Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Thomas the Apostle School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bloomfield

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $239,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,360.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2014

St. Thomas is a great alternative to Bloomfield Public schools. Unlike public schools, there is no mandate to follow the Common Core standards. The teachers are free to teach the ways they know best. All the teachers are there because they love teaching- not due to their public school salaries or pensions. This school has a strong community feeling. Opportunities for after school activities and sports are plentiful which produces well-rounded students. The students have a sense of pride attending STA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2014

Top priority was not all about academics. Sports and fundraising and fundraising - definite yes. You have some good teachers but many can use more training. Decent amount of extra curricular activities, may be important to some.


Posted November 4, 2013

Not worth the money. Teachers and academics are so-so. They put emphasis on sports though ... so if that's what you want, this is for you. Disappointed.


Posted June 8, 2009

My children love St. Thomas. They have made friends and the school has taught them not only academics but how to be caring and compassionate as well. Its a small welcoming community and everyone at the school know my kids' names.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

I love STA. It is the best school! I think everyone is nice and great to people. Some people say that STA is a horrible place to send your children, but your very wrong. St.Thomas the Apostle School is the best with great teachers, staff and a great principal!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2008

STA is a great school, my son loves going to STA and thanks me everyday for sending him to STA. He has made wonderful friends and I also have made great friends. He is doing excellent in all is classes. His teachers are well-educated and amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

I thought St. Thomas was horrible for my girls. The children aren't nice and the teachers aren't well-educated. They can't control the room sometimes. My daughter just graduated and I am so happy she is out of there. The only teacher I liked was Taya Semple because she was wonderful. Now that she has left, STA needs to get themselves together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2007

The teachers are loving, caring and are there for any help you need. The building itself is great, with a nice, air conditioned library and a synergistics lab, and the lunch is pretty good most of the time too! The only thing I have against the school is that it can get very cliquey, but everyone can find themselves great friends here, no matter what! I'm proud to say that I graduated from this school! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2007

st. thomas the apostle school is an amazing school and anyone who attends is lucky to do so. this school has taught me many things and the teachers are phinominal. dispite what anyone thinks about sta the school is a safe, loving and caring place to be. take my word for it, i was once a student there and i love it and visit it still..i will never lose my respect for this school or anyone in it. i love sta......love alexia sicignano
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 21, 2007

My son entered St. Thomas last year when he was in 1st grade. This school has been a saving grace and blessing for him and us. He has some challenging learning disabilities that qualify him for some extra support by the Resource Room Instructor. In addition, he has had two teachers now who truly are partners with that Resource Room Teacher and of course, my husband and me. Our son adores this school, and not only has he soared academically, but spiritually as well. We could NEVER go back to public schools, and look forward to our 3 year old entering Pre K at St. Thomas next year. LAURIE ROEMMELE-ROBERTS, Ph.D.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2005

I thought my son got a good education here but they did not have as many different classes offered compared to public school. My main reason for taking my son out of this school was that they have a cell phone tower in the church steeple that alot of parents are not aware of.The church denies it but I contacted the Bloomfield Tax Dept.and the towers are in operation and they have not been removed. There were to many cliques and favoritism by some of the teachers that i felt was unfair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2004

I absolutely loved going to this school. It was the best time of my life. I wish I didn't have to move and miss the last two years of it, but I did. I really liked all of the students and staff. It is just a generally cool place.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 8, 2004

St Thomas used to be a wonderful place for children to grow both academically and spiritually, originality and diviserty was encouraged. Children where taught to reach for the stars and that anything was possible. The very things that attracted parents have been lost over the past 2 years. Fantastic teachers have left. The focus is no longer to cultivate, to nurture, or to foster an environment were families are treated fairly and with respect, but an environment where favoritism and cliques have taken precedence. Education and spiritually has taken a back seat to politics , favoritism, cliques and staff that is allowed to belittle children and show disrespect to the very people who keep them employed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2004

Two of my children graduated from STA and had a wonderful experience. Both received a solid academic base which prepared them well for highschool. The moral & spiritual support was outstanding. My youngest has 2 more years to go and has done very well so far. However, changes in the past 2 years have been noticeable, especially in the quality of faculty. The really great teachers have gone, with about 3 great ones remaining. Many of the teachers now are parents of current students and this has changed the atmosphere completely. Too many cliques, favoritism,etc. The parents are still very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

St Thomas is a school that deals with problems parents and children face in this toxic culture. They teach children academics, values, compassion and how to be successful in the world. Families get support from the Principal and the Staff. The school has received middle states accredidation and discusses problems with children like bullying, peer pressure and caring for others and oneself.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 52%
Hispanic 13% 20%
Asian 9% 8%
Black 6% 19%
Two or more races 6% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Newark
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

50 Byrd Ave
Bloomfield, NJ 07003
Phone: (973) 338-8505

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT