Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carteret High School 1

Posted April 15, 2008
- a parent
I am an alumni and so is my one child, I still have one child attending, the teacher's just do not care, they sit and read newspapers while the kids do whatever they please. Some things just never change. It has got to be the worst school in the suburbs of NJ, the teacher's are all the same one's that I had, so many years ago, just sitting, putting their time in. We are definately moving, so my daughter does not have to attend this insane circus of a highschool.

Carteret High School
no rating

Posted April 04, 2008
- a parent
This is thw worst school ever, teachers do not care about students.


Carteret High School 4

Posted November 01, 2007
- a student
I attend Carteret High School and it is nothing like it's reputation. I have mostly Honors classes and I find that my teachers are exceptional and I am learning a great deal from them. Just like most other high schools, it does have certain teachers that do not meet up with the 'standards'. Parent involvement definitely needs improvement and the weight is upon the students to grow up and behave like they are supposed to behave when in a School-based environment. The music and theatre programs in this school are AMAZING! Stop by to one of the football games and experience the true Rambler pride that the Marching Band radiates.

Carteret High School 3

Posted March 10, 2007
- a parent
Teachers are knowledgeable and supportive for AP classes, such as English, Biology, Calculus AB & BC. Jazz band, Marching band and other activities in music are exceptional but students need to practice at their own time. I wish the school offered AP Physics and AP Chemestry. Sometimes students need to more disciplined in how they dress and act in and around school. Parents should be more responsible for their child.

Carteret High School 5

Posted January 17, 2007
- a student
i am really disappointed in wat people have to say about this great school. this has to be the best school i have ever been to. carteret just gets a bad reputation because of where it is. i attend chs and i love it here and i wouldn't want to go anywhere else. the teacher are fantastic and the diversity makes it great. and to answer the person from before , we are not getting uniform nor will we. i hate when people automaticly think its a bad school. if you think this way please come for at least a week to see what a great school it is. and we also have a new prencipal


Carteret High School 4

Posted March 21, 2006
- a student
A lot of people complain that CHS is not such a great school. But from first hand experience, i think its a great school as long as your involved with activites and CHS has quite a few. However, I dont think there is much parent involvement though in the school system. There are some exceptional teachers, and then there are a few who feel that just because they know the material, then the students should automatically know it, some teachers do not explain things well.

Carteret High School 3

Posted March 09, 2006
- a parent
This is a very diverse high school. Not the best by any means, there are many ways it could be improved, but the teachers are nice enough and there are plently of extracirricular activities to choose from.

Carteret High School 2

Posted January 18, 2006
- a parent
The school does not go the extra mile for the kids. There are some dedicated teachers but overall, a disappointment. One positive thing is that it is very diverse in terms of its student population.


Carteret High School 4

Posted October 31, 2005
- a student
The school is small and crowded but the teachers are great. The school is very diverse. As far as after school activites all meeting are held on the same day, making it hard to join and keep up with many clubs but most students find a way to do it anyway.The Carteret High School Marching Band is a Group 4 band and does compete but the Board of Ed doesnt supply enough money and resources for them to reach the level of other High School bands of their size. Next year the school will be issueing schools uniforms. Every year the school seems to get more and more crowded with undisciplined students who arent enthusiastic about learning. Students invovled with after school activites get away with alot in CHS such as bad grades, missing class, and suspensions. CHS seems to be taking away more and more electives every year.

Carteret High School 1

Posted May 06, 2005
- a student
This school is a really bad school. Some of the teachers work hard but the classes are really boring and the school is dirty and small. The extra curricular activities are getting better but all of the meetings are held on the same days and the students cant attend all of them at once! They are really trying to make new ones though because now they have an indian culture club.

Nearby schools

Carteret High School
199 Washington Ave, Carteret, NJ  07008
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (732) 541-8960
Last modified Carteret High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top