Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Winslow Township School No. 2 Elementary School

Public | PK-3 & ungraded | 6 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 5, 2007

I've been quite pleased with Winslow School #2 so far. I am concerned with what the future holds for the middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

I would like to say that this June was my sons last year in school 2, he will be going to school 5 in September. Like every parent I had a problem with one of my sons teacher and school had moved him to another room, but beside that my son had not had a problem with any other teacher. My son did not want the school year to end, he liked all of his teacher because they know that he could do the work that they gave him.I am very happy with that, I like to see a teacher pushing my kid to do better for them and for himself. I would like to say thank you School # 2 for all your happy, smiling teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

Winslow Township School #2 has been a wonderful experience for myself and my son. He loves the teachers, school nurse and principal. My son was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes prior to attending this school and the nurse, principal and teachers were wonderful with him. I can't even begin to tell you what a relief it was to know that he was in good hands. My son loved this school so much that he did not want the school year to end. He will be attending 3rd grade next year (this school is Pre-K through 2nd). This school has done a great job and we will miss all the staff at Winslow #2. Janice McGrath
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

This school, indeed the entire district, has gone downhill. School 2 is overcrowded, the principal is a wonderful person but is outgunned and overwhelmed. Some teachers have been in their field way too long and need to know when to bow out. The taxes in this township are insane, and you get next to nothing for your tax dollars. Parents try to be involved, but many teachers blow them off. Kids are suffering from their own parents' not enforcing discipline at home, and the classrooms are uncontrollable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

My son has been going to this School since Flag PM and the teacher are doing alright.School 2004-2005 I just had a problem with one of his teacher,maybe it is just me but if I was him I would like to walk into a room that would make me feel welcome. By being welcome that means that I would like to see some of these teacher smile once and a while.Is Kindergarden that hard to teach? Last week I walk into my sons Resource Room and the teacher did not even make me feel comfortable to be in there to get my son homework. Maybe they need to get some youger teacher in there so show them that kids will listen more if they smile and make the kids feel welcome to come and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

I love the teachers in this school. The principal greets every child by name when he greets the children every morning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2005

I am very pleased with this school. The teachers and staff are amazing. The principal sincerly cares about the students. There is tons of parent envolvement. My son is only pre k, but am looking forward to his education at this school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2004

a wonderful schooling exprerience, the principal, staff and teachers are exceptional. I could go on and on about this school, my children have now left, and i can't tell you how much we all miss school #2
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students79%
Female82%
Male76%
Black73%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
General education84%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant79%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students86%
Female80%
Male93%
Black79%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
General education88%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 51%
Black 32% 16%
Hispanic 7% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 9%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Robert Riccardi

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

125 First Avenue
Cedar Brook, NJ 08018
Phone: (609) 561-8450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Victory Christian School
Monroe Township, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT