Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cliffwood Ave School

Public | K-3 & ungraded | 15 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

I find the principal rude, uncaring and lazy. This school lacks major communication. School notices are often late and not updated like it suppose to. Parking is Horrible!! I was told that Cliffwood elementary used to be a blue ribbon school. What happened? I'm so not satified with the school but have no other option. I would NOT recommend this school to anyone interested in moving to this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2014

This school is the reason I am moving out of the district. I find the principal rude and uncaring. My child has ADHD with a 504 in place yet the teachers do not follow the 504 and the principal has turned a blind eye on numerous occasions. Every service my son is entitled to receive has been a major battle or it has been refused. I have documentation from numerous doctors yet the school still refuses. The services are offered in Ravine Drive and Strathmore but not at Cliffwood. I requested a transfer and it was denied. I would never recommend this school to anyone interested in moving to this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

My daughter is in the autism classroom. She started last year in 1st grade with Ms. Hollie, and did beautifully. She is now in Ms. Susan's class is doing amazingly with her too. The teachers and aides at this school are fabulous. They follow the IEP, they go above and beyond. The speech therapist Amy Ritchie is fantastic. The other speech teacher Allison and the OT Lori are top notch too. I cannot say enough about this program here. The parent/ teacher communication is so important, and her teachers are available all the time. The principal has a full understanding of autism, and it shows. The entire school includes these children. They have peer buddies that come in and work and play with my daughter. The take the kids to the Y to swim twice a month. It's hard to find information about special needs programs before you move into a district. So if you are looking to move here, I highly recommend it. We are so happy with our daughter's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2013

My daugher is in 3rd grade now, performing fantastic in her math, reading and writing. In particular this school's writer's workshop is great. We are very happy with CliffWood Elementary school, I would recommend this school to any parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

I have lived in Cliffwood all of my life as well as my parents and grandparents. Cliffwood School provided the foundation for our families success. I now have my twins in the school system and my son has some learning disabilities. The teachers, staff and principal has been extremely supportive. I love Cliffwood School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Cliffwood Elementary Schools have dedicated teachers that taking every child's development seriously. They work w/ parents through a variety of programs to partner up and create a great learning enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Cliffwood schools offer a wide variety of programs for all ages. The teachers are very dedicated and committed to every child. It's a wonderful place for children to learn and grown.


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers and staff are deticated in making school fun as well as offer them an amazing education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

My son is making a great progress in this school. He has straight A's in the past three years. The school has a lot of activities and there are pictures, art works all over the place. The teachers and the principle are very friendly. Homework are light, to my standard, but they do keep good record on no-shows. I even got a call from the school, when my son was 1 hour late to school because a doctor's appointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2007

if you have a hard to handle child the school turns their back on you even if you asked for help . they tried to say that this is normal . my child has been at the school for 3 years , the first 2 years the teachers and staff were wonderful. this last year I can't wait to move out of this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

Our kids just started K inthis school and I love it! The office staff and teachers are all so friendly and always seem to have smiles on. The custodians are great, they say hi to everyone all the time. The PTO is great- on top of everything. My kids love the school. here are always art projects hanging and the spcila teachers gym,library, art etc, are fabulous too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2006

I find this school lacking in several respects.Although a new principal has improved things i still find an atmosphere of indifference to any child who doesnt fit the norm.My special needs son has been denied special services saying ADHD is not a classifiable disorder.School notices are often late, and misspelled- an unforgivable thing from an educator in my opinion.This school is in the poorest section of the district and is often last to recive materials, services, and updates.One occasion my child was given pizza for breakfast (not breakfast pizza either)as all cafeteria ordering is done through the HS and is distributed from there.Cliffwood is last on the list. Children are expected to walk across a major highway to get to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students61%
Female67%
Male55%
Black43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special educationn/a
General education73%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant61%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students81%
Female88%
Male73%
Black57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant81%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 51%
Hispanic 20% 22%
Black 18% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 9%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Valerie Ulrich

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

422 Cliffwood Avenue
Cliffwood, NJ 07721
Phone: (732) 705-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Memorial Elementary School
Laurence Harbor, NJ



Central School
Keyport, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT