Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John A Carusi Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 3, 2013

I'm a parent of an 8th grade student at Carussi. I'm also a Guidance Counselor at another school. My son loves Carussi. He's an average student and the teachers, Guidance Counselor and Administration have been working with him to do well. It's a very good school with a majority of faculty members who really care and help the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

My daughter started 6th grade in Carusi this year, and although I get the usual complaints about homework, she is doing well. The school staff seems enthusiastic about teaching the children and the principal is personable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2013

I love this school and my daughter has done fantastic here! The Administrative team and Guidance Counselor are caring and helpful. I feel bad for the student who was "bullied", but they obviously never reported it. I find them to be on the ball with stuff. My child wears jeans and t-shirts everyday because she wants to and no one else has ever said two words to her. The teachers will either come in early, stay late or help the students during their lunch break if they need help. My only complaint is at some of the dances the girls wear inappropriate attire. However, I place all the blame on the parents for letting them look like street walkers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

i just started at carusi this year in 6th grade and I LOVE IT! oh my gosh the atmosphere is amazing and i have tons of friends. everything is great except for the fact that the teachers scream at me to get away from my friends lockers and go to class, everything is. if you think it is not a good school THERE MUST BE SOMETHING SERIOUSLY WRONG WITH YOUR HEAD. plus i am on student council. dont mess with me. GO MUSTANGS!


Posted January 26, 2011

I went to Carusi Middle School for sixth grade. My sixth grade experience was horrible. What I hated the most about Carusi is that the teachers always listen to your conversations during class and give you no privacy when you're trying just to talk to a friend. The students aren't that friendly either. I was one of the students who couldn't really afford cool looking clothes from big brand stores, so I got teased and bullied for wearing the same clothes over and over. I got called poor and other horrible names, the teachers did nothing about this, they just didn't care. If you are a parent reading this, I would not reccomend you send your child to Carusi Middle School.


Posted January 5, 2010

I love Carusi. I am new this year. Everyone welcomed me. My teachers are very nice and do anything they can to help my classmates. What I really like is that we have five different exploratories. They are music, computers, art, communications skill, and first century skills. We take each for two months. I think that was a great idea because we get to do all of them by the end of the school year. Every class is 50 minutes. We could also check our grades online anytime we want. That keeps the parents informed with their child's grade. Go Mustangs!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2008

The teachers enthusiastic and caring about the students. There is a sense of family in the atmosphere. Both of my childeren and many of my friends childeren have gone to Carusi. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

Not impressed.There is absolutely no discipline in this school. The students can pretty much do,say and wear whatever they want. As far as the 'zero tolerance' when it comes to violence-not true.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

Teachers really care about students. A great place.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 6, 2006

This is my childs first year at this school. She attended Clara Barton from 1-5 grade and it was a Very positive experience. I was anxious for her to move on to middle school. I attended all the school meetings so far, have spoken at length with all the principals and Asst principals. They are absolutely in a class by themselves! They are ALL focused on the kids and they are very active in ALL phases of the entire school. They know many students by first name and the kids respond to their interest, which makes it a very positive environment. I have made it a point to meet all my childs teachers, and it was clear immediately that all of them are first rate. The music dept is highly recommended, as my child plays violin in the orchestra. I HIGHLY recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

Excellent administrative team. Many terrific and enthusiastic teachers but a few who should leave the profession and find something else to do. Lots of extracurriculars, really something for everyone. Working hard to raise the level of achievement for the lower end kids. Really should be trying harder to meet the needs of the higher end kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students73%
Female79%
Male68%
Black57%
Asian80%
Hispanic69%
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special educationn/a
General education84%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant73%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students84%
Female88%
Male82%
Black80%
Asian95%
Hispanic79%
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education51%
General education95%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant84%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students62%
Female68%
Male56%
Black58%
Asian63%
Hispanic55%
White64%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Special education25%
General education77%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant62%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students71%
Female72%
Male70%
Black54%
Asian76%
Hispanic58%
White76%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special education33%
General education86%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant71%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former75%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students83%
Female89%
Male77%
Black76%
Asian93%
Hispanic67%
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
General education95%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant83%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students78%
Female84%
Male72%
Black64%
Asian84%
Hispanic65%
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special educationn/a
General education91%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant78%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students81%
Female82%
Male79%
Black67%
Asian91%
Hispanic59%
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
General education92%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant81%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Not migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 9%
Hispanic 12% 22%
Black 10% 16%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Kirk Rickansrud

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

315 Roosevelt Dr
Cherry Hill, NJ 08034
Phone: (856) 667-1220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kellman Brown Academy
Voorhees Township, NJ


Politz Day School
Cherry Hill, NJ


Y A L E
Cherry Hill, NJ


Maple Shade High School
Maple Shade, NJ


Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School
Maple Shade Township, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT