Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bradley Gardens Elementary School

Public | K-4 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2012

My child had attended Bradley Gradens before she was moved to Adamsville. What a difference! Bradley Gardens has great teachers and the principal is AMAZING. She is a teacher first and then a school's manager. Students have great tests scores and - what I love as a parent - teachers and staff know all students personally. You are lucky is your child goes to Bradley Gardens!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

My son goes to this school. Teachers are great. They care every individual student. Very impressed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

My son is in 3rd grade and my daughter just graduated from there and my oldest daughter was at BGS 2 years ago! They all love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2006

My older daughter attended BGS for 4 years and my younger one has been there for 2 years. I'm very happy with the school. I've found the administration and teachers very helpful, warm and caring towards the students. I like the philosophy of the school that focuses on childhood not being a race but a journey. The school does a great job academically with the children but also allows the kids to be kids. The parents are also very involved with the school and the PTO does a great job with all the activities that they run.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted September 22, 2006

I am very happy with this school! I have a son who is in his fifth year here and a son who just started kindergarten. I have always found the teachers and staff to be friendly and helpful. Always willing to go the extra mile. I believe that we have the most dedicated teachers in the district, they really care about our children. Although I am sad that my older boy will be leaving next year, I'm looking forward to the four years after that with my youngest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

This is the second year my son has attended BGS. I have been very impressed with the teacher quality and parent involvement at the school. He is exposed to music, art, writer's workshops and a library book club. It seems to be a very enriching environment. As a working parent, I am very pleased that beginning Jan 3, 2006 we now have a before-school program for the kids. While its difficult to ascertain a spot, there is also after-care available for the children. Both of these programs are very reasonable and my son really seems to enjoy both. We have an active PTO and they plan fun extracurricular activities for kids and families.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students79%
Female89%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asian88%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Special educationn/a
General education88%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant79%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students93%
Female97%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian94%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
General education98%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant93%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students72%
Female79%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Special educationn/a
General education79%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant72%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students88%
Female94%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
General education94%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant88%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
White98%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
General education96%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant97%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 22% 9%
Hispanic 6% 22%
Black 1% 16%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

148 Pine Street
Bridgewater, NJ 08807
Phone: (908) 725-8444

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Milltown School
Bridgewater, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT