Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Valley Road Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 20 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

Our son has just finished kindergarten in Ms. Grigoli's class, and he absolutely loved going to school, she made the students school year pleasant and enjoyable while teaching them . Ms. Grigoli went above and beyond for her students and should be nominated for teacher of the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2014

Happy with the school , my son is in kindergarden and he's doing great. Teachers are nice and responsive if you have questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

My daughter loves Valley Road School. So far we've experienced nothing but great teachers, teacher helpers and enthusiastic parents. My only issue is keeping track of when we owe money. It would be much easier to just ask for it all up front. For example, we're sending in $10 per month on a specific day for milk, why not just collect $80 for the year? All in all however, we're happy with our school choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2012

There's no homework given on Fridays and for the school breaks, and the actual homework that is assigned is simple, a 5 minute summary but there's a whole bunch of business going on from sales, donations, gift giving and more sales... Not sure if I send my child to school or to a street fair...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

not impressed, the bullying program is not inforced...very 'clicky' and biased...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2006

My son absolutely loves VRS! Their 'Bullying Program' is to be commended. From what I've seen, the parents of VRS students really care and get involved. Teachers are friendly and very easy to talk to. The Principal is firm yet pleasant. Communication between the school and parent is good. I really cannot say anything negative about VRS! Go VRS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2005

My daughter goes to school here and I actually enjoy hearing here tell me about her day at school. She loves school and I believe this school make it easy to love school. There is only one problem though. Both my daughter and I think there are not enough African-Americans and Hispanics in the school. There are zero African Americans and there is only about one or two Hispanics. We are not blaming the school, just suggesting it is open to more students. Other than that, This school is great and I love that my daughter can easily talk to her teachers, classmates, and all other people in the school. Also, I love the new anti-bullying group. VRS is doing a great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2005

This school is awesome! I love ALL my teachers and the cafeteria food isn't bad. I love going to school everyday because my teacher makes it fun. You never know what to expect! I'm also glad to be able to play with boys and not have bullys pestering me about it. Also, I'm glad my teachers are easy to talk to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2005

This school is great. My daughter has a great time there. There are almost no bullys and she and myself can trust the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students75%
Female77%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Special education39%
General education83%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant75%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students92%
Female97%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Special education54%
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant92%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students71%
Female77%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Special educationn/a
General education75%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant71%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students89%
Female88%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant89%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White99%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
General education98%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant97%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students64%
Female76%
Male46%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Special educationn/a
General education76%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant64%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students90%
Female95%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
General education96%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant90%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 51%
Hispanic 4% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 16%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Joseph Beltramba

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

150 Valley Road
Clark, NJ 07066
Phone: (732) 388-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT