Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bedwell Elementary School

Public | PK-4 & ungraded | 9 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, July 21, 2014

There is one elementary school and everyone goes to the same school. This is nice because I moved from a town with 5 different elementary schools and heard, "which elementary school are you in....". People would try and have playdates with kids from their elementary school. It really segmented the town. So, that is good. The academics are good. The kids have reading homework every night and usually some math work. We actually had our one son check out a prominent private school and spend the day there shadowing another student. After asking him about his experience, and specifically about math class, he said, "actually they are behind us in math...what they were covering in math class, we did this a few weeks ago." The school offers an additional math class in the morning before school for gifted students. They also offer music and singing lessons before school too. I read some of the other reviews about yelling. My kids have mentioned this to me before. I think it comes from the lunch ladies, its not the teachers or other staff. Not that this is ideal, but, that where its coming from. I think I would give the school 5 stars if it wasn't for the lunch ladies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2014

Great school with great teachers! I couldn't ask for anything more for my children. We moved our children to Bedwell after having them in private school, and I feel that their education has only improved at Bedwell. Staff is very caring and loving, bullying is no more a problem than anywhere else. The staff is very aware of what happening in their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2013

Lots of bullying and the school does not enforce. Academics are just ok. A very large school, not nurturing at all. I've seen lots of yelling
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

Bedwell Elementary has small class size and excellent, experienced teachers who are kind and friendly. Kids with learning differences or non-native speakers of English are integrated into the regular classrooms and have lots of support at school (OT, speech, ESL, PT, Reading Recovery, etc.). There are no foreign languages (major missed opportunity) and very little recess and gym. There is way too much focus on test preparation. Parents are not involved in the classroom after first grade. The academic quality is excellent, particularly in math and science. Writing instruction begins early and is well-developed. There are "specials" in technology, music, enrichment (e.g., gifted), library and art. The parent teacher association is active and well-organized, albeit a bit of a clique. The student body is not diverse (a reflection of the three towns in the district). All in all the education is better at Bedwell than many of the area's private elementary schools. We have two kids there and are satisfied with the quality of instruction and commitment of the teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2013

My child went to Bedwell after leaving a private preschool and I was so disappointed. The curriculum for kindergarten could not compare to what my child had already learned. It was a giant step backwards and I would not recommend this oversized school to any parent whose child is advanced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

I have had 3 children at Bedwell and happy with their education and quality of the teachers. The kids have had good academic and social experiences in the school and like any larger school, you need to communicate with the teachers and be engaged to make it the best possible for your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

So very happy that I chose to keep my son in public school. I have saved THOUSANDS and my child is receiving a truly quality education that he is enjoying daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2012

I was a student at bedwell from 1999-2004. i would just have to say that my years here were the greatest. i had the best time during recess and in class. i'm not sure due to all the teacher protests recently if the school is worse now, but when i was there it was awesome. the only downside were some of the aids in the lunch room. many students didn't like them. lots of good times -when the power went out, recess time, lunch time, halloween parades and when mr. lampa was there!


Posted October 25, 2010

Bedwell is an incredible school. The teachers are so committed to the children. My third grade daughter has had one good teacher after another. The administration is active and positive and the HSA is really invovled too. I am very pleased with our experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2009

Our first year here with a 2nd grader. The teachers style is to grade homework and hand it back to the student with a remark. It is then up to the student to ask for help or guidance. This doesn't seem appropriate for 7 and 8 year olds. I've called, emailed and written notes with little results, placating responses. I just got my daughters report card with 'requires direct and frequent support' in the area I've been alerting them about. Parent involvement seems to be discouraged - the school has very little in the way of extra activities. My girl isn't as excited about school as she was last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

Academics are good. Though school is too large for an elementary school - open periods (lunch/recess) do not have enough supervision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2006

The school's curriculum is geared toward the ASK testing and teaches students to think like the tests, thereby giving them high scores in the State. The downside is that students are not taught to learn or think creatively and the administration has a low tolerance for a child's unique style and personality. They have been known to refer children for outside testing and medication management when they are non-comforming and non-compliant. Parental involvement is discouraged beyond kindergarten unless the event is organized. Music, art, sports, etc. are basic and unremarkable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2005

An excellent school with small class sizes, great teachers and involved parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

excellent school with teachers who care about the students and who are responsice to parent concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students79%
Female85%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
General education82%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant79%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students90%
Female90%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant90%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students70%
Female72%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
White79%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Special education33%
General education79%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant70%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students90%
Female87%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
White91%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Special education70%
General education94%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant90%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students96%
Female96%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
White98%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Special education87%
General education98%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant96%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 51%
Hispanic 17% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 9%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Black 1% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

141 Seney Drive
Bernardsville, NJ 07924
Phone: (908) 204-1920

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

School of St. Elizabeth
Bernardsville, NJ



Montgomery Academy
Basking Ridge, NJ


St James School
Basking Ridge, NJ


Cedar Hill School
Basking Ridge, NJ


Mendham Country Day School
Basking Ridge, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT