Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mark Newbie Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Both of my children received a strong foundation of knowledge to ensure their educational success. Mrs. Marie Mayer is a caring educator that goes above and beyond for all of the students at Newbie.

Mark Newbie Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
When my daughter transfered into second grade at Mark Newbie Mrs. Marie Mayer went above and beyond to make her feel welcome. She continues to volunteer and be there for all of the students volunteering after school with the "Green Team" and having the students sew pillow cases for children with cancer.I feel very lucky that both of my children had her as their second grade teacher. Newbie gave both of my children a strong foundation of knowledge. The staff is dedicated and caring.


Mark Newbie Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Students are grouped at their skill level so that students do not feel discouraged or overly confident working with classmates in the classroom. With constant reassessment students have the flexibility to move around to different learning levels so that they always feel comfortable with learning and are constantly working on improving their skill sets.

Mark Newbie Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
The students are taught early lessons through reading and class activities about individual differences, and older grades are taught to look out for their younger classmates.

Mark Newbie Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
The school develops honesty, integrity and fairness in its students by encouraging each student to succeed with Newbie FIRE; "Friendship, Integrity, Responsibility and Excellence."


Mark Newbie Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to Mrs. Mayer for seizing teachable moments with her students. Also for being involved in and having our children engage in extra projects at school such as the Green Team, Cases for Smiles (where student makes a pillow case for a child with cancer), and teaching about environmental conservation through the Young Voices Horseshoe Crab & the Arts Competition.

Mark Newbie Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
I feel that it is a very caring school and that they want the students to learn and also grow as citizens in this community. They always are extremely supportive to the Newbie families.

Mark Newbie Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
My daughter has had Mrs. DeAmicis for 4th grade this year and has learned so much from her. Mrs. DeAmicis treats all of the students with respect, gives them responsibilities, and keeps learning fun. I feel that she is a tremendous teacher, and I am grateful for her. All of the teachers and staff are very special at Newbie, and I think the students benefits from their teaching.


Mark Newbie Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2015
- a parent
We can not say enough good things about Mark Newbie. We have two children that attend the school, our oldest has been there for three years. The classes are a great size and they don't seem to have too many children for the teachers to handle. Plus, the teachers seem to have quite a bit of extra support staff so that the kids can be broken up into smaller groups for individual and small group learning through out the day. There is one class for each grade, from K-5, so the school is intimate. The children all know each other, and are very supportive and encouraging of one another across all grade levels. There are so many opportunities for the families to participate in after school activities. We love that the principal and PTA are so open to having these events so that everyone can be involved in the school. Throughout the year we have attended the ice cream social, the holiday party, the talent show, the basket raffle (for parents), muffins with Mom (for Mother's Day), Movie night, and Donuts with Dad (for Father's Day). I'm sure there are others that I am completely forgetting.

Mark Newbie Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2015
- a parent
I see so many exciting things that I never had in my own education at one of the top rated schools in NJ. My oldest is involved in a homework club where the kids get together and help one another with work. This opportunity has reinforced her learning as she has worked directly with her teacher, but also has the opportunity to help other students. She has been involved in a book club where the children have been reading and taking notes about their books and then developing character analogies together as a group. I love to see this type of critical thinking. The teachers never miss the opportunity to seize a teachable moment. There is an after school program called The Green Team that is parent run and teacher supported. They have a garden in the playground where the kids plant and grow food that can be used by the school families. They have done community work such as cleaning up Cooper River, and selling soaps and cleaners they made for Green Festival in town. The teachers at the school have taken their own time to come and do presentations as well. Can't wait to see what happens in the next few years!

Nearby schools

Mark Newbie Elementary School
2 East Browning Rd, Collingswood, NJ  08108
(856) 962-5706
Last modified Mark Newbie Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top