Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Christopher Columbus Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 1 student

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2014

This school is not only overcrowded but the administration is horrible. The administration is more focused on disciplining the children by either detentions or suspension rather than actually educating the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

My daughter went to this school since the beginning till graduating with honors, so don t be fooled my the grade 2 given, but yet then it was 10 years ago. Things have changed I guess. She never had a problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2010

I graduated from CCMS last year, and it's really not that bad. I got really close to alot of my teachers, and they were all really caring and nice. If people are having problems with overcrowding in CCMS, I don't reccomend they go to CHS because it's like, a 1,000 times worse. It's a good school, the academics aren't amazing, I did absolutely nothing and still passed with decent grades, but it's a good school with alot of diversity. I liked it, I've had some great memories there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2009

i love this school so much because i think everyone in this school is extremely smart and cool .
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2009

I am a student attending CCMS. I am a high honors student and work exttremely hard to attain my grades. However, no matter how many people insult the school, it wont matter. the only thing that matters is the student. It all depends on the student whether or not they will become succesfull attending CCMS. If your student strives for high grades, then you could send them anywhere and they will adjust. although if your child easily gives in to peer pressure, than you are better off sending them to a private school or another school. the reson i say this is because some pupils who attend CCMS can be a horrible influence on you child. So, i recomend you, a parent, to think through whether or not you child can deal with some of the wrong-doing students. i say 'some' because of course not all teenagers are angels. (5/10/09)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2009

I absolutely love the school. They are very, very friendly. The only thing that might be a negative, or positive, is that the parents can be involved but it is not necessary because the children basically are very independent in the school. Everything there is very nice. They seem very enthusiastic, and they are very together. I love Christopher Columbus Middle School. I would recommend you send your child to this school if you are in the Clifton District Area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

This school is very good and i like mrs.Mustaffa mr.White,andmr,laberiola from that school by:kesha patel 8th grade from : christorher columbus middle school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2008

this school teachers u allot but is very crowded. the teachers r nice but it is just way too crowded when i try to go to my locker i get lost by all these people
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2008

i actually go to C.C.M.S. yes it is not the best school compared to wildrow wilson but this school is nice. most teachers are nice and the after school programs are very fun.'Students are treated very harshlyby teacher and admnistration' Teahcers are nice,most of them, and administration are very nice if students behave properly
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2008

This school was not prepared to handle kids coming from the elementary schools with leraning disabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

CCMS is very militaristic. There is no individuality among students. Students are treated very harshly by teachers and administration. What happened to teachers being helpful and caring? These teachers have become hardened and take it out on the kids. - Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

Christopher Columbus Middle School is a very nice school. The teachers are alright, and sometimes understand but not always. Other than 'SOME' of the teachers it is very nice. This school has many after school programs so that students do not come home to go on the computer or play video games. Instead, they get to learn something out of the after-school programs. - A Mother of a Student from C.C.M.S
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2005

Our kids get from education what we put in. Parent involvement makes the world of difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2005

I think this school is great. It is filled with very friendly and willing teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 5, 2005

This was a very good school with many friendly teachers. Although this school has gotten more strict than when I attended it, I know the principal and staff do it for the success of the students.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

390 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

390 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

428 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

428 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

419 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

419 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

419 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students44%
Female50%
Male38%
Black40%
Asian63%
Hispanic42%
Pacific Islandern/a
White43%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Special educationn/a
General education51%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant44%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students64%
Female68%
Male62%
Black65%
Asian74%
Hispanic65%
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education20%
General education74%
English language learners40%
Not migrant64%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former39%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students42%
Female47%
Male37%
Black44%
Asian52%
Hispanic41%
White42%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Special educationn/a
General education51%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant42%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students42%
Female42%
Male42%
Black37%
Asian57%
Hispanic41%
White43%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Special educationn/a
General education50%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant42%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students71%
Female78%
Male66%
Black59%
Asian87%
Hispanic69%
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special education18%
General education83%
English language learners33%
Not migrant71%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former33%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students46%
Female50%
Male42%
Black18%
Asian78%
Hispanic38%
Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Special educationn/a
General education55%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant46%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students72%
Female73%
Male72%
Black73%
Asian91%
Hispanic67%
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education27%
General education84%
English language learners28%
Not migrant72%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former30%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Not migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 63% 22%
White 26% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 9%
Black 5% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Patricia Delotto

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

350 Piaget Avenue
Clifton, NJ 07011
Phone: (973) 470-2360

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



New Hope School
Clifton, NJ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT