Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Charles W. Lewis Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 21 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 29, 2013

i think my school cwlewis is one of the best school's i have ever went to i wish i chould go back just for one more day to see all my wonderful teachers P.s the one and only Z. Washington


Posted August 13, 2009

Charles W. Lewis is a great school. All the teachers are great and the principals are also wonderful. It is just a wonderful school in general. They have all kinds of after school activities. Sports and more. I couldn't ask for a better school. I think that any new student will feel very welcomed. The teachers along with the students will greet you very warmly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2009

As a student i think this is the best school ever, now that I moved i really miss that school. The teacher are really nice and kind.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2009

My experiences in this school made middle school the worst three years of my life!The discipline of the students is horrendous!A lot of kids were teased unmercifully.and when they told about it they were turned away or sent to the child study team!The curriculum along with the teachers are soo outdated.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2009

I think this school is wonderful - my daughter was a new student this year from Catholic school and I was very nervous about the transition. However, she has far exceeded my expectations with great report cards, involvement in school activities and has fantastic teachers. I am so glad she decided to switch schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2009

As a teacher at Lewis School, I am proud to say that the staff is second to none, always willing to help the students whenever possible. We have a lot of great programs and extra-curricular activities offered so all students have an opportunity to find a club that interests them. I am a sole believer that you get as much out of the school that you put into it and we have many students who excel academically and balance their time among several clubs throughout the year - making it a great school! It is not an unsafe by any means. CW Lewis is and always will be a school dedicated to offering a positive and nurturing environment for the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 17, 2009

This has to be the worst school my child has ever had to attend. She has had some good teachers- and some horrible teachers. The office isn't any better. I would not recommend sending your child to this school. I regret moving to this area- and regret having to place my child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

i am a student at c.w.l i love the school! it has so many activites to do that are so much fun! the teachers are very nice and helping. if you move to gloucester township, send your childer(children) here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2006

I'm a former student and I had a good experience at this school. I found most of the teachers to be caring, and Mrs. Shockley (Georgianna) was the best guidance counselor!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 23, 2005

The vice principal only acts when the situation gets to a crisis level, and results are mediocre at best. If you're considering a move to Gloucester Township and have a child that would end up at Lewis, take my advice: RUN! Spend your tax dollars where your children will get an education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2005

I have had several children in this school over a recent 5-year period. The quality of the teachers is above average. Student discipline had been excellent at this school until a few years ago, an excellent vice-principal left, and replaced with one that is too lenient. I do not like the principal who likes to micromanage the entire school. The music program here is excellent, especially the band teacher, who is one of the finest in South Jersey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

My son is in the 6th grade at Lewis school and he's been very successful academically, and I attribute that, in part, to good teachers. There is a lot of support...I think the principal and vice principals do a good job too. There are big, big problems socially at this school. My son has been strangled by one student - who eventually transferred out. Lots of bullying at Lewis - despite a stringent effort to call the kids' attention to it. Good after-school programs and a very focused staff of counselors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My daughter is in the 7th grade this year and unfortunately my views of the school aren't the greatest in all areas. The principal and vice principals do a great job. The teachers, on the other hand, leave some things to be desired. My daughter has come home with work marked incorrect, but her answers are correct (on more than just one or two occasions). She has a language teacher that told the class that ebonics is a language and it is not slang. Maybe I'm just more concerned with the way my children present themselves when speaking. I understand kids will use slang, but I don't understand why a language teacher would not correct it, much less, encourage it. I've also attended parent/teacher conferences where I was told that my daughter is doing very well in the class yet her report card showed a very low grade. The extracurricular activities are great at Lewis. It seems that no matter what your interests are, there's something for you to get involved in. I appreciate the fact that whenever I visit the school, I'm approched as soon as I enter the doors and directed to the main office. I feel that my daughter is safe when she's there. Overall, Lewis is a great middle school. I think the problem lies with a few select teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

My son is in 8th grade now and really enjoys Lewis. I feel the teachers and principals are very open and easy to get a hold of with any concerns you may have. I've seen a big difference in my son since attending Lewis. He started off a bit shy and is now involved in many activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students57%
Female59%
Male55%
Black44%
Asian76%
Hispanic41%
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Special education24%
General education65%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant57%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students76%
Female81%
Male70%
Black66%
Asian91%
Hispanic72%
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Special education41%
General education85%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant76%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students55%
Female60%
Male50%
Black50%
Asian70%
Hispanic39%
White60%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Special educationn/a
General education64%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant55%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students51%
Female52%
Male50%
Black34%
Asian54%
Hispanic62%
White56%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Special education17%
General education58%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant51%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students76%
Female76%
Male75%
Black70%
Asian87%
Hispanic62%
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Special education28%
General education87%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant76%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students60%
Female59%
Male61%
Black42%
Asian67%
Hispanic52%
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Special educationn/a
General education73%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant60%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students68%
Female64%
Male74%
Black58%
Asian67%
Hispanic69%
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Special education23%
General education78%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant68%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 51%
Black 28% 16%
Hispanic 10% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 9%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

875 Erial Road
Blackwood, NJ 08012
Phone: (856) 227-8400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Judes Annex
Blackwood, NJ


Our Lady Of Hope Regional School
Gloucester Township, NJ


St. Agnes School
Blackwood, NJ




Bethany Baptist Christian School
Deptford Township, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT