Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Bernardsville, NJ

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bernards High School 3

Posted October 07, 2012
- a parent
Strengths lie in differences and I believe parents can be advocates for a better world. Through your example, your teen will learn that differences are important. In teaching your teens not to judge, especially not on outside appearances and wealth, you teach them to have more respect for others as well as more respect for themselves. When you show a level of respect for all people no matter what their wealth ranking or ethnicity is, your teen will learn to do the same. Children are not born with prejudices and biases; they do not see color, race, or ethnicity. Intolerance is something that is taught. Tolerance and acceptance can be taught the same way and that is the message you want your teen to hear. Kids are hardworking and intellegent

Bernards High School 1

Posted April 07, 2012
- a parent
BHS used to be a great school with the IB and AP program and great athletics. Now, there are just tons of teacher protests, athletics have been terrible now, and all the students are hating the school. This school needs to devote itself to academics and fire teachers who just want to protest/hire new ones! Another bad thing about this school follows the motto "if you're rich, you're in". Basically, everyone that's white is in. Otherwise, no one treats you with respect in this school. I am spanish, and I have been treated so rudely by the staff in this school. I am glad I switched my daughter into private school!


Bernards High School 4

Posted March 28, 2011
- a parent
great school. International baccalaureate prrogram. Top AP teachers. Very strong sports program including football, baseball, track, soccer, fencing. Very small intimate environment with only about 700 students. Most teachers live in town and send their own kids. Many students go on to top universities and that is the best measure of a successful program. Don't listen to those who have low self esteem and can only feel better about themeselves when they are putting others down

Bernards High School 0
no rating

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
One would think that the teachers at this school would be of the highest caliber as this is a VERY affluent area. If teachers would stop discussing their personal lives in the classroom which is totally irrelevant to the cirriculum, maybe our kids would actually learn something. There are a few good teachers left. My child has had a hard time 'fitting in' in this school, mainly because the majority of kids are rich spoiled brats who have no morals, no values, no guidance obviously from their rich parents. Sad to say, my daughter has tried out for several different clubs, peer leaders, etc. and is always turned down. She is a great student, great kid and carries herself well. (from what I read on her report card from teachers), yet she is never picked for anything. She has more morals and values than most adults I know.

Bernards High School 1

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
BHS is part of the SHSD. If you are rich and popular don't worry you'll fit right in. But if you happen to be poor, forget it. Find a better school somewhere else.


Bernards High School 4

Posted February 28, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Bernards High School 5

Posted February 27, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Bernards High School 4

Posted January 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bernards High School
25 Olcott Avenue, Bernardsville, NJ  07924
(908) 630-3000
Last modified Bernards High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bernards High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top