Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dumont High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 14 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2008

I was a student among class of 2006. DHS is great for students whom dont speak english, they worked wonders in that department and for social enhancment they place them along with normal regular classes and students which is great. DHS is also well known for their marching band, which i was apart of, and that parents and booster volunteers every year are so supportive and amazing and familiar faces from threw out the years, even after their child graduates they stay involved. Also, they are very good with productions in theatre which ive participated in. Dumont might not be best well grounded and best eduacation as some may say but teachers are friendly and are good one on one with students. I went back to recently visit an old teacher ive had and their security was great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2008

I have a child in DHS and she is doing very well. I really have no complaints. You get out of school what you put into it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

My oldest is a senior and I am extremely dissatisfied with the quality of his education at DHS. While he has made many friends there, it seems to me that he will be poorly prepared for a vocational career not to mention post high school education. A also agree that communication between the staff leaves much to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

While DHS appears to be well funded and has all of the resources available to the best schools, it's increasingly apparent that the graduates churned out here are in for some real world surprises. I can see that my kid is totally unprepared for what awaits him. Part of the problem is the huge disconnect between the staff and parents. There are no updates between marking periods except for progress reports. Not a single educator at this school has made an effort to contact either parent with regard to our child's abyssmal progress. Having grown up in the outer boroughs of NYC myself, it's evident that diminished expectations and rubber stamped promotions appear to be the norm here. I feel so strongly about the poor standards at DHS that I've enrolled my youngest in a private school in the hope that the results will be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

As a parent who has a child at dumont high school. I must express total disappointment in dumont high school. Principal & vice principals leadership is non-existed. Teacher quality and communication is poor. Extra curricular activities lack proper coaches and in closing discipline is handled poorly and is usually one sided. Safety is the only strong point of this school....Go private parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2006

The school is currently under construction to add a new media division. At the moment, there are additonal new science labs and computer classes. The guidance counselors are approachable and supporting. The students seem to be well behaved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2005

As a recent graduate (class of '04) I must say that I am dissapointed with the education I received from Dumont High School. The english dept. is superb (honors), but the science department (especially chemistry honors) is greatly lacking, as are parts of the math department. The precalculus and calculus are excellent programs but the lower-level courses are lacking. After a year of college I felt very unprepared, as if high school did not prepare me. In high school I was an A student. I graduated thinking that Dumont High School was excellent but after a year of college wish I had attended a private school so that I would be better prepared for classes on the college level.The extracurricular activites are mostly good progams, though some girls programs are lacking proper leadership & management. The overall atmosphere at the school is very positive.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 30, 2005

I don't believe this High Scholl principal has any ability to lead because of his admitted low expectations for the upcoming Freshmen class. It also appears that the spokesman for the guidance department shares the same view.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2004

This school is misleading. The grades are inflated. The 10-15 all A students are the ones you expect to go to Ivy league schools but instead only 4 or 5 of them get into any Ivies. Many of these kids come back complaining that college is too hard. If you go to this school you may think your 4.0 is amazing but when you go to college you'll be in for a bumpy ride.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2003

My son enjoys Dumont High School so much. It's a great place for learning and having fun (or so he says).
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asian95%
Hispanic98%
Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Non-economically disadvantaged99%
Special education90%
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant98%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former82%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students87%
Female86%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian83%
Hispanic83%
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Special education40%
General education94%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant87%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former46%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students66%
Female65%
Male67%
Black55%
Asian80%
Hispanic60%
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Special education13%
General education73%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant66%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former55%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

90%

SAT college ready

54%

Graduation rate

97%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 51%
Hispanic 19% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 0%
Black 2% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 New Milford Ave
Dumont, NJ 07628
Phone: (201) 387-3060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Newbury Academy
Dumont, NJ


Bergenfield High School
Bergenfield, NJ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT