Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Aaron Decker Elementary School 4

Posted June 21, 2016
- a parent
Great school, staff, teachers are welcoming, warm. My kids are doing awesome. Love all the fun activities and spirit weeks. Great small town school

Aaron Decker Elementary School 1

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
If you are not 2nd, 3rd etc. generation you are not a so called "Butlerite" and do not fit in with the cliques, it even goes for some of the teachers, especially the principal. If you are not one of her "favorites" your child will not get the help she or he needs because they will be denied an evaluation through the Child Study Team. She makes it very difficult and you child is the one that suffers. What a shame! No concern for the children at all!


Aaron Decker Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
Custodians do great work and never get the attention they deserve. Great job custodians!! WE appreciate you!

Aaron Decker Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
It all depends on what teachers you are talking about. There are some very good teachers there but there are some teachers that do not listen to parents concerns. Overall dissatisfaction with Aaron Decker School.

Aaron Decker Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
Children were told that "homework comes first before anything else." What kind of thing is that to say to a child? A child needs to have a social life in order for them to develop and grow. What a disgrace! Sometimes children would be doing homework for hours, and this is a K-4 school.


Aaron Decker Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
If teachers don't show respect to students, how can they expect students to show respect back?

Aaron Decker Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
Principal has favorite families and children are the ones that suffer. Some teachers don't listen to concerns of children / families.

Aaron Decker Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2014
- a parent
my school is the best. my child is in kindergarden and his teacher he just loved and talked about her the whole time we walked home from the bus stop. he actually cried when he had to miss school for a day due to sickness. he enjoys not only his classmates and the teacher assistant but raves about the staff espically the awesome, kind experienced principal Scala. i also feel so comfortable, no worries, and excited every day when he attends class.


Aaron Decker Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
My sons have attended Aaron Decker for the past three years and have been so happy there. Everyone we've interacted with--teachers, office staff, bus drivers--has been wonderful. I'm especially impressed by how much my children are learning in math, reading and writing. We have also loved participating in jog walk, Bouncing Bulldogs, a recorder ensemble and the track program--all free of charge. I am so glad my children get to go to school in such a nurturing positive community. I whole-heartedly recommend Aaron Decker!

Aaron Decker Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2013
- a parent
We have moved to Butler NJ and my son has just recently transferred to Aaron Decker from another school in Morris County NJ. He is also has an IEP/Special Needs and attends preschool. I could not be happier with Aaron Decker. His teachers are wonderful and he has settled in so Nicely. I also have an open line of communication with his main teacher and I think she is wonderful!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Aaron Decker Elementary School
98 Decker Rd, Butler, NJ  07405
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (973) 492-2037
Last modified Aaron Decker Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top