Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cherry Hill High-East High School

Public | 9-12 | 2033 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2013

I had a few great teachers in my time and Miss McLeester was one of the best and I am so glad she is still at East for the students of today, I am also so pleased that they have increased the integrity of the school by hiring fantastic, learned teachers as the students are much more into a good school and learning experience rather than competition in all ways that I experienced in the 70's, God bless this school and I know they are helping to teach our great children and future eternal students of the world!


Posted June 30, 2012

I am a former student and had a great experience at this school. The school has a good academic focus and the school population is diverse. There's also a great sports tradition there.


Posted June 29, 2012

I am an alumnai from Cherry Hill East. My experience was excellent when attending this high school. The support of teachers and other staff helps all students succeed in school. Teachers are willing to make time for their students in order to ensure they fully understand the materials presented in class. In addition to strong academic programs, students are also exposed to cultural diversity, which will also help the growth of children. The supportive high school community and rigors of the academics will certainly help your child success in the future.


Posted June 29, 2012

Cherry Hill East is an all around great school that enables students to pursue their careers in the future. I knew I wanted to work on Wall Street by Sophomore year; my guidance counselor at Cherry Hill East gave me the necessary guidance when researching colleges that would accomodate a Finance major. I ended up getting accepepted into Rutgers, which is one of the best schools in New Jersey. This would not have been possible without the education, guidance, and preparation that I received from Cherry Hill East. I am now a manager at Morgan Stanley, one of the most prestigious firms on Wall Street ; I attribute this to the skills that i learned early on at Cherry Hill East.


Posted August 17, 2011

Having just graduated (Class of 2011) I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this school. I loved every bit of my 4 years at East. For the vast majority, the teachers are great and always make themselves available to help those who need them. Some teachers are known until staying well past the 4:00 late bus time. One in particular who I was lucky enough to have for QPS has been known to stay at school until 11pm tirelessly working for one purpose: his students. Now I'm a plebe (freshman) at one of the United States' 5 federal service academies (the United States Merchant Marine Academy) and the leg up that East has given me academically is unbelievable. My chem and calc courses are all review of what I did in East. East is great. Get involved, challenge yourself. And then you will be able to call East your home instead of just your school. That's how I look back now. East is my home away from home.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2010

Cherry Hill School District is not all what is cracked up to be.. We moved to Cherry Hill from Marlton and believe me the schools in Cherry Hill are NOT as good as everyone says they are. # 1 my 16 yr old Son says he knows more then the teachers. And he also says the School when he walks in smells like pot. The staff over look what is going on. And to be honest the staff are rude and not friendly at all... My Son was taking Italian in Cherokee which he loved but East does not offer that. Also he took Law in Cherokee. and in East they only have Law 1. And Drafting the same. Cherry Hill School Systems are not all that great like what I have always heard. Cherokee is much better and friendly...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

As a former student at Cherry Hill East, I disagree that the school overlooks anything, be it by teaching to grades, score, speed, et cetera, et cetera. Since I left Cherry Hill, I have completed futher education at both a top private college and law school. Looking back, Cherry Hill East was most superior, both in terms of demand and learning environment. In this sense, I believe the discontent that was quantified as being overlooked can be attributed to an extremely competitive environment where some may extend or at least test the limits of their abilities. I often found people in class who were constantly stressed and struggling to keep up, however, there discontent could be attributed to a pressure to take all AP classes despite the student's limitations. Yet, what makes the school great is that they do not limit your options through testing classes, very egalitarian


Posted March 26, 2007

Cherry Hill HS is academically strong, teachers are harsh and scary sometimes but really good at teaching. the principal is active, the students are even more active, there are so many clubs that you can join. people are friendly. There are so many classes and music classes are great. They have good sportmanship too. they're probably the best public school in whole NJ. I loved Cherry Hill H.S. And all the races are accepted the students get along well regardless of the gender, height, race or anything. Cherry Hill is the best. Most of East's students are graduated from Beck MS and Carusi MS and both are the greatest middle schools around south jersey as well.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 15, 2006

Great school. I was able to take part in many after school activities and received an excellent education! Class of 2002
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 5, 2006

Both my daughters graduated from Ch. Hill East with excellent grades and SAT scores and were highly satisfied with the high academic level of the school and class choices. If college is the goal, this is the place to be! The only complaint I have is that their advisor appeared to be only superficially involved in their college searches and application processes. Thankfully, I raised them to be very independent and pro-active young ladies so they successfully led their own college search, my older daughter choosing a university that was not even mentioned by her advisor, despite an obvious one to include in her list. There is plenty of diversity so a student ought to be able to find his or her niche of friends. However, it is a large school so the student must be proactive in this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

The academic program is very high on any scale. but the one complaint i have is the amount of overlooking this school does. Rather than focusing on the joy of learning they focus on the grade, the standardized testing, or they teach too quickly, never really making sure the student is really learning. the extra curricular program is superb with state titles in sports (swimming, volleyball, tennis), music (band, orchestra, and chorus), a fabulous jazz band, and an outstanding theatre department. the level of parent involvment is fairly high. The competition is a reigning source in any area of the school, however because of the rich area, appearances are crucial in fitting in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2004

Moorestown and Haddonfield are both more highly rated but also have higher house prices (and fewer AP courses). While East is quite large (1800+) is it actually smaller than the Lenape Regional schools which produce somewhat lower academic results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2004

I moved to Cherry Hill for one reason - the school district. It has exceptional facilities and teachers to match. I am looking forward to sending my kids to Cherry Hill East!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

508 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

508 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students100%
Female100%
Male99%
Black100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged98%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Special education97%
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant100%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
Black88%
Asian98%
Hispanic75%
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Special education70%
General education97%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant94%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

553 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students90%
Female90%
Male89%
Black74%
Asian98%
Hispanic77%
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant90%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 52%
Asian 18% 9%
Black 7% 16%
Hispanic 4% 22%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1750 Kresson Rd
Cherry Hill, NJ 08003
Phone: (856) 424-2222

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Eastern High School
Voorhees, NJ




Brookfield Schools
Cherry Hill, NJ


Alternative High School
Cherry Hill, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT