Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Number 5 Elementary School

Public | K-6 & ungraded | 26 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2013

As a parent I don't agree with the principal's decisions and rules on how to treat the students. My child comes home many times complaining about the poor quality of his principal. She mistreats students by giving unnecessary punishments. She is mean and egotistical for putting down my son and his classmates and making them feel below. The principal was quality because his rules were more fair and treated students with respect. She makes her own decisions without informing students and parents. How she runs the school is a disgrace and I'm happy that my son will be transferring. DO NOT attend this school. Also the food is terrible and under cooked half the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

This school is a disgrace. A few days ago I heard that the fourth grade had to wait on the lunch line until the lunch ladies finished cooking because they ran out of food in the cafeteria. Also my child is a A studend and is falling below because of the teachers not teaching and explaining correctly.I do not recommend this school at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

I don't like this school, my 4th grade son never has homework, the teacher let them make in class, so it is not a homework. I am looking for a house in a better school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Some teachers have great compassion for there students but lack of resources I feel prevent them from doing more. Food wise I wish could be changed but parents need to connect and call the area food services director. The food is frozen then heated up but that is what the management of the area makes them cook. Parents need to band together and demand a Food Revolution. Do something about it. This new principal is professional but that is it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

I am a parent and is my second year in this school for one thing am glad they change the principal there still a lot of things that needs work in this school I still don't feel safe leaving my children in this school I don't feel they watch them properly. Would not recommend this school to anyone
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

School #5 good for the click parents that claim it's good. Teachers are just doing a job, under staff, no secruity, and principal is too lay back. Students challenged, 'I don't think so.' No one concerned about these students future, they are just doing a job. Teachers are out the door before the students. I have witness how they speak to these kids, I was shock how some teachers are in these children faces. They should work on making space for the students and not overcrowding the classes with one teacher. Belleville residents pay enough taxes to extended the building on the school grounds and hire enough staff support. My children finish there homework in 15 minutes. Do you think that is enough teacher involvement?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

3 stars - The school is okay, sometimes good. My daughter is very academically challenged, since the teachers assign so much school and homework. But the staff lacks compassion and genuine concern for students and parents. There had long been no before- and after-care programs, until February 2009 - when they finally added a before-care component to the inadequate after-care program. There also is no warmth exhibited by the principal. The teachers seem interested in merely assigning work, not emotionally connecting to individual children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

I have been nothing but disappointed with # 5. Especially with the new principal who was MY 5th grade teacher many years ago at #5. The lunches are still a disgrace, and the school itself has not changed in 35+ years when i went there. There isn't any before or after school help for those children who need that extra help in subjects. They just get looked down upon. You can beg a teacher until you're blue in the face to help, they can't be bothered. The lunch system is a TV dinner. These poor kids need healthy meals! Step up Belleville residents! Help these kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2007

school 5 is the place to be, why you ask ! because we are a family and we all help one another. our PTA is one of the best around our teachers all care about our children. i couldn't ask for anything more thats why we are known to be a BLUE RIBBON SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

I LOVE School #5, everyone has been welcoming and friendly. The principal is VERY involved in everything we do and supports us 110% and is fair to the children in ALL situations. I am extremely happy my son had to switch schools, this has proven to be a much better experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2006

I am the parent of two School Number Five students. Number Five is an excellent school with a fine, highly skilled and caring staff of teachers. The principal is also on the ball and is able to handle any situation, good or bad, with the utmost professionalism. The only negatives (which are both not the fault of the school itself)are that in some grades the classes are overcrowded with as many as 30 children in a class, and we could use also use more parent involvement. I am proud to have my children attend this school and would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2006

Unfortunately, I am very upset with the direction the school is going. The principal's attitude is one of a politician. Only looking for his best intrest. On many occassions, rather citing who is wrong, he blames both. Saying that their just kids and they are going to have altercations at some point or another. Some teachers are not very communitive. On numerous times did we send letters to the teacher, only to get no response. When we receive the report card is when there is a comment attached.The cirriculum is not up to standards. I feel my my child is going backwards, rather than excelling. The past two years, the teachers were much better. The lunch aids for outside, are not very attentative, always in some corner not paying attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2004

My son his at a special education class. It's been great, since I moved out from Newark. Teachers and Child Study Team, really care and worry about your kid! My son improved a lot, because the system it's so much better and organized.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students71%
Female96%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special educationn/a
General education81%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant71%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students79%
Female92%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
General education87%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant79%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students39%
Female57%
Male29%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
White33%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Special educationn/a
General education49%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant39%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students66%
Female52%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
White60%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Special educationn/a
General education73%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant66%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students80%
Female74%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
White73%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
General education84%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant80%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students44%
Female54%
Male35%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
White67%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Special educationn/a
General education44%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant44%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students72%
Female79%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
White67%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
General education75%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant72%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students60%
Female61%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special educationn/a
General education72%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant60%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students78%
Female79%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education25%
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant78%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Not migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 62% 22%
White 23% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 9%
Black 5% 16%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Nanette Rotonda

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

149 Adelaide St
Belleville, NJ 07109
Phone: (973) 450-3450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT