Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


32 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mount Saint Dominic Academy 1

Posted October 12, 2014
- a community member
Mount Saint Dominic Academy Caldwell, NJ...........Beware. This school may be a great school for girls, but just make sure you do exactly what they tell you or want you to do. The principal and Athletic Director can be vindictive, non-Christian, and destructive and will use every possible form of litigation to destroy children. I would think twice before ever sending my child to be educated by such people.

Mount Saint Dominic Academy 3

Posted August 13, 2014
- a student
the mount... a school where girls can be girls. no male distractions... not even a young male teacher. majority of the teachers know how to work with the students and are willing to stay after school to help. The mount is very welcoming to everyone. girls can make friend very easy. sports are a good way to make new friends, along with clubs and activities. alot of girls are leaving but alot are staying. even though the tuition is high and keeps raising girls keep coming back. The mount is flexible to financial aid. i love this school(...99% of the time)! go here!


Mount Saint Dominic Academy 4

Posted May 15, 2013
- a parent
The Mount is a very good school. I have a high-achieving daughter and have been very happy with the academics and rate them much better than the public school she attended. They are adding an AP Chem for next year so the academics are stronger than ever. Athletes, clubbers and creative types can all find their places at the school. I have found the faculty to be responsive when problems occur (which has been very rare for us). My daughter loves the relaxed attitude among the girls and has even found wearing a uniform to be liberating. The majority of my daughter's teachers have been good to excellent. There are a small few teachers who really do need replacing as they do not seem to be able to deliver a well-structured course but this number is far fewer than you might find at other schools. I would highly recommend the Mount to anyone who wants to go to a safe and happy school.

Mount Saint Dominic Academy 4

Posted October 06, 2012
- a student
Pros 1. No drug culture. Go to this school and you won't be exposed to drugs 2. Strong athletics 3. Clubs are very inclusive and a great way to make friends 4. Very strong math. I recommend taking one summer course so you can take AP Calc by senior year 5. Strong history. Most kids make a 4 or 5 on APUSH exam and a lot of choices in senior year 6. Strong theatre. Current director is very committed, 2012 musical was a success. Theatre is also inclusive 7. Strong English. Offers 2 AP classes, one for sophomores and one for seniors. You will come out of this school knowing how to write an essay Cons 1. Some favoritism towards athletes. Sadly this sometimes affects who gets put into Honors or AP classes. Definitely pays to suck up a little 2. Bad visual arts. If you are really into visual arts and would die in a school without it, don't come here 3. Science isn't so strong, due to some bad science teachers 4. There are some really bad teachers. Not the majority, not as much as at a public school, but enough to be a definite blemish on the school I love this school so much. I've made many friends here. Some have problems w/ it. Read the list above and decide for yourself

Mount Saint Dominic Academy 5

Posted September 14, 2011
- a parent
This school is awesome. The negative reviews here are by parents of poor perfoming students, who would be losers at any school. This school had a student accepted into Governors School for the Sciences this year, no other girls school within 25 mile accomplished that. The only other girls school in northern NJ to have had a student accepted was Holy Angels in Cresskill. 5 year national average for students getting a 5 on the AP bio exam, 17%, this school is over 50%. Awesome. The head of school is marvelous, the parent here who is complaining about her and mentioning tuition shows their true colors. If you think a college with a $15,000 tuition is comparable, you need to send your child to vocational school.


Mount Saint Dominic Academy 5

Posted February 16, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is a student at Mount Saint Dominic. She is having a fabulous experience. Small classes, caring teachers and a very challenging academic environment is a great combination. The Aquinas Honors Program is very challenging and she is seeing great results. The environment is excellent for fostering learning and growing. She has made great friends. Having to go back and make the decision again- I would 100% make the same decision. Between the faculty, staff, programs, and the environment- it is a home run. If you are looking for a private school education in a fostering environment- this is the place to be. Small classes, challenging course load, opportunities to excel through summer courses, all in a setting where young woman can be comfortable with themselves and be empowered.

Mount Saint Dominic Academy 5

Posted February 10, 2011
- a parent
This is a very out standing school. My daughter loves it. She has made many new friends and has done well academically .It was one of the best decisions we made about her education. I find most teachers are fair and the principal is a very strong leader. The challenging academic environment at the Mount may not be for every one but it certainly was right for my daughter.

Mount Saint Dominic Academy 5

Posted January 17, 2011
- a parent
Top notch academic honors program. They encourage my daughter to excel, and she does. They recognize potential, and through loving encouragement, the young women really work to their highest abilities. They also excel in athletics. Each student is expected to go to college, and there's a wondeful guidance dept to make sure the child will be on the best road in that direction. Moral teaching in this day and age are a blessing. We are so pleased.


Mount Saint Dominic Academy 5

Posted October 17, 2010
- a parent
My child is a student at MSDA and she loves it. Her classmates love it too. This school is known in the area for years and years of academic excellence. Look at where the graduates are going to college, and you will be impressed. They expect each child to go to college, and they do. There are white boards in some classes. My daughter has swept the floor of her homeroom once in two months. The children won't be dropping trash around! The principal is professional, kind, and easily accessible. I just don't understand where this negativity comes from. This school is a special place and I am quite happy that may daughter is able to go there. I would highly recommend this school to anyone, if they can get in.

Mount Saint Dominic Academy 1

Posted June 28, 2010
- a student
principal is extremely unfriendly and cold. the guidance counselors are not qualified in any way. it is evident throughout the day that most students don't like the school. old fashioned to the point that students are expected to clean the floor and chalkboards. lack of technology and modern supplies (they don't even have white boards). very strict, everyone is constantly getting detentions for no good reason. many teachers aren't qualified. most academic opportunities aren't available to everyone, as per the decision of the 'academic deans' who are ignorant. don't waste your money or time. try the academy of st. elizabeth. i transferred there and i've made tons of friends, do great academically and really enjoy being there. i'm not the only transfer they've gotten from the mount either. it's a much friendlier and better environment, do yourself or your daughter a favor.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mount Saint Dominic Academy
3 Ryerson Avenue, Caldwell, NJ  07006
(973) 226-0660
Last modified Mount Saint Dominic Academy is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Mount Saint Dominic Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top