Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bergenfield High School 5

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
Bergenfield High School has a great cirriculum with many opportunities and a excellent music program.

Bergenfield High School 5

Posted March 21, 2015
- a parent
This school is one of the best kept secrets in Bergen County. They offer a vigorous curriculum. The music program is excellent. The athletic programs are very competitive. Our children love this school.


Bergenfield High School 5

Posted March 21, 2015
- a parent
This school offers over 21 AP courses and a medical apprentice program. My children are always busy at this school.

Bergenfield High School 5

Posted March 21, 2015
- a parent
BHS keeps improving. They keep moving up the NJ Monthly Best HS Rankings and were ranked as one of Bergen County's Most Challenging High Schools by the Washington Post. My daughter has done very well here and we are glad we made the decision to go to BHS.

Bergenfield High School 5

Posted March 26, 2012
- a student
The school has jumped 100 spots from 2008 to 2010 and will keep on improving, so that 2 star rating was inappropriate. Like what most will say about Bergenfield's school district, the Music Department is the most standout program in the school system--voted as one of the best music communities in America with a rich marching band history and one of the few schools with Electronic Music classes. They've raised their academic standards in general, adding more AP classes since I graduated, even AP art courses. They're also helping students more with college planning and campus visits.The facilities have been upgraded: new field track, gym floors, gym lockers, restrooms, and have more renovations in plan. The athletics have improved greatly. The wrestling program is one of, if not the best of its division. Football team went from a losing streak to ranking in the top 25 of North Jersey. The school is moving in the right direction and less students are choosing schools outside of the district.


Bergenfield High School 3

Posted March 24, 2011
- a community member
Well since I'm in RWB, i don't know much about the teachers and classes, but I heard the marching band is supposed to be known somewhat for the recent movies they've done and how bad the football team is. The bounty hunter, and appearing in the early morning shows. I hear they get tons of money for their part and is very good.

Bergenfield High School 2

Posted July 13, 2010
- a community member
I think the school needs to look into a more challenging curriculum as well as reducing the size of classes. The ways I feel they can improve this is by lobbying for funding from the state.

Bergenfield High School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is in the STEM program and she could not be happier with her curriculum. Her teachers are very dedicated and inspiring and we are very happy with the experience in the Bergenfield public school system. A school should be judged by the quality of its teachers and curriculum, and not by standardized tests which lump the students who do not take school seriously with those who do.


Bergenfield High School 4

Posted June 21, 2006
- a student
I think Bergenfield High School has improved thier cirriculum dramatically from the time I was attending. It appears to be a lot more rigorous and challenging, which is good, as it shows they are doing thier best to keep up with modern teaching practices.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bergenfield High School
80 South Prospect Ave, Bergenfield, NJ  07621
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (201) 385-8600
Last modified Bergenfield High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top