in those programs are tough on the kids, but they will thank them for it later. I know I did. I did cry to my parents at 1 point, begged them to remove me from my classes. I told them the teachers didnt care. Now, older and wiser, I realize that could not have been farther from the truth. I run my class much the same way. I do not baby the children and many of them want to be spoon fed. I refuse to do so. The kids of today are bright and do have the ability to use their own intelligience. State mandates require many modifcations to be made for certian students, I understand that. I do not understand a reduction is course material though. School is not too hard.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

557 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

557 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students91%
Female93%
Male89%
Black87%
Asian88%
Hispanic91%
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Special education61%
General education97%
English language learners41%
Non-migrant91%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former54%
Limited English Proficient Former67%

Math

All Students82%
Female82%
Male83%
Black64%
Asian82%
Hispanic80%
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Special education35%
General education89%
English language learners59%
Non-migrant82%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former72%
Limited English Proficient Former83%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

698 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students44%
Female46%
Male42%
Black26%
Asian67%
Hispanic37%
Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged51%
Special education10%
General education54%
English language learners12%
Non-migrant44%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former16%
Limited English Proficient Former29%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

87%

SAT college ready

24%

Graduation rate

82%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 51%
Hispanic 36% 22%
Black 11% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 9%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

669 Avenue A
Bayonne, NJ 07002
Phone: (201) 858-5900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Marist High School
Bayonne, NJ


Infinity Institute
Jersey City, NJ



Henry Snyder High School
Jersey City, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT