Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-8 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Roy W Brown Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
Art Teachers!! Seminar teacher as well as the math staff that I've met thus far. Admin staff is strong as well

Roy W Brown Middle School 5

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
Stong music and arts. Diverse Culture and engaged teaching staff. The homework requirements seem to be balanced and the public support of the fundraising activities are robust.


Roy W Brown Middle School 1

Posted April 20, 2015
- a community member
Oh gosh.. where do I start? First, the lunch. The lunch smells HORRIBLE! It's all frozen and unhealthy. Next, the gym floor is FILTHY! Since they added lunch stations for hot and cold food, there's less space in the cafeteria. So, they added lunch tables in the gym. There's crumbs everywhere! (Plus they use a dirty rag to clean tables so it's disgusting). So, once gym class starts and we're doing push ups, sit ups, etc, we're basically covered in crumbs. Plus the walls smell horrible, like a dirty bathroom.. There's also cockroaches and centipedes on the walls..nice. Another thing to mention is that we have around 24 minutes for lunch. That's barely any time. We don't even go outside for recess. In conclusion, this school is horrible. Pretty sure the only reason why I have horrible anxiety is because of this school.

Roy W Brown Middle School 5

Posted March 21, 2015
- a parent
We love Roy Brown MS. The teachers are excellent. They have wonderful music, athletic, and extracurricular activities. My children have benefited from their years at RWB.

Roy W Brown Middle School 5

Posted March 21, 2015
- a parent
My kids have done very well at this school. The staff has been great. Our kids are involved in several activities and love them.


Roy W Brown Middle School 5

Posted March 21, 2015
- a parent
This school has provided my son with a great education. RWB has a middle school sports program that many other towns do not have and they have a great facility. They do offer a reading incentive program at lunch. We need to do everything we can to encourage today's children to read books. The cafeteria as renovated this past summer and extra seating capacity was added to ease the crowding.

Roy W Brown Middle School 2

Posted December 10, 2013
- a community member
This school is not bad. Great teachers and a very nice library. However the administration is rubblish. They are no help what-so-ever. If you ever lose something, they barely care. Not only that, but they have a lost and found bin in room 216. IT'S A COMPLETE MESS! All they do is just throw the things on a desk and shove things in a shelf. As for the cafeteria.. it's horrendous. The room is packed and it is flithy. I feel bad for the custodian. But the timing to eat.. terrible. ONLY 20 MINUTES TO EAT AND 20 MINUTES TO READ OR DO MATH. How dumb. If you're coming to this school i'd suggest finding another

Roy W Brown Middle School 1

Posted December 03, 2012
- a community member
This school is fine for learning and the teachers (well, most of them) that I have had are great. However: The administration is TERRIBLE - they are all RUDE, and none of them are afraid to yell at the students. And - WHAT is up with lunch!? 20 minutes to eat and then 20 minutes to READ? That is insanity - I can't wait for high school.


Roy W Brown Middle School 5

Posted March 26, 2012
- a community member
Out of all the Bergenfield schools, I performed the best academically in this middle school. The whole school district has a prestigious music department. Academically, it's not a bad school as some may say since many students here were accepted to Bergen Academies which is one of the top 10 high schools in the entire country. My teachers were always on top with the student's schoolwork. Most of the complaints coming from parents and students is the administration, which really needs to improve since this has always been a huge ongoing issue. The only trouble I've had was arriving school 5 minutes late and getting detention for it, which I thought was unfair. But I can understand that some of the students are a nuisance. The facilities need renovation and possibly fund for some extensions.

Roy W Brown Middle School 5

Posted February 08, 2012
- a community member
why ya peaple hating ma school....its not like there are lots of middle school in bergenfield, itz the only one in a area that scored 2 BEST AREA TO RAISE A KID so yea its crowded but only weird kids get tested to see if they want to be ur friend like siresly ppl!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roy W Brown Middle School
130 S Washington Ave, Bergenfield, NJ  07621
(201) 385-8847
Last modified Roy W Brown Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roy W Brown Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top