Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Agnes School (Will close: Spring 2014)

Private | PK-8 | 140 students

Our school is best known for our academic program.

 
 

Living in Clark

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $360,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,440.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2014

God Bless all the St. Agnes children, parents, teachers and staff. St. Agnes truly was A Wonderful Place to Be....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2013

Four years ago I went to St. Agnes School to enroll my children. The minute I walked through the door, I knew this school was special. I loved the building and the teachers and parents were all friendly and welcoming. I knew I wanted my children in this school and loved the family atmosphere but at this time the school was in danger of closing. I took the chance and enrolled my children in the school and my husband and I could not be happier with the decision we made. Our children love their school and are receiving an excellent education while growing in faith. When I drop my children off at school in the morning I know they are safe and in a loving, caring environment. The school has great programs/events such as; Spirit Week, Anti-bullying Week and activities throughout the year that teach the students about helping and supporting people in their community and caring about others. Over the past few years the enrollment in the younger grades has increased and hopefully this will continue. If people looked past the rumors and saw how wonderful and special St. Agnes school truly is the classrooms would be busting at the seams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

I'm am looming to send my daughter to this school... But I keep hearing rumors that they will close due to lack of enrollment... Has anyone else heard about this? I really liked the school but am worried they will close .... Thank you


Posted September 5, 2013

I am a St. Agnes alumni and am happy that my daughter is able to get the qulaity of education and strengthening of faith I was able to get there. Wether now or 30+ years ago, St. Agnes is a wonderful place to be. It is a excellent institution for education and religious study. The current class sizes are just right where the teachers can get the kids interested and paying attention and they are able to offer individualized attention to those needing help. The quality of teaching is outstanding as I see my daughter and her classmates flourishing. I have heard similar feedback from parents on teachers in upper grades. Their technology is up to date and implemented into the cirriculum, as are the Arts and Spanish. The pricipal has brought progressive ideas to the school and is a wonderful leader to the students and faculty/staff. She firm, disciplined, but fair & loving and they all like her. She actually knows each and every student by name and greets them daily as they walk into school. What I really like about her is that she is strong in exercising religion & faith within the school in whatever way she can. I just wish more parents would be involved with events offered
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

I currently have 2 children and a nephew enrolled at St. Agnes. I am an alumni as well as my 3 siblings. We are now 2nd generation SAS. There is something you get here that I doubt you can find many other places. It is a feeling of home. It is truly a family, a school family where our kids spend upwards of 30 hours a week. I want them to feel safe, loved, and respected. St, Agnes provides that atmosphere. The academics are great and both my children are excelling, but it is the feeling you get from being there that made our choice an easy one. Although Clark has good schools we chose St, Agnes for those reasons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

St. Agnes faculty and staff along with the Home School Association has been proactive on bullying. This will be our second year hosting an Anti-bullying Week in September. The students take a pledge at the end of the week. Our faculty will be taking a different pledge as well which will be displayed with all the staff's signatures. This year there are two different programs coming to our school to educate our students on bullying. The middle school program will specifically be dealing with internet safety especially with bullying. We have a counselor that has been available to aid teachers and students if a conflict arises. The administrator has and will expel students for bullying as well if a conflict will not stop and be resolved. Once again, St. Agnes School has taken a proactive stance against bullying.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 4, 2013

Saint Agnes School is a warm & friendly environment, where children are encouraged in everything they do. As the Middle School Math teacher, I am responsible for preparing the 6th, 7th, & 8th grades for the rigorous math courses they can expect in High School, whether Catholic or public. To best prepare our students, we have chosen to have all students learn Pre-Algebra in 7th grade, & Algebra 1 in 8th grade. I also administer the First in Math program for the entire school, where students in K-8 are able to practice & play games to improve their math skills. Each class has a fun competition to find out who will be the Player of the Day announced each morning. While all schools have troubles in this era, the staff & administration works hard to protect the children in our care, & immediately take care of any issues that arise. Doors are kept locked, & all visitors must be admitted through a buzzer system. When students misbehave, appropriate action is taken, such as detention or suspension, a conference held, a session with the school counselor, and, even an expulsion for bullying has occurred. As we say, St. Agnes is truly "a wonderful place to be!"
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 18, 2013

This school is an amazing learning facility brought together by amazing teaching and teachers, and most of all our catholic community family! I love how we don't have many students so that we can have more one on one time with are teachers which helps us learn and understand more! I think that my school could improve if we had a few more students but I love the way it is now. It would also be nice if we had a little more money for supplies and to run our annual St. Agnes School Carnival, because we can;t have it anymore because we really don't have enough money. I think my school is amazing. I could use some improvements but I still love it just the way it is. I hope you pick my school for the prize money. This would mean a lot to me and all of the students, faculty, and staff at St. Agnes. Thank you again for taking the time to read my review!


Posted July 10, 2013

Every school has an issue with bullying. It's why the state passed laws requiring public schools to deal with it. While Catholic schools do not have to comply, St Agnes chose to be proactive and have an anti-bullying week with an assembly and special events and activites each day. At the end of the week each students signs an anti-bullying pledge. I feel completely confident in the teachers at the school and in the education my kids are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2011

Well, I love the environment. I truly believe that it gives a wonderful education and that there are some great teachers there, but some people I've met there along the way are changing my opinion. Bullying is one of the issues, but other then that, the school is good.


Posted August 21, 2011

St. Agnes has come a long way. We saved our school from closing and have a phenomenal staff, students and parents all working together to make it the best that it can be, lots of good energy! We're having a Tricky Tray on Oct. 20th at the Gran Centurions in Clark, thanks to the support of our school families, friends and local businesses. Come out and support us and see for yourself what a wonderful group we have at St. Agnes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2011

I adise you not to go to tbis school. Many bullies and most teaxhers have a favorite student which seems a bit unfair. My son's friend has trouble each day at this school. The teachers do not teach manners to the children in good ways.The prinicple's leadership is quite good though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

St. Agnes is an excellent school with a kind, caring staff. The kids in general are super smart. The older kids watch out for the younger ones (their little buddies) which I love. There was a very cool production of Grease this past year, which the kids had a lot of fun doing. My son is extremely comfortable at St. Agnes and I wouldn't dream of sending him anywhere else. Everyone has been working harder than ever with fundraising to make St. Agnes the best it can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

I have only been a part of the Saint Agnes School family for the past year. Since I have joined the staff, I have come across so many people, teacher and parents alike, who are willing to help. The teachers stay extra hours to help students in need. The teachers also have started numerous clubs and activities such as the drama club, art, and safety patrol. The drama club last year put on a production of Grease where the principal even played a part. I was so impressed to find out that the sports program is so large at St. Agnes. It is great to see not only the students supporting each other, but the principal and teachers attending some of the games. I like the fact that there is a counselor at school for the children once a week, too. The principal is starting her second year here at St. Agnes. There have been many positive changes throughout last year. I especially enjoyed prayer buddy program between younger and older students. Spirit week was also a fabulous addition in May. The students had a blast as well as the staff. I am proud to be part of the Saint Agnes family!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 2, 2011

St. Agnes is awesome!!! Construction of the new gym looks great! I feel very secure when I drop my child off in the morning because I trust the staff and know he's in good hands. I also appreciate the good sportsmanship taught by the coaches. Everyone gets to participate regardless of ability, which you don't always see at other schools. St. Agnes rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

I'm a student and love my school. I do work hard but it's sooo worth it. My test scores are very high. I couldn't do it without the help of my teachers. St. Agnes is a lot of fun. This year we had spirit week. Some of the events included Crazy Hair Day, Ugly Sweater Day and 1950's Day, in honor of the production Grease. We have a great music and drama program! Our school also makes holidays fun. Every year I look forward to the Halloween party, Santa Brunch and Santa Sale. We had a Mardi Gras party, open to the parish. That was a blast! Also, class trips are never disappointing.


Posted August 1, 2011

Very tough school with bullies. I advise.You not to go to this school. Teachers do not believe in extra credit. The principle is good but not the teachers and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

St. Agnes School is an excellent school. They support their students in all areas of well-being. My daughter has been there for eight years and she has received not only a quality education but the structure to be to be a very productive member of society! I am very happy there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2009

Through the years I've come to realize I love the school, but the people inside are ruining it. Dont put your kids here and make them go through what my friends and I have. It's a shame we can't be what we used to be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2006

St. Agnes-great school. Teachers are outstanding, curriculum is rigorous and challenging. Subjects include religion, math, science, social studies, literature, language arts, computer, music, art and spanish beginning in Kindergarten. The school offers aftercare, has one of the most extensive sports programs locally available in a parochial school, children's choir, bell choir, and student council. The school has a wonderful warm feeling. Sr.Claire Ouimet is our principal. She knows every student personally and truly cares for every one. We recently expanded the school adding 3 new classrooms, an art/music room, and a state of the art media center in addition to several parish meeting rooms. Our son is a student who is thriving in the middle school. Last summer,as a representative of St. Agnes School, he attended the Junior National Young Leaders Conference in Washington, D.C. We attribute his excellent academic performance and leadership qualities to his experience at St. Agnes School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 51%
Hispanic 4% 22%
Black 3% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Polish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Heather E. Schnaars
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (732) 381-1745

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Polish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Select towns offer busing
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Twirling
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$1000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Catholic High Schools
Magnet High School
Public High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

342 Madison Hill Rd
Clark, NJ 07066
Website: Click here
Phone: (732) 381-0850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Lamberts Mill Academy
Westfield, NJ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT