Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Saint Dominic Academy

Private | 9-12 | 85 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Caldwell

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $450,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2014

the mount... a school where girls can be girls. no male distractions... not even a young male teacher. majority of the teachers know how to work with the students and are willing to stay after school to help. The mount is very welcoming to everyone. girls can make friend very easy. sports are a good way to make new friends, along with clubs and activities. alot of girls are leaving but alot are staying. even though the tuition is high and keeps raising girls keep coming back. The mount is flexible to financial aid. i love this school(...99% of the time)! go here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2013

The Mount is a very good school. I have a high-achieving daughter and have been very happy with the academics and rate them much better than the public school she attended. They are adding an AP Chem for next year so the academics are stronger than ever. Athletes, clubbers and creative types can all find their places at the school. I have found the faculty to be responsive when problems occur (which has been very rare for us). My daughter loves the relaxed attitude among the girls and has even found wearing a uniform to be liberating. The majority of my daughter's teachers have been good to excellent. There are a small few teachers who really do need replacing as they do not seem to be able to deliver a well-structured course but this number is far fewer than you might find at other schools. I would highly recommend the Mount to anyone who wants to go to a safe and happy school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2012

Pros 1. No drug culture. Go to this school and you won't be exposed to drugs 2. Strong athletics 3. Clubs are very inclusive and a great way to make friends 4. Very strong math. I recommend taking one summer course so you can take AP Calc by senior year 5. Strong history. Most kids make a 4 or 5 on APUSH exam and a lot of choices in senior year 6. Strong theatre. Current director is very committed, 2012 musical was a success. Theatre is also inclusive 7. Strong English. Offers 2 AP classes, one for sophomores and one for seniors. You will come out of this school knowing how to write an essay Cons 1. Some favoritism towards athletes. Sadly this sometimes affects who gets put into Honors or AP classes. Definitely pays to suck up a little 2. Bad visual arts. If you are really into visual arts and would die in a school without it, don't come here 3. Science isn't so strong, due to some bad science teachers 4. There are some really bad teachers. Not the majority, not as much as at a public school, but enough to be a definite blemish on the school I love this school so much. I've made many friends here. Some have problems w/ it. Read the list above and decide for yourself
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2011

This school is awesome. The negative reviews here are by parents of poor perfoming students, who would be losers at any school. This school had a student accepted into Governors School for the Sciences this year, no other girls school within 25 mile accomplished that. The only other girls school in northern NJ to have had a student accepted was Holy Angels in Cresskill. 5 year national average for students getting a 5 on the AP bio exam, 17%, this school is over 50%. Awesome. The head of school is marvelous, the parent here who is complaining about her and mentioning tuition shows their true colors. If you think a college with a $15,000 tuition is comparable, you need to send your child to vocational school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

My daughter is a student at Mount Saint Dominic. She is having a fabulous experience. Small classes, caring teachers and a very challenging academic environment is a great combination. The Aquinas Honors Program is very challenging and she is seeing great results. The environment is excellent for fostering learning and growing. She has made great friends. Having to go back and make the decision again- I would 100% make the same decision. Between the faculty, staff, programs, and the environment- it is a home run. If you are looking for a private school education in a fostering environment- this is the place to be. Small classes, challenging course load, opportunities to excel through summer courses, all in a setting where young woman can be comfortable with themselves and be empowered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2011

This is a very out standing school. My daughter loves it. She has made many new friends and has done well academically .It was one of the best decisions we made about her education. I find most teachers are fair and the principal is a very strong leader. The challenging academic environment at the Mount may not be for every one but it certainly was right for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2011

Top notch academic honors program. They encourage my daughter to excel, and she does. They recognize potential, and through loving encouragement, the young women really work to their highest abilities. They also excel in athletics. Each student is expected to go to college, and there's a wondeful guidance dept to make sure the child will be on the best road in that direction. Moral teaching in this day and age are a blessing. We are so pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2010

My child is a student at MSDA and she loves it. Her classmates love it too. This school is known in the area for years and years of academic excellence. Look at where the graduates are going to college, and you will be impressed. They expect each child to go to college, and they do. There are white boards in some classes. My daughter has swept the floor of her homeroom once in two months. The children won't be dropping trash around! The principal is professional, kind, and easily accessible. I just don't understand where this negativity comes from. This school is a special place and I am quite happy that may daughter is able to go there. I would highly recommend this school to anyone, if they can get in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

principal is extremely unfriendly and cold. the guidance counselors are not qualified in any way. it is evident throughout the day that most students don't like the school. old fashioned to the point that students are expected to clean the floor and chalkboards. lack of technology and modern supplies (they don't even have white boards). very strict, everyone is constantly getting detentions for no good reason. many teachers aren't qualified. most academic opportunities aren't available to everyone, as per the decision of the 'academic deans' who are ignorant. don't waste your money or time. try the academy of st. elizabeth. i transferred there and i've made tons of friends, do great academically and really enjoy being there. i'm not the only transfer they've gotten from the mount either. it's a much friendlier and better environment, do yourself or your daughter a favor.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2010

I am considering sending my daughter to the Mount.She will be an incoming Sophomore. After reading all of the post I am more confused than ever. HELPPPPP :(


Posted April 26, 2010

MSDA slogan is empowering young women. But how can our daughters be empower if they are not given the chance to be empowered. My daughter started all CP's classes and her average at the end of the year was a 95 but MSDA wouldn't let her move up to honors but other girls who had an average of 90 got to move up. The guidance counselors are horrible, they tell our daughters that they have no hope for the future other than going to a community college Don't they know that their tuition is more expensive than some college tuitions. Beside have an expensive tuition they don't give you much financial aid help. That school is the worst investment any parent can make.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

The Mount is an outstanding high school. The teachers are all very good and many are great. They seem to genuinely care about their students. Classes are small in size, but they seem to have all the resources they need. The seniors all go on to college and to good schools, often with some pretty big scholarships. I've met many of the other parents and they are really nice, too. This is the best thing we've ever done for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Not coming from a catholic background, I didn't know what to expect and an all girl school on top of that, we we're sure. My daughter is a freshman and I can't say enough about the school. The teachers are amazing. Caring and understanding. The academics are everything I was looking for and more. Plenty of sports, but if your daughter isn't into it like mine, their Arts Program is unbelievable. Acting, dancing, singing, in addition to the clubs, newspaper, magazine, etc. etc. We didn't know anyone coming in and we both have been treated like old friends. We are looking forward to these next four years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2009

Some teachers are good and others are down right unfair. Students are held responsible if they do not understand material ESPECIALLY in math courses. After school tutoring is treated as a burden for a teacher and it makes the student feel uncomfortable to ask for extra help. I would have to say the math program, freshman year, was a joke. I graduated from the mount and i can recall finding myself CRYING over my math grade. My parents had to pays hundreds of dollars for a tutor just so i can get a C+ in math! I didn't like most of the faculty. Detention slips are handed out like there's no tomorrow. IT'S CRAZY. The only thing I liked about the Mount was Homeroom and the student body, we became really close, like a family. And there was no help from teachers or anything there. MSDA NEEDS BETTER FACULTY.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2009

My daughter recently graduated as a Bloustein scholar after 3 great years at the Mount. Unfortuatnely the 4th and last year revealed an unprofessional side I had not expected. There is a great deal of tunnel vision and a vapid lack of responsibility. This is evidenced by lack of return phone calls and ignoring of email directed to the appropriate dean. Dealing directly with a difficult situation proves to be an impossiblity. Action is rarely taken. Unfortuantley the last year left us so disheartened we tend to forget some of the truly great teachers. Academics are good, not great, but certainly worth considering if economics are a factor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2008

Mount Saint Dominic is a wonderful school. It provides a nice, SAFE learning enviornment filled with hard-working teachers. The girls that graduate go on to attend some of the finest colleges in america. Not only are the academics phenomenal, the mount has a great athletic program. Also, the mount has a varitey of extracurricular activities. Although, it is said that the mount is run like a catholic school in the 1950-1960's what did you expect when applying to the mount?? The mount has a strong and suitable disciplinary system. They are tough but FAIR. The mount is a great school and you should consider sending your daughters here.


Posted June 3, 2008

The higher administation runs the school like catholic schools were run in the 1950-1960 era. They are never wrong and never accept blame for errors, instead blaming students or parents. The attitude message is one that says that they are the only school in essex county that is both safe and educational.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

As a graduate of the Mount, I could not have asked for a more incredible 4 years. In response to the whining of some parents - face it your daughters are in a competitive school. Sports - the best are needed to be at the top which is exactly where we are for the sports mentioned, basketball and softball. Academically, our girls are incredibly prepared for college and grad schools and help is always there if you choose to accept it. And as far as college planning - no other school offers the quality and quantity of our programs - but you have to want to take advantage. I urge parents and students considering the Mount to believe from an incredibly proud alum that it is truly a wonderful place to grow and learn - truly an extended family that will always be there for you. - Mountie for life <3
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

I am a graduate of the Mount and it was one of the best experiences of my life. The teachers really care and want all students to excell. And if you are an AP student they will do everything in their power to make sure that you get 5s on all of the exams, even if it means they give up parts of their weekends or stay late.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2006

Am sorely disappointed with the Mount. The faculty is apathetic especially where extra help or tutoring is concerened. In a school that prides itself on empowering young women, all they have done is frustrated and drove mine to tears. Administration blames the student or parent for a substandard grade, and reccomends hiring an outside tutor in a weak subject...all of this for about 15k a year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 51%
Black 7% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 9%
Hispanic 5% 22%
Two or more races 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Newark
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3 Ryerson Avenue
Caldwell, NJ 07006
Phone: (973) 226-0660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


James Caldwell High School
West Caldwell, NJ



West Orange High School
West Orange, NJ



Washington Academy
Cedar Grove, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT