Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Number 11 Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 505 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 4, 2014

My kids are in the 3rd and 2nd grades in school 11. I am not an involved parent with school, like many of you I just do not have time. But I do see my kids learning and growing. It is all about healthy competition for my kids and it took a sharp turn towards reading since Theresa Evans became principal. Teachers keep motivating kids to learn and to grow academically. They do emphasize to work with kids at home. It is not solely school's responsibility to teach and help children gain knowledge. But with all the work teachers do in school kids just need a little push at home and they just do so well. Although I do wish they would get more homework... Thank you teachers, principle and the rest of the staff for all you do for our kids!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2014

My son attended first grade and will be going into second this fall. I have to say that we came from the Rutherford school district, where my son did just fine, or so I was under the impression. He started 1st grade in Clifton at School 11, and within the first 2 weeks of school, the teachers pointed out areas of weakness. The ability and openness to meet with the teachers and special education teachers, my son was able to accelerate his learning. I am beyond thrilled at the attention the teachers pay to the students. I have to say, this school, it's leadership and the staff are great. I am looking forward to my son's second year at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2014

School 11 has been an instrumental part of my children's academic growth and achievement. I have two sons who attend the school, a kindergartener and a fourth grader, and both love going to school. They have talented and committed teachers who go above and beyond their call of duty to ensure that their students receive a solid foundation for success in their future years. The principal, teachers, and staff are very approachable and all share a common goal: excellence for the students. With the new principal on board this school year, the positive energy flowing throughout the school is reflected in my children's outlook and behavior. I am very pleased with the School 11.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

School 11 is great! Love sending my daughter to school! She loves her teacher and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

I love sending our 2 kids to School #11 because of their dedication to provide professional and caring education. I admire the new principal's commitment to improve all levels of academics at the schoool, especailly by introducing and having kids strive and maintain status in the Galaxy Club which is strictly focused on reading literacy. Our 2nd-grade daughter is even reading 4th-grade level books. I've seen it, heard her, and love it. This is a reflection of her teacher's encouraging drive to challenge her students and surpass their goals. I can't seem to buy books fast enough or go to the library as often enough to catch up to her reading speed. Same goes for our kindergarten son's teacher who makes education fun as well as maintaining advance cirriculum studies. He absolutely loves going to school and as he states often: "If I could sleep over at school, I would." Overall, their progress in school is satisfying and enlightening. I personally love being a part of School 11 because I take pride in my kid's education whether volunteering at school activities in which many opportunities arise or even re-asserting homework studies at home. Thank you for being our GREAT SCHOOL...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

The teachers really care about each of their students and they make it fun for the kids to learn.


Posted April 30, 2014

School 11 is great. The principal and staff are extremely dedicated and truly care about the children. For the first time in our children's lives, they are finally in a school that they enjoy attending, as everyone there makes learning interesting and fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

Wow, what a difference a year makes. The new principal and staff at School 11 have really turned this school around and are truly dedicated to the students. They have conducted many activities to encourage parental involvement and have introduced ideas like The Galaxy Club to encourage the children to read. You can see their dedication in the way they are there for the students after school if they need extra help. We only wish the school was this good when our children started several years ago as now they will be sorry to leave when they graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

Under a new principal, school eleven has changed for the better! There have been many events to involve the parents. The teachers continue to make learnin fun for my son. He has grown to love reading because of the galaxy club. I am so happy to be part of the school eleven families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

My son attended this school, the only bad part was the Principal which was a bit lacking of taking sides of teachers vs students. Had a problem with 1 teacher she was a bit old and had no patients dealing with younger kids. she did stuff that would shock u as telling kids that they stole from her and slammed books on kids desk very often. Hope that teacher has retired for the sake of the new kids coming in and the principal as well, needs more guidance,stucture and discipline for both students and some teachers.Let me make this clear only 2 teachers of the entire school need to go and the principal. I had to go to the Board of Education because she did not deal with the situation the right way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2012

Certain teachers are very caring and try to do their best but the leadership in the school is quite lacking. The principal is very condescending with parents and obviously is not happy in his position. It's a shame because the school has potential, but is in dire need of structure and discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2010

My daughter attended this school and the teachers were wonderful, very professional!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students58%
Female67%
Male51%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Special educationn/a
General education66%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant58%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former37%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students81%
Female88%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education55%
General education86%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant81%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former84%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students45%
Female67%
Male29%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
White46%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Special educationn/a
General education54%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant45%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students75%
Female75%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
White79%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special education42%
General education83%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant75%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students86%
Female89%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
White92%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education42%
General education96%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students44%
Female41%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
White46%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Special educationn/a
General education53%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant44%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students66%
Female66%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
White77%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special educationn/a
General education78%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant66%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 57% 22%
White 35% 51%
Black 5% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Theresa Evans

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

147 Merselis Avenue
Clifton, NJ 07011
Website: Click here
Phone: (973) 470-2401

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT