Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-4 & Ungraded
Public
Bernardsville, NJ
Students enrolled: 689

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bedwell Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2014
- a parent
Bedwell is an excellent school with very committed teachers. The individual needs of the students are met and challenges are given. The school is welcoming of parents concerns and involvement. There is a strong sense of community. I feel that the education my children are receiving at Bedwell could not be better!

Bedwell Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
Bedwell is an excellent school. Dedicated staff, active HSA and great facilities. Very nurturing environment and a lot of focus on character education. Small class sizes. Overall a quality education.


Bedwell Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful school with great teachers and a very active HSA. The classes are on the smaller side and parents are always welcome. There are many events throughout the year that encourage community. Thumbs up!

Bedwell Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
Bedwell is a small school set in a town that is all about community. The teachers have been excellent and really care about the students. The HSA is VERY active, creating a very rich culture for the parents. I particularly love that there is only one elementary, one middle, and one high school in the town. This means I will know all of the children and the parents from Kindergarten on up. How wonderful to watch the children grow and change over the years in a district where 96% of graduating seniors go on to a 4 year college.

Bedwell Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
Transferred here from one of the supposedly great local private schools. Bedwell is a breadth of fresh air and my son couldn't be happier. His teacher is awesome and he loves going to school everyday. Great to be around local families too.


Bedwell Elementary School 4

Posted July 21, 2014
- a parent
There is one elementary school and everyone goes to the same school. This is nice because I moved from a town with 5 different elementary schools and heard, "which elementary school are you in....". People would try and have playdates with kids from their elementary school. It really segmented the town. So, that is good. The academics are good. The kids have reading homework every night and usually some math work. We actually had our one son check out a prominent private school and spend the day there shadowing another student. After asking him about his experience, and specifically about math class, he said, "actually they are behind us in math...what they were covering in math class, we did this a few weeks ago." The school offers an additional math class in the morning before school for gifted students. They also offer music and singing lessons before school too. I read some of the other reviews about yelling. My kids have mentioned this to me before. I think it comes from the lunch ladies, its not the teachers or other staff. Not that this is ideal, but, that where its coming from. I think I would give the school 5 stars if it wasn't for the lunch ladies.

Bedwell Elementary School 1

Posted October 05, 2013
- a parent
Lots of bullying and the school does not enforce. Academics are just ok. A very large school, not nurturing at all. I've seen lots of yelling

Bedwell Elementary School 4

Posted May 15, 2013
- a parent
Bedwell Elementary has small class size and excellent, experienced teachers who are kind and friendly. Kids with learning differences or non-native speakers of English are integrated into the regular classrooms and have lots of support at school (OT, speech, ESL, PT, Reading Recovery, etc.). There are no foreign languages (major missed opportunity) and very little recess and gym. There is way too much focus on test preparation. Parents are not involved in the classroom after first grade. The academic quality is excellent, particularly in math and science. Writing instruction begins early and is well-developed. There are "specials" in technology, music, enrichment (e.g., gifted), library and art. The parent teacher association is active and well-organized, albeit a bit of a clique. The student body is not diverse (a reflection of the three towns in the district). All in all the education is better at Bedwell than many of the area's private elementary schools. We have two kids there and are satisfied with the quality of instruction and commitment of the teachers and administration.


Bedwell Elementary School 1

Posted March 19, 2013
- a parent
My child went to Bedwell after leaving a private preschool and I was so disappointed. The curriculum for kindergarten could not compare to what my child had already learned. It was a giant step backwards and I would not recommend this oversized school to any parent whose child is advanced.

Bedwell Elementary School 4

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
I have had 3 children at Bedwell and happy with their education and quality of the teachers. The kids have had good academic and social experiences in the school and like any larger school, you need to communicate with the teachers and be engaged to make it the best possible for your kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bedwell Elementary School
141 Seney Drive, Bernardsville, NJ  07924
(908) 204-1920
Last modified Bedwell Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bedwell Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top