Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodrow Wilson Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 1360 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2014

WWMS has in proved for the year 2014 because now they are letting 6th grade join more clubs like basketball and now the 6th graders have a dance. The 6th graders went to radio city music hall in NYC and they went to Dorney Park.


Posted June 30, 2014

I love this school. My experience has been totally opposite of the last reviewer. I always get a secretary when I call and Ms. Romeo and Mr. Healy are always very helpful. I have had a few issues with my son and the administration is always very understanding. The teachers are good and there are a lot of activities and clubs for the students. I hear it's not the same as it was ten years ago but the kids coming to Woodrow are also much more diverse now. It's a great place to send your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2014

Administration is bad. lack of information never answer the phone always you have to leave a message. bad attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2014

The school provides excellent programs to their students. They have a lot of rewarding clubs and activities that kids can sign up. Overall, this is a good school especially if your kids are active and willing to try different things...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

My son went to this school since the beginning till graduating with honors, so don t be fooled my the grade 3 given, but yet then it was 10 years ago. Things have changed I guess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

This is honestly the worst school in New Jersey. The teachers do not know how to teach and they are very disrespectful to the students. They expect respect 100 percent of the time but never give any to the kids. The guidance counselor is extremely disrespectful. I called the school one time and talked to her about the 504 plan my child is on and she had such a horrible attitude on the phone. They now have a new policy where the teachers lock their doors right when the bell rings, and if any child is caught in the hall during this time, they give the child a one hour detention after school no matter how close they are to their classroom. This happened to my son and when I was called about the incident, I asked the vice principle why he was late for class he said that my son was talking to his friend in the hallway so I asked him if he saw him doing that. He said, well, no, but that could've been what happened. He lied to me. He doesn't even know my son it is the beginning of the school year and he is new.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

I was a teacher at Woodrow Wilson Middle School in 2007. It was my first teaching job out of college. It was the worst experience I ever had at the school. The principal, Mr. Hahn was on a serious ego-power trip, disrespectful, and not supportive. The faculty were mostly primma-donnas more concerned with gossiping in there cliques and worrying about how they look. One fat, old tenured Math teacher verbally attacked me in front of my colleagues and the principal did nothing about it. The schools team work philosophy is a waste of time. Despite my most sincere efforts to be professional and kind to staff, most of them were judgmental and stuck with their cliques. This is a terrible school to work in, and everything I wrote here I also heard first hand from the mouths of tenured teachers who worked there. Some kids might like the school, but they have know idea what goes on between the teachers and administration. Also, there beloved Mr. Hahn used to joke around with teachers livelihoods, and I witnessed two teachers crying for fear of losing their jobs due to cut backs. All in all, a terrible place to work if you are not a pretty female with an attitude. Disgusting place.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 1, 2012

I recently graduated from this school and I had a lot of fun. Despite the small budget, they have a lot of entertaining programs. Many programs are not open to the 6th grader and some activities that are exclusively for the 8th graders mainly woodshop and the veterans assembly. The teachers come up with a lot of interesting ways to demonstrate their points. For example, when we learned about alternative energy sources, our class made s'mores in a solar cooker to demonstrate solar power. Also, the system of teaching in the school is effective. There are 4 teams in a grade and 4 classes in each team. I was in the red class on the Lattavo team, while my friend was in the green class in the same team. We all love Mr. Hahn, the former principle , I'm disappointed he retired. However, he does come to some school events like the National Junior Honor Society (I was in it. This year we had 137/400 kids in there. YEAH! *fist pump*). Up until two years ago, we had a police officer paroling the building so I'm somewhat disappointed at the Board of Ed. Overall, everyone is friendly although there are a few kids who are just plain obnoxious.


Posted April 26, 2012

IM A STUDENT THIS SCHOOL IS VERY FRIENDLY THERE ARE SOME BAD KIDS BUT THEY DO THERE OWN THING AND WONT BOTHER YOU IF UR COOL PLEASE DISREGARD THE FOLLOWIN G I NEED TO TYPE A CERTAIN AMOUNT OF WORDS JDUJF JNUJDNFIU FDUIFJ DUFDUI UDJUIGF IDSFJFJD JFUGJF9JGFDJG9FJG9FDJGIIFJODDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDJGUFJG9DJUGJFUHJFDIGJTRHGREGFH8475RJ849RJEURTREWU9FIWEY JDSK HJ H HUJBJ8 J89UGJK9V8UJ8GIFK9RUT5J89E3 8HH JRE9UJT89JG8REJG8REJG89-WHG0KI9UNR0HBUNBIGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUQWERTYUIOPASDFGHJKLZXCVBNM QWERTYUIOPASDFGHJKLZZXCVBNM, QWERTYUIOPASDFGHJKLZXCVBNM QWERTYUIOPASDFGHJKLZXCVBNM QWERTYUIOPASDFGHJKLZXCVBNM QWERTYUIOPASDFGHJKLZXCVBNM, QWERTYUIOPASDFGHJKLZXCVBNM, QWERTYUIOPSDFGHJKLZXCVBNM, QWERTYUIOPASDFGHJKLZXCVBNM, QWERTYUIOPSDFGHJKL;ZXCVBNM, QWERTYUIOSDFGHJKL;ZXCVBNM, QWERTYUIOPASDFGHJKLZXCVBNM,'UR87EJHTGF8RUJD9UVKIYUHBKIMUJHJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJ123


Posted October 31, 2010

I don't like that so many extracurricular activities exclude grade 6, but that's mostly the fault of Clifton's stingy Bd. of Ed. and ignorant voters who don't support the budget. I HATE that the school has a 0 tolerance for missing any single assignment, even if it is brought in the next day. It's a shabby policy. But the teaching teams work great, the assignments are engaging, the teachers try very hard (with little recognition from the aforesaid board and voters), and my child is getting a great education for the 1st 2 months there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2010

I love this school! Both of my children have attended WWMS and have both scored advance proficient. Mr.Hahn is always welcoming and is always available to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

I was a little nervous about public school for my child. I have found Woodrow to have a positive atmosphere pushing my child to do her best. I also find the teachers willing to work with the students when necessary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2009

WWMS is one of the best schools I have been too. there are so many nice teachers. I love it
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2008

This is the best school I have ever had one of my children to attend. The teachers have accevied many accedemic goals of their own, which motavates the students more. I love this school so much!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2006

This was the best school I think I could have ever attended. The teachers were very helpful and were always there to help. The administration was great. I think that everything was well organized. The only thing I did not like was their sports because they did not offer many sports. Over all this was a great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 20, 2005

This school is overall okay. My child has 22 kids in his class and complains about hall traffic. The academics are fine, the extracurricular activities are okay, but the lack of art and music is great. There are better schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

400 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

400 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students55%
Female62%
Male48%
Black63%
Asian70%
Hispanic41%
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special educationn/a
General education62%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant55%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students72%
Female74%
Male71%
Black63%
Asian90%
Hispanic63%
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education20%
General education81%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant72%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students53%
Female55%
Male50%
Black45%
Asian71%
Hispanic49%
White55%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Special educationn/a
General education61%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant53%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students42%
Female39%
Male45%
Black25%
Asian68%
Hispanic34%
White47%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Special educationn/a
General education47%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant42%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students79%
Female83%
Male75%
Black61%
Asian85%
Hispanic77%
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education35%
General education88%
English language learners25%
Not migrant79%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former38%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students52%
Female48%
Male56%
Black35%
Asian77%
Hispanic47%
Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Special educationn/a
General education62%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant52%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students81%
Female80%
Male82%
Black65%
Asian91%
Hispanic76%
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education44%
General education90%
English language learners17%
Not migrant81%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former38%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Not migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 44% 22%
White 42% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 9%
Black 6% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 Van Houten Avenue
Clifton, NJ 07013
Phone: (973) 470-2350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



New Hope School
Clifton, NJ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT