Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cliffside Park High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1066 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2013

My 15-year-old daughter attended Cliffside high school for one year because we moved. We have had great experiences with the elementary and middle school. The principle, Ms. Morrow from the middle school moved to the high school at the same time my daughter moved. Ms. Morrow is an excellent principal and had provided great support for my daughter who was having issues in middle school. Actually, the teachers and vice-president in the cliffside middle school were very helpful with helping me with my daughter. So even if the high school was having any issues I was confident with Ms. Morrow moving there that these issues would be straightened out immediately. Anyway, I immediately contacted all her teachers right away and met with her guidance counselor to ensure that I could help my daughter with her transition and they were very responsive. As far as I am concerned the experience was very positive and the staff were very good and concerned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2011

IT IS A GOOD SCHOOL BUT THEY MUST HAVE UNIFORMS, THE GIRLS DRESS UP VERY INDECENT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

This school is a parents worst nightmare. School is lax in checking residency so students are coming in from other districts and seriously overcrowding the school. Many of my daughters classes are packed with 30 students or more per class. Not enough books, overtaxed, disnterested teachers. The ones who are interested are seriously overworked and challenged with up to 150 students to oversee. Extreme lack of control of student behavior on all levels, the parents are equally unbehaved and lack simple manners; apple and the tree thing going on. . Sadly lack of parental involvement except for dances or cookie sales. If more parents paid attention to academics and raising funds for more books or extra teachers, rather than cookie dough, we might be able to help imrpove our childrens chances at a better education and future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

My daughter will not be attending this High School the lazy,angry,Favortisim,nepatisim,(Yes most faculty are related to the students,to the staff to the aministration,etc.etc.)Very small town! Trust me the middle school gives a clear view of whats expected in the H.S. no thanks I'm moving my daughter out of this town!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

My daughter will not be attending this High School the lazy,angry,Favortisim,nepatisim,(Yes most faculty are related to the students,to the staff to the aministration,etc.etc.)Very small town! Trust me the middle school gives a clear view of whats expected in the H.S. no thanks I'm moving my daughter out of this town!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

My son loves this school and is academically doing excellent. They are a great school in my eyes and that says a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

All of my children have attended Cliffside Park High School and my wife and I were very pleased with the quality of educaiton they received. Each of our children went to college AND graduated. I doubt that a poor high school prepartion would have led to that kind of success. No school is perfect and CPHS certainly has room for improvement, but parents and students who claim that the teachers don't care or that the school isn't any good did not take the time to truly become part of the high school community both in and out of the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

This school has a policy of charging $25 per year 'class dues' even though it is a public high school and denies students the right to take their final exams should they choose not to pay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2005

I disagree about the new principal being seen as a joke. As for the vice principal, you'll be hard pressed to meet a nicer, more caring or hardworking guy. When i was a student there in the 80's, the principal was the nicest guy, but very limited. I never saw the vp. While the students may have gotten more disrespectful, their parents and not the school district, are responsible for their children. Few parents seem to get involved. The percentage of single parent homes is staggering. Our little town has become very populated yet its always the same families that get involved. I believe parents would get involved more if they had the proper support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2003

The students entering the high school have become more disrespectful, and the faculty has done a poor job of controlling them. As a former student, I've realized that the education I've received in high school has not helped me in college. While some students from other schools tend to do fine because of the challenging programs their school have to offer, Cliffside Park has priven otherwise. Many graduates drop out of college because of the lack of education. As for the new principal, he is seen as a joke in this school. With better teachers and a caring principal and vice principal, Cliffside Park may one day earn a good reputation. As of now, parents have only stated that it is a bad school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education79%
General education98%
English language learners47%
Not migrant92%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former68%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students82%
Female77%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education53%
General education90%
English language learners40%
Not migrant82%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former56%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students32%
Female21%
Male41%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Pacific Islandern/a
White37%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Special education13%
General education38%
English language learners13%
Not migrant32%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former13%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

68%

SAT college ready

21%

Graduation rate

80%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 22%
White 37% 51%
Black 4% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 9%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Lorraine Morrow

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

64 Riverview Avenue
Cliffside Park, NJ 07010
Phone: (201) 313-2370

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Slocum Skewes School
Ridgefield, NJ


Knowledge Advanced Skills
North Bergen, NJ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT