Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bloomfield Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 917 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

I am a parent that my daughter attended this school. I am Honored to say that Bloomfield middle school is a great place to learn. My daughters grade was outstanding with A's and B's but mostly A's. she enjoyed this school as well as her Teachers, they all dedicated them selfs very well. The teachers should be very proud of themselves and the office administration should as well. As a parent I would like to take this time and say Thank You and continue to dedicate to your new students they are our Future for the years to come. Sincerely, Robert Krupinski
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

I am amazed at the number of students every marking quarter who are placed on the honor roll. More than 50 % of the students earn a place on the high honor or honor roll; how is that possible given their performance on national testing and certainly the performance on the SAT is lacking when they reach the high school. It appears that A's and B's are given very freely to keep everyone happy. The school is not doing anyone any favors by making academic life easy for the students and fooling parents into believing their child is performing at a level that may not be true.


Posted July 22, 2013

ESL classes so GOOD! friendly atmosphere in the classroom, the teachers are great. My daughter loved it! Thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

The curriculum at BMS is aimed squarely at the lower middle. If your child is advanced, he/she will be BORED. There is no differentiated instruction. Kids that "get it" just have to wait for everyone else in the class to catch up. The Gifted & Talented program for advanced students meets for only one period every other day. It is not nearly enough to prepare these kids for the advanced honors classes at the high school. The attitude of the administration is "your child is smart, he/she will do fine" in high school. At least 2 days per week my child has NO homework at all. Additionally, the communication is terrible and the website is awful. Emails and voice mails to staff are not returned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

bloomfield middle school has what it takes to provide a safe and inspirational environment for a great education. The staff is great and the administration is very serious. Principal leadership is the best. The school may be a little old but the staff is fresh and armed with new ideas to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent, This is a great school. Way to go.........Students, teachers, and principal you are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

My son graduated last year from BMS and enjoyed his time there. My daughters are going to the school next year. I would love to see the middle school bring back sports for 7th and 8th graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

my daughter is in her first year at bloomfield middle school and so far she has done very well, she loves all her teachers for the most part and really has no negative feelings.. she got 11 A'S on her report card so we are proud for sure!!!!!!!!!!!!.. I don't know of any school without issues and I do hope if any issues arrise in the future they will be addressed... the staff seem very nice and seem to run a tight ship. If a locker is the biggest problem in the school , we should be happy!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

cause there teachers make learning fun its also a very big heartwarming school
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2009

As a teacher in this school since it's inception, it has never been better. Morale is at an all time high, staff and students are greeted by administration every morning with a smile and hello, which starts the day on the right foot. My colleagues are overworked but that has never changed. The children are being held directly responsible, as are their parents. That's a welcome change. I must agree with all the student posts here, that the lockers are an eyesore, an embarrassment and simply don't work! The H and S had done an amazing job in replacing the original 60 year old auditorium seats. Maybe the BOE should step up and replace the lockers?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

i think that this school is the best school my daughter has ever been in
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

Being at the Bloomfield Middle School has taught me a lot. It's taught me to be more responsible. What I don't like about my bms is that we don't have showers in the locker rooms... my locker [in general] seems to be fine. Maybe thats because I'm in the newer wing. Our new principle is so nice and is very motivating. Especially considering with finals coming up next week. Mr. B isn't even that bad as everyone thinks he is. All he is trying to do is making us face what the real world is. I will always remember this school and remember how much it has taught me to be a lot more responsible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2009

On Thursday, Mr. G. got David Tyree of the Giants to talk to us about being successful. It was a lot of fun and he was cool. He really encouraged us to do better every day. BMS is s great school except for the lockers! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2009

Im a student at BMS and I think the school is amazing. The principal, Mr.G is awesome. Everyone likes him. He made a lot of good changes. Mr.B, the vice principal, is cool too. The only problem would be the old lockers but over all the teachers are really nice and the students are nice too. I really like the school
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2009

My daughter seems for the most part to like all of her teachers. She is getting good grades A's and B's . The things she has not been happy with are the Crowding, the jammed and broken lockers, and yes it was a project getting it fixed she went most of the school year with a broken one. The unhealthy school lunches, and more importantly the fact that it is a 2 year school and she hasn't been able to get extra curricular activities like choir during the school day and nothing sports wise which she could participate in after school. Thats upsetting even after calls to her counselor we were told it was too late. The school has its pluses and minues. I like the idea of 2 teachers in a classroom so the students can get more help. Main problem Over Crowded!@! Bloomfield needs another middle school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2009

The middle school is all and all okay. With the new principal and scheduling things were kinda messed up in the beginning of the year. The older lockers tend to cave in and sometimes don't open. its hard to find a janitor when you need one. The school nurses aren't very kind when you have a problem. In the summer it gets super hot and uncomfortable in the classrooms due to no air conditioning. Some windows don't even open. Some of the teachers aren't very good at controlling the classes and overall: teaching. zi hope future students like it more then i do, and thats all i can say.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2008

There seems to be a lack of overall communication between the teachers and administrators. My child is an excellent student but was denied honors classes because she fell short of the 250 mark on the NJASK test. Yet her math average was well above the 100% mark. We were told even though she was completely bored in her regular class that the school didn't want to let her try the honors class for fear she would fail. So basically, she was discouraged from trying harder. Eventually, after a montha nad a half of pushing, my husband and I got her into the honors math class. Now my child tells me it's no different than her regular math class. I'm very disappointed with the school. It's sad because I grew up in this town and went to the same school and it was wonderful back in the mid-1980's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

I come to this school and it's horrible.' The classes are packed, loud, and many teachers can't get control of the class. My spanish class at the beginning of the year had 50 kids in it, some one messed up there, and i didn't start doing work until two weeks later. Two weeks worth of period 7, wasted. Also my locker is always getting jammed, and I can never find a janitor.This school has the same lockers as when my dad came here. The teachers are insane, and so are the kids. It's extremely hot and most classes have no air condition. Everything about this schoolis horrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2008

I've been a teacher at BMS for many years. There are problems inherent in any building with 1,000 adolescents, but my experience is that the very vast majority of students are wonderful as is the staff. It's easy to criticize. I'd love to see some parents and students post here who had positive experiences. I hear about them all the time.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2008

Bloomfield Middle School has a very diverse population. Children with involved parents will do just fine there. My two daughters went through the school and had very positive experiences. I'd put them up against any kids from any of the surrounding communities, regardless of their economic status. They have had wide exposure to many different cultures and are very independent. Bloomfield has many locals who can't bear the fact that the population is changing. They are frighten of people who are not just like them. They are not doing their kids any favors by perpetuating that fear.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

449 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

449 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

449 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students62%
Female68%
Male56%
Black53%
Asian79%
Hispanic59%
White69%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Special education18%
General education73%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant62%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former47%
Limited English Proficient Former55%

Math

All Students63%
Female66%
Male60%
Black56%
Asian71%
Hispanic56%
White75%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Special education21%
General education73%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant63%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former47%
Limited English Proficient Former46%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students80%
Female87%
Male73%
Black75%
Asian94%
Hispanic77%
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Special education42%
General education88%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant80%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students65%
Female64%
Male65%
Black56%
Asian91%
Hispanic59%
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Special education21%
General education74%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant65%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students77%
Female75%
Male79%
Black67%
Asian94%
Hispanic75%
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Special education36%
General education85%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant77%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 33% 22%
White 30% 52%
Black 26% 16%
Asian 9% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Sal Goncalves

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

60 Huck Road
Bloomfield, NJ 07003
Phone: (973) 680-8620

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Forest Glen School
Bloomfield, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT