Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Philip The Apostle School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Clifton

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $310,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2014

The best catholic school in NJ . My son is going to 2 nd grade 9/14 he is been there since Kindergarten . I am very happy with the school. Kids education and safety are #1 priority to them .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

St. Philip the Apostle School is now St. Philip the Apostle Preparatory School, because we are that good. Saint Philip is a grade -K -8 grammar school. We use the latest teaching techniques and tools to better prepare our students for high school. Many of our students go on to Catholic High Schools and Preparatory High Schools. We are also a National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence. Come check out our school, it is one of the best in our area. My son is very happy at SPS and his test scores are and have been in the 99th percentile. His teachers are great and he has learned so much, it's amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

I was faced with so much discrimination from a just from having a tour of this school. I called the school and the receptionist even refused to give her name or give the information who to contact for a complaint. I was directed to call information. Honestly, there are too many great schools around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2013

This school has great academic leadership and great teachers, who are loyal to the school, its mission and its students. One of the best perks about the school is the pre- and after-school care which allows for working parents to have more flexibility when picking up and dropping off kids. Highly recommend this school and note that this school was also awarded the National Blue Ribbon due to its excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2013

This place is the best investment we've made for our children!! This school is all worth it!!! Is truly # 1 school. There is really no words to describe how excellent this school is. Not only your child will be learning a lot but also your child will be happy. It is just an excellent school!!!I The quality of teachers, the amount of effort they put for your child, the education they get, the security, the principal's leadership, the friendly warm environment, the intense academics...many more I can name that makes this school # 1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

As a student who went to this school for 9 years, I have to say that this school is only getting better as the years go by. Just like any other school, it has its faults, but there is also many positive things to say about the school.SPORTS: unfortunately this school does have a limited about of sports but it does have the popular ones such as basketball(boys & girls)vollyball, as well as cheer. PRINCIPLE: The current principle is amazing and she only cares for the best of the students.EXTRACURRICULAR/CLUBS:unfortunatly this school lacks clubs but there is common groups such as boys scouts etc. TEACHERS/EDUCATION;i have never been disappointed with a teacher at this school. they are true to you, will always offer help, and challenge you in education. there are advanced programs for those at a higher level, which unlike other schools is everyday. ACTIVITIES;they have many in-school activities throughout the year to involve everyone together as a school and have many fun fundraisers (to raise $ for the middle school) which everyone can participate in. In conclusion, without a doubt i must say that i am very happy to have graduated for here. Defiantly a 10 out of 10


Posted October 17, 2007

We started out at the local public school and found that it didn't meet our children's needs academically. We made the rounds of several Catholic and other private schools in the area. After a tour of the school and a sample day we knew we had found the perfect fit. It was everything we wanted in a safe learning environment for our children. The Kaleidoscope accelerated learning program is unmatched. Unlike other 'Gifted and Talented' programs that take children away from their regular classes once or twice a week, this program integrates with the daily curriculum so the children miss nothing. Instead they are challenged to learn by thinking outside the box. Add to that Latin in grades 7 & 8 and you have one outstanding school! As for parent involvement, its one more thing I love about this school. Parents are not just involved, they are invested in all aspects. A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

A currently good string of Principals, each bringing their own contributions to the school and altogether creating a well-rounded school. From my personal experience, there was a lack of extracurricular activities (i.e. some, but not something for everyone), but what was in effect was well advised, moderated, and challenged the students to express themselves in other ways than filling in dots on a paper. The teachers are very accomodating but some are shifted too quickly (up and down grades) to be able to obtain the 'settling' feeling into the grade he or she is educating. The school is at work all around the year, from school for nine months to the Confirmation and Communion classes for those preparing to receive their respective sacrament. Having spent nine years in the school myself, I feel I can comfortably consider the school as one of the best Catholic Schools in the New Jersey area.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 20, 2004

This is truly a phenomenal school. It should be a model for all other schools in the area, private, Catholic or Public. Wonderful facility, caring teachers, excellent gifted & talented program, good security and, most importantly, well behaved, well adjusted, happy children. A gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 51%
Hispanic 39% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 9%
Black 3% 16%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Paterson
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

797 Valley Road
Clifton, NJ 07013
Phone: (973) 779-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT