Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6 & Ungraded
Public district
Bloomfield, NJ
Students enrolled: 402
 

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Berkeley Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a community member
My brother is currently attending this school and is loving it comapered to this other school in Glen Ridge.

Berkeley Elementary School 4

Posted September 26, 2010
- a parent
My son is currently in the second grade. He has been in Berkely school since kindergarden. Our experience with the teachers have been great. My son has ADHD. And we have had some difficult times through out the past two years. However, his teachers have been very supportive and understanding. He scored a 3 out of 3 for language skills and a 2 out of 3 for math. The problem i see is that not enough parents are involved. I am not part of the home and parent association and i do not dedicate time to the school; however, i do dedicate time to my son and his education.


Berkeley Elementary School 5

Posted July 24, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Berkeley Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2009
- a parent
My children are doing very well! They are above average. The seceret is parent involvement and teacher support.

Berkeley Elementary School 3

Posted December 21, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Berkeley Elementary School 3

Posted October 14, 2008
- a parent
Like any public school there are some really great teachers and some so-so teachers. My daughter has had a bit of a mixed experience at Berkeley. Overall, it's an adequate school, she scored very well on the NJ State ASK test, whatever she learned in grades 2-4 prepared her for it well enough. The administration is generally helpful (we've dealt with the Child Study team on a regular basis due to our daughter's ADD) if a bit disorganized at times. Important paperwork has been misplaced on a few occasions, etc. I don't want to say too many bad things about Berkeley, since everyone there seems to have a good heart and wants the children to do well and I have seen some improvement over the years.

Berkeley Elementary School 3

Posted August 27, 2008
- a parent
I honestly beleive that the Principal in this school is very good. She seems to be on top of everything and is trying her best to address the issues in the school. You are correct in reference to the issues with theft but those issues need to also be addressed by the parents of the children not only the school itself. in reference to parents involvement unfortunatly not every parent has a 9-5 job or can take time off in order to attend those meetings. My daughter is very happy in this school and as a working parent my only issue is that they dont provide after school programs.

Berkeley Elementary School 1

Posted January 10, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Berkeley Elementary School 2

Posted April 10, 2007
- a parent
The principal leadership is horrible. There are no extracurricular activities. There is slim to none parent involvement as well as teachers being involved with the PTA. They need to get a handle on the constant theft issues this year. It is as if the children that attend this school have no positive direction which is definitely needed for these young minds to grow. I am very disappointed with performance of this school for the past 2 years.

Berkeley Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Berkeley Elementary School
351 Bloomfield Ave, Bloomfield, NJ  07003
(973) 680-8540
Last modified Berkeley Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Berkeley Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top