Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
740 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Camden Catholic High School 1

Posted August 05, 2015
- a student
When I first arrived at the school, I thought I had entered paradise. I was impressed with everyone and everything the school had to offer. And then the rose colored glasses came off and I began to see Camden Catholic for what it really is: a greedy, money-hogging institution that will squeeze every last dime out of you and then toss you away when you're no longer needed. The administration does not care about the students at all, instead wasting all their efforts into the school's image for the outside world to see. Teachers and students alike are constantly taken advantage of, especially those who put in extra effort to the school. So much is covered up and hidden away and never admitted to that it simply shows how utterly spineless the administration truly is. The only redeeming part of this school is the student environment and the student-teacher relationship with the older teachers who are slowly but surely being removed, I'm sorry "retired", by the school. I would never recommend this school to any individual unless they wish to suffer through four years of utter hell.

Camden Catholic High School 1

Posted April 28, 2015
- a student
This school is trying so hard to look like the best of the best but it is horrible to its students. You are only really wanted here if you are a good athlete (like others here have said in these reviews) or have lots of money. Anyone who tells you it's not like that has a privalege like stated above and they do not see or understand what really goes on here because they've never experienced it. Anything other than sports is regarded as unimportant, even though students have different interests and should get the same opportunities and amount of attention. Some Teachers here try to be best friends with the popular kids, making weird student-teacher relationships. They say bullying is not tolerated, but they bully their students and barely anything is done when there is a bullying problem among students. Expect mostly bad teachers with a handful of good ones. You will not be ready for college. This school covers so much up that it's not even funny.


Camden Catholic High School 2

Posted April 20, 2015
- a parent
Would not recommend sending your kids here. It is so expensive for a below the bar education. They flash the appearance of the school at you so you'll turn a blind eye to all the bad things going on. Really, the education is not good enough for all the money you'll pay. The staff and teachers are clueless except some of the older ones.

Camden Catholic High School 3

Posted March 30, 2015
- a student
The teachers pick favorites with the athletes. the teachers are rude to each other and yes I have seen it happen on multiple occasions. If you don't donate all your time to the school they close doors of opportunity and make sure you can't get anywhere. They only pay attention to the outside image and not how they make the students feel. Girls have to wear tights in the summer now because a select few girls can't unravel their skirts but instead of punishing them they punish the whole female population in the school and they only did this because of what random people say when they visit (not parents). They keep traditions alive but those traditions are outdated such as the detentions. They make you write out the handbook...really? Some good things about the school are the students. I feel comfortable around a majority of students. People may see the "Camden" in our name but the camden students are some of our nicest and well mannered students (I am from cherry hill). The diversity of the school is also one of the reasons I came to cchs because I was not looking for a single race dominated school. I like the older teachers in the school, they care about you.

Camden Catholic High School 5

Posted March 10, 2015
- a student
Camden Catholic molds the most down to earth kids that come out of South Jersey. In comparison to Eustace, Paul VI, Gloucester Catholic and other schools in the area, kids get the best experience and diversification at Camden Catholic. In my opinion, Camden Catholic is the most balanced private school education you are going to get in South Jersey. They send over 50% of students to schools other than Camden, Gloucester and Burlington County Colleges, which to me is very important. It is a fairly difficult school academic wise, which prepared me for the college workload. One thing I will say is that some of the teachers are mediocre, some with a little too much ego, but these teachers are definitely a small percentage compared to the great teachers I had at CC. As of 2013, when I graduated, I would say that there are some necessary administration changes, but I truly want to see this school thrive again. It made me who I am today. I will make sure my parents send my little brother and sister to CC, because my older brother and I benefitted from CC in so many ways. I'm currently a sophomore in college at Rider U, with a full ride for athletics with a 3.3 GPA.


Camden Catholic High School 3

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
This school really doesn't care about your kids unless they are an athlete. Things have gotten a lot worse here over the past few years (i have multiple children.) They teach your kids to be respectful yet the teachers can do whatever they want and say whatever they want. The school is ridiculously strict on things that aren't even important and they only care about your money. Only a few of the teachers my child currently has gives him extra help, besides that he's on his own. It is not a comfortable place to him yet the school puts up a fake face that it is a "second home" to its students.

Camden Catholic High School 4

Posted April 15, 2013
- a community member
The best thing you need to do for your child as well as for your finances, is to research these schools way before your child hits 8th grade. Get as much info as possible as well and visit there for not only a tour or shadow day, but try to attend other activities (sporting events,plays,mass,etc) to see how things are. Try to find out if the administration and teachers are motivated and qualified, if enrollment is rising or falling, financial stability of the school and info on their SAT scores/college acceptance rates. CCHS seems to have a solid reputation and appears to be a bargain compared to Bishop Eustace, Paul VI and Holy Cross. The extra busing they now provide in the Burlington Co. area finally gives those parents an added option now over HCHS. Good luck.

Camden Catholic High School 4

Posted July 13, 2009
- a student
CCHS is just about the best high school around. Its diversity and always willing to go the extra mile teachers prepare the students for college.


Camden Catholic High School
no rating

Posted June 30, 2009
- a parent
Camden Catholic High School is a challenging school academically. Most people don't know that. The teachers encourage the students to succeed academically but also work to educate the whole person. I sent all three of my children to CCHS and all three have become caring, intelligent, adults who know how to give back to their community. What more can you ask for?

Camden Catholic High School
no rating

Posted August 20, 2007
- a parent
CCHS is the best school around! The reason why i sent my child here was, the diversity of the students!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Camden Catholic High School
300 Cuthbert Boulevard, Cherry Hill, NJ  08002
(856) 663-2247
Last modified Camden Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Camden Catholic High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top