Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Carteret, NJ

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Carteret High School 4

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Carteret High School 5

Posted July 15, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Carteret High School 1

Posted April 15, 2008
- a parent
I am an alumni and so is my one child, I still have one child attending, the teacher's just do not care, they sit and read newspapers while the kids do whatever they please. Some things just never change. It has got to be the worst school in the suburbs of NJ, the teacher's are all the same one's that I had, so many years ago, just sitting, putting their time in. We are definately moving, so my daughter does not have to attend this insane circus of a highschool.

Carteret High School 0
no rating

Posted April 04, 2008
- a parent
This is thw worst school ever, teachers do not care about students.

Carteret High School 4

Posted November 01, 2007
- a student
I attend Carteret High School and it is nothing like it's reputation. I have mostly Honors classes and I find that my teachers are exceptional and I am learning a great deal from them. Just like most other high schools, it does have certain teachers that do not meet up with the 'standards'. Parent involvement definitely needs improvement and the weight is upon the students to grow up and behave like they are supposed to behave when in a School-based environment. The music and theatre programs in this school are AMAZING! Stop by to one of the football games and experience the true Rambler pride that the Marching Band radiates.


Carteret High School 5

Posted October 18, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Carteret High School 1

Posted May 15, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Carteret High School 3

Posted March 10, 2007
- a parent
Teachers are knowledgeable and supportive for AP classes, such as English, Biology, Calculus AB & BC. Jazz band, Marching band and other activities in music are exceptional but students need to practice at their own time. I wish the school offered AP Physics and AP Chemestry. Sometimes students need to more disciplined in how they dress and act in and around school. Parents should be more responsible for their child.


Carteret High School 5

Posted January 17, 2007
- a student
i am really disappointed in wat people have to say about this great school. this has to be the best school i have ever been to. carteret just gets a bad reputation because of where it is. i attend chs and i love it here and i wouldn't want to go anywhere else. the teacher are fantastic and the diversity makes it great. and to answer the person from before , we are not getting uniform nor will we. i hate when people automaticly think its a bad school. if you think this way please come for at least a week to see what a great school it is. and we also have a new prencipal

Carteret High School 4

Posted March 21, 2006
- a former student
A lot of people complain that CHS is not such a great school. But from first hand experience, i think its a great school as long as your involved with activites and CHS has quite a few. However, I dont think there is much parent involvement though in the school system. There are some exceptional teachers, and then there are a few who feel that just because they know the material, then the students should automatically know it, some teachers do not explain things well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carteret High School
199 Washington Avenue, Carteret, NJ  07008
(732) 541-8960
Last modified Carteret High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carteret High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top